We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit Finds Its Now an Hyatt Summerfield Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Large suite rooms, well maintained.
My choice for the East Bay. Comfortable rooms. Central to East Bay, Marin County via Richmond Bridge, and San Francisco via Bay Bridge.
Complete breakfast included.
Looking forward to Hyatt improving the bathroom fixtures and the towel quality
Can open windows
Room hifi

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here for a week-long training class. I arrived early, and was able to get a high-floor suite, away from the elevator. The suite did face the Amtrak Station, so there were minor disruptions from the trains at interesting hours of the day and night. I sleep with ear-plugs, so it was a non-issue. Suites on the 12th floor do not have a patio, and the window's do not open, so it is probably the quietest floor if you are facing the tracks. I was pleased with the cleanliness of the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The furniture was a bit dinged up, but a nice letter on the desk stated that the Woodfin Suites will soon become the Hyatt Summerfield Suites and get a full makeover. The hotel should look quite a bit nicer after all that is done.
Downstairs is the Emery Grille, which offers some good happy-hour drink and half price appetizer specials. The other offerings are also reasonably priced and worth a trip. The hotel also serves buffet style breakfast in the restaurant starting at 6:30 a.m. with the usual hot and cold breakfast options.
Beyond the restaurant to the left of the entrance is the outdoor pool, which looks nice, but the weather was too chilly to enjoy. In a small area off the pool is the indoor gym facility. the gym is adequate and in good condition.
Parking is free, but watch-out for the area, I had a few new dings on my car after the week was done and do not leave valuables in the car overnight, or they may not be there when you return. The spots are very narrow, which seems to be the case all over Emeryville.
With-in walking distance is the Bay St. entertainment complex, with an AMC Theater, PF Changs, Elephant Bar, California Pizza Kitchen and Pasta Pomodoro. There are also several chain clothing retailers along the outdoor street. Parking is not free in the garage there, so it is better to walk. They are stingy on validating at the stores, and I was told only the Barnes and Noble Cafe will do so, which they happily did after a coffee purchase.

Room Tip: Check-in early, just before 3 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sj134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My boyfriend had to be in the Bay Area for 2 months for business and stayed in the Woodfin Suites. I joined him for a month and really loved the hotel,
They really made us feel at home and the rooms were nice and spacious. There is also free WifI in the rooms and there is a nice hottub outside

The hotel is also convenitently located when you want to go to SF with BART
West Oakland BART is just a short 10 minutes drive, or you could go to Ashby or McArthur. There is also a free shuttle in Emeryville that takes you around and also to the BART

Trains were nice but we could not get used to the honking they did at night. We never understood why they had to make so much noise! When you have a room on the bay side however, the trains don't bother as much

All in all I would certainly come back here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme5800, General Manager at HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear "americagirl22"
Thank you so very much, all the way from Rotterdam, for sending us your wonderful compliments about your stay. It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us. As of May 17th Woodfin Suites no longer exists. We converted to Hyatt Summerfield Suites and we would love to have you back (perhaps on a future ...honeymoon...) to celebrate the many changes that this hotel will be undergoing during the remainder of 2011.
Again thank you very much for your kind words.
Tot siens
Peter E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay the night that was close to the Emeryville Amtrak Station, as we had to catch a 9AM train. The Woodfin Hotel turned out to be the perfect choice, as it was only a short walk up and over the tracks via a pedestrian bridge. Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and quiet. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yankeewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme5800, General Manager at HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you “Yankeewi”
What a wonderful review. Indeed, we’re a short walk from the Amtrak station. Some people like our Hotel because they can jump on a train, while many others enjoy the ambiance that the trains provide as they pass their rooms. Either way, you wrote a great review for us and we are very appreciative.
Thanks you very much
Peter E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Just returned home today from a week's stay at the Woodfin Suites Hotel in Emeryville, CA. We travel there a couple of times a year to visit family and have previously stayed at the Sheraton Four Points and the Hilton Garden Inn, both nearby. But now we've found our new home away from home. The Woodfin is clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is ideal and the staff is helpful and friendly. Our two-room suite was nicely appointed and spacious, with a full kitchen that included a full-size refrigerator, microwave, two burner cooktop and even a dishwasher. The bedding was clean, cozy and comfortable. Our room overlooked the railroad tracks ( a view of the hills), which proved to be no annoyance at all. (If fact, we found it intriguing!) We will return- with a smile! This place rocks!

Room Tip: You can't lose- bay view or hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkl2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme5800, General Manager at HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear “mkl2209”
It is guest like you that “rock”!! Thank you so very much for your awesome review and the kind words that you so liberally sprinkled in your report.
We couldn’t be more delighted especially because it appears that you have personal experience with our friendly neighbors the Hilton Garden Inn and the Four Point Sheraton and still compare us very favorably. Now that is an achievement! Again thank you very much. We look forward to your frequent returns.
Cordially
Peter E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Staff was super friendly and helpful. Suite was really pretty and very comfy bed! We were there to watch a concert! We will definitely be back there to stay next time we are going to a concert in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyHiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme5800, General Manager at HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear “Shirley H..”
Thank you very much as well for a fantastic review. We truly appreciate your taking the time and we look forward to your next concert and your next stay with us!
Cordially
Peter E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This joint is the "Best Of The Best" and the "Price Is Right"


Scoeman...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme5800, General Manager at HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Dear "Scoeman"
Short, to the point, wonderful, all telling.
Thank you from all of us
Cordially
Peter E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $187 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing