We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value option for visiting San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

First of all location is excellent. Easy to find just off the freeway overlooking the Bay Bridge. We were visiting San Fran and to be honest we could not warrant spending out over $220 per night to stay in an old dirty motel in San Fran central so choose here as a next best alternative for under $145 per night. We were initially a little worried about transport into San Fran but we needn't had worried. We took the F bus every day for $4.20(per person each way) from directly outside the hotel to the trans bay bus station in the city. The buses run every 30mins and the journey took a max of 20 mins in peak rush hour traffic. It was perfect!! Opposite the hotel is a new shopping mall with many eateries and shops including Californian pizza kitchen, PF Changs etc.. There is also a bk, Starbucks, marshals only a 5 min stroll away. In essence there are plenty of dining options if you return from the city looking for food etc, although they don't stay open late.

The hotel itself was great. Decor modern and clean throughout from the reception, restaurant and room. We had a room on the 3rd floor looking out over the bay (and freeway). The room was a good size and more than adequate for our stay. King bed was very comfy. Wouldn't even know there was a freeway outside. We eat breakfast in the on site restaurant on our last day which was excellent price and quality.

Parking is $9 per day, not bad compared to the hotels in San Fran it's charging $45 a day....outrageous!!!! Hotel also has a decent gym and swimming pool which we never got to use.

The only reason that I'm not scoring this hotel full marks is because poor staff knowledge let it down. On check in we asked 2 members of staff about transport into San Fran (which you would presume would be a frequent conversation) but no one seemed to have any knowledge. We were a little confused about how insular their knowledge was which is a shame. Otherwise they were more than helpful on other occasions.

Overall a great stay in another decent Marriott branded hotel. Yes, you are not in central San Fran but to honest this made no difference to us as travel commuting time was so little that it wouldn't have been any longer than staying in a San Fran suburb. We just saved the money staying here which we spent on other aspects of our trip. We would definitely return here again if visiting San Fran.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights after a road trip from LA and to visit my son, DIL and twins who were staying in a timeshare in SF.

The room size is big and very clean. The beds are the most comfortable we've been on except for our Tempur Pedic at home. Got a room with a view of the Bay which was a bonus and it was very quiet despite having a freeway outside.

It is convenient to shopping and virtually walkable.

The trip by car into SF by car was only 20 minutes door to door on the weekend.

Parking in the surface, uncovered lot is $9 a day and I feel a little nickled and dimed by the charge.

Room Tip: Get a room of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for concerts at the Greek. F line bus runs direct, good options for supplies nearby. Rooms are very comfortable, bed was super comfortable. They let me check in 3 hours early. A free shuttle bus runs the shopping circuit all the way up to the BART station.

Room Tip: There is no door to the ice machine room so stay away from it, earplugs were mandatory with the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsgotimepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location and a good view from high floors is what is good going for this property. Room was clean but spartan. I wonder why they charge a parking fee when the garage is neither covered nor manned. Staff is friendly. I hope Courtyard some day will join other hotel chains (such as SPG etc.) in giving out at least the first water bottle complimentary, rather than the ridiculous in-room charges. You are better off walking to the kiosk (near front desk) which stocks a lot of items and are reasonably priced. I also didn't find the mattress that comfortable, not sure if it was because it was foam or some other issues.

Room Tip: Make sure to mention you want a room away from highway if you want quiet room, but then you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanD1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott Oakland in Emeryville, CA was a great place to stay. VERY conveniently located to most everything (especially where I was working for business travel). The lobby and employees were very receptive and made the customers feel welcomed and cared for. I was quite surprised to find that PF Changs was directly across the street since I'm vegetarian. If I have to return to the area, it will be easy to identify my first pick for accommodations.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms farthest from public areas like the elevator since I'm a very light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsmedesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the closeness to the freeway and it was centrally located to all of the places we wanted to visit.
There are restaurants and shops just across the street and a Trader Joe’s around the corner. The hotel lobby had a small eatery and a bar for evening cocktails. It was a great place to sit and unwind. The staff was great and was very helpful. Parking was an extra cost but was expected for this area.
Our room looked out onto the Bay. We could see the new expansion Bay Bridge that opened while we were staying. You could see the Golden Gate Bridge as well. Ask for a room on the upper floor. The room was spacious with a sofa and desk. The carpet could use some updating but other than that, I enjoyed this hotel.
The marina was a great place to walk or jog along the water. The hotel also had a nice workout room, an indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 11th floor with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel. Very close to commute into the City of SF. Lots of restaurants to walk to.
Loved this place. The price was right and perfect for any parent visiting their kid at Berkeley.
If you get a room on a higher floor in the hotel, you get a great view of San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSP513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $146 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing