We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useless wifi service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Useless wifi service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It's 2013. Wifi is not that hard. It is completely useless at this property, both in-room (with no ethernet alternative) and all over the lobby. If you need to be online during your travels, do not stay here. And the staff swear that no one else has complained about this. It was just those exact hours while there that my laptop was malfunction and immediately repaired itself whenever I left the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    178
    66
    20
    21
See reviews for
118
66
16
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I must give the front desk staff in particular Veronica 4 stars. She went completely out of her way for me to find a suitable room. She is a shining star at the hotel. The lobby is very nice and looked freshly remodeled but that's where it ended. I had a suite on the top floor. The carpet was dirty with spots all over the place. The sofa was worn out and needed to be replaced. I ended up using the sink in the bar to shave and get ready as the flow limiter the hotel put on the bathroom sink was unbelievable. It took 5 minutes to wash your hands the water flowed so slowly. The freeway noise was very loud too even on the 11th floor. I've been on the road for 10+ years and this hotel's towels won the prize for being the worst EVER towels of any hotel I've ever stayed in. They were so rough and worn out you could see your hand on the other side of the hotel. The sheets weren't much better. Piece of advice hotel management, GET NEW TOWELS and LINENS!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inn around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on business with business colleagues. My room had a light brown spot on one of the towels, kind of off putting to find.. I mean was it just stained or dirty? Either way, housekeeping should not have out it on the towel rack for me to walk into as I checked in. Yuck! My work colleague commented on the products in his room, feeling that they had been opened and were slightly used... One of us asked for a quiet room, staff must have been confused as he was placed next to the ice machine and elevator. The staff were friendly, but maybe just not listening or useless... We didn't eat there so cant comment.. it is in a good location and was very convenient for work.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank racgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
328 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Very close to food, shopping and entertainment. Upon arrival the front desk staff is very welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazing. Across the street there is ample shopping including an outdoor mall, target and Ikea. There is a trader joes and other stores just down the street.

THere is a wonderful international food court in the public market about a 7 or 8 minute walk away, try the amazing different foods from around the world.

My room was overlooking the freeway, howoever I didnt hear a thing!! You will SINK into the bed it is so comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in. Great location close to shopping and dinning options. Great views of the bay. Stylish well appointed rooms and dinner on site. Lobby is great and fitness center has TV's on each piece of equipment

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdfle585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel at the last minute due to a change of travel plans. Mariott is one of the few chains that never seems to have a misstep (at least, in my opinion), and Courtyard by Mariott Oakland Emeryville proved to be no exception. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms clean and quiet (a little smaller than typical for a Mariott, but very functional). The absence of a microwave and refrigerator were minor drawbacks to the overall experience.

People have commented about the freeway noise in rooms facing the bay. I can only speak for myself when I say that I'm looking out the window as I type this, can see cars rushing past on the freeway at a frenetic pace typical of California, and I can't hear a thing--the soundproof windows are most effective. Beyond the freeway is a fairly amazing view of the bay and San Francisco that has to be seen to be believed. If you pass that up due to the chances of hearing traffic noise (which has to be minimal at best), then you forgo a great view for the other side of the hotel, where you will see a classy but uninspiring mall. Trust me on this one: unless you're super sensitive to noise (a valid concern for some), you're going to be happier with the bay and bridge view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chessie_System
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
267 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a good hotel, with a location that was well-suited for my visit to Berkeley. As a Marriott Rewards Gold member, I had a room on the 10th floor (of 11 total), and was not charged for the premium internet access (very fast) nor for the parking. The room was nice, with a comfortable bed, absolutely no sound from the adjacent freeway or adjoining rooms, and a thermostat that worked well in cooling and heating the room as needed. There was a HDTV with many HD channels available. I booked a rate that included breakfast, and this courtyard has the "Bistro" rather than the traditional Courtyard restaurant. The food served was good quality. The entire property was clean and well-maintained. The only gripes I have involve my room - after I moved the microwave to the floor so I could use the desk, there were mystery sticky spots on the desktop, that persisted during my entire stay, despite a message to housekeeping to inform them of the issue. Also, the drain in the shower/tub was very slow, so that during a shower one ends up standing in the water.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#10 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Property: Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Marriott
Emeryville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing