We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useless wifi service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It's 2013. Wifi is not that hard. It is completely useless at this property, both in-room (with no ethernet alternative) and all over the lobby. If you need to be online during your travels, do not stay here. And the staff swear that no one else has complained about this. It was just those exact hours while there that my laptop was malfunction and immediately repaired itself whenever I left the Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 466 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I must give the front desk staff in particular Veronica 4 stars. She went completely out of her way for me to find a suitable room. She is a shining star at the hotel. The lobby is very nice and looked freshly remodeled but that's where it ended. I had a suite on the top floor. The carpet was dirty with spots all over the place. The sofa was worn out and needed to be replaced. I ended up using the sink in the bar to shave and get ready as the flow limiter the hotel put on the bathroom sink was unbelievable. It took 5 minutes to wash your hands the water flowed so slowly. The freeway noise was very loud too even on the 11th floor. I've been on the road for 10+ years and this hotel's towels won the prize for being the worst EVER towels of any hotel I've ever stayed in. They were so rough and worn out you could see your hand on the other side of the hotel. The sheets weren't much better. Piece of advice hotel management, GET NEW TOWELS and LINENS!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inn around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on business with business colleagues. My room had a light brown spot on one of the towels, kind of off putting to find.. I mean was it just stained or dirty? Either way, housekeeping should not have out it on the towel rack for me to walk into as I checked in. Yuck! My work colleague commented on the products in his room, feeling that they had been opened and were slightly used... One of us asked for a quiet room, staff must have been confused as he was placed next to the ice machine and elevator. The staff were friendly, but maybe just not listening or useless... We didn't eat there so cant comment.. it is in a good location and was very convenient for work.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank racgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Very close to food, shopping and entertainment. Upon arrival the front desk staff is very welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazing. Across the street there is ample shopping including an outdoor mall, target and Ikea. There is a trader joes and other stores just down the street.

THere is a wonderful international food court in the public market about a 7 or 8 minute walk away, try the amazing different foods from around the world.

My room was overlooking the freeway, howoever I didnt hear a thing!! You will SINK into the bed it is so comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in. Great location close to shopping and dinning options. Great views of the bay. Stylish well appointed rooms and dinner on site. Lobby is great and fitness center has TV's on each piece of equipment

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdfle585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a good hotel, with a location that was well-suited for my visit to Berkeley. As a Marriott Rewards Gold member, I had a room on the 10th floor (of 11 total), and was not charged for the premium internet access (very fast) nor for the parking. The room was nice, with a comfortable bed, absolutely no sound from the adjacent freeway or adjoining rooms, and a thermostat that worked well in cooling and heating the room as needed. There was a HDTV with many HD channels available. I booked a rate that included breakfast, and this courtyard has the "Bistro" rather than the traditional Courtyard restaurant. The food served was good quality. The entire property was clean and well-maintained. The only gripes I have involve my room - after I moved the microwave to the floor so I could use the desk, there were mystery sticky spots on the desktop, that persisted during my entire stay, despite a message to housekeeping to inform them of the issue. Also, the drain in the shower/tub was very slow, so that during a shower one ends up standing in the water.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights with 11 members of our sales team. Rooms were excellent!! Great location for food and shopping. Staff was excellent!! Rooms were perfect!! Pin at the bar was great and his service was the best!!! Stephanie at the front desk was excellent and also with smile everytime!!!We will stay here again and again!!!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend this Courtyard!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $171 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing