We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Marriott is and always has been. Best East Bay location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Huge rooms directly across from new shopping center and 2 mins from the Bay Bridge! Great place. Great great. Suggestion park at hotel and walk to the nearby shopping center. The center charges for parking and the hotel does as well. Nice short walk. Felt very safe.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princes4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 467 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

i stayed there for 2 nights, the location is prime and next to a lot of shopping area and food outlets.
the SPA and food are also very nice in there.
parking for $9 every night considered good price i believe as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiadNabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was nice, people were friendly and the service was solid. The area is nothing to be excited about though as a business traveler. The advertisement of tons of restaurants and shops nearby is technically true (there's an outdoor mall area within walking distance), but the only real restaurants to eat at are PF Changs and Elephant Bar. Outside of that, it's mall type fast food. Again, the hotel was fine, but I would not come back based on the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrencemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were staying as part of an extended family occasion, with other relatives also in the hotel. We made a number of special requests to accommodate the needs of older and also younger relatives. We also needed advice on a number of local amenities by car and by foot.

In every case, we got absolutely charming, careful service, exemplary attention, and prompt adapting to our needs. Staff helped us keep track of the elaborate distribution of friends and relatives, and kept things simple.

The physical facility is fine - "just a business hotel" - but clean and suitable. The excellent demeanor and courtesy of the *people* set it on another level. Would happily go there again if there were a reason to travel in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms on bay side have view. Rooms on inland side have screened windows that can open slightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyartd in Emeryville while visiting family in Berkeley, CA. The area was wonderful, with a shopping area just acros the street. Word of advice. Get a room with a view of the Bay. You can see the Golden Gate from your window. Impressive. The hotel is right on I-80, so you can get places easily. Ther hotel serves a breakfast nad dinner in its lobby (for a cost)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 936Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Courtyard is a nice alternative to the pricey SF hotels and is just a short drive over the Bay Bridge from SF. Prices are significantly lower than in SF, and you have the convenience of the new shopping plaza across the street from it (many shops, restaurants, etc.) and a smaller strip mall adjacent to it (Trader Joes is there!).

The Courtyard is your typical mid-level hotel. Toiletries were Paul Mitchell Tea Tree line though, a nice surprise. The bed was very comfortable, they must have updated them since I could not find the typical divot in the mattress that you generally find in hotels that haven't had a change in their furnishings in some time. The bathroom was a bit on the dark side - it could have used a light in the shower area. Towels were rough though, and only 2 bath towels were provided for the king room. Otherwise, it was a clean space. Flat screen tv and a clock radio along with a pull-out sofa completed the room. Oh, a bonus - free internet!!!!!!!! I am so sick of hotel chains that try to scratch out additional fees from travelers, especially business travelers, by charging them for internet. Marriott went the right way with this - free wired or wireless internet. Nothing makes me more annoyed with a hotel chain that one that looks to charge you $15 - $20/day for internet access. Thanks Marriott!

The front desk was extremely helpful - I requested a top floor, bay-facing room and they took the time to search for one and actually pinned one down for me. I am used to requests that are met with a gratuitous or obligatory quick scan of what is available then assigned to whichever one comes up on their screen so this was a nice surprise.

Downstairs is a cafe that serves light meals and Starbucks coffee. It is quite convenient but on the pricey side. A typical "American" breakfast of coffee, eggs, bacon, and potatoes came to $15 or so. There is a Denny's about a 5-minute walk away if you wish to avoid this cost, but then you are paying for the convenience of having breakfast at your hotel.

Parking - $9/day, not a fan of this...

Overall, the Marriott scores points with its staff, beds, free internet, and location. Misses are the parking charges and bathroom towels. I don't know if they offer a shuttle to BART either, like their competition in the Emeryville area. I didn't see one when I was there but that can be a deal breaker for anyone without a car and who would rely on BART to get around since the closest station is about 1 mile from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room - bay-facing, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSpinnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room was not to the quality that we expected. The room probably could've been a lot better. The Parking was horrible, but over all the room was just ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cornell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $170 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing