We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great "Locals" place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palermo

Palermo
Ranked #13 of 259 Restaurants in Elk Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Palermo Ristorante Italiano, located in Elk Grove, California, is a family owned and operated business. We offer an exquisite menu, daily specials, delicious wines, and a full bar and lounge. Come in and join us for an authentic Italian dinner tonight. Buon Appetito!
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great "Locals" place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have gone to Palermo for many family celebrations, like after my son and his wife became engaged, several anniversaries, birthdays, etc. The staff is mostly family and treat you like you belong here, you're one of the family, very quickly. Tonight our food took a little extra time and the owner sat with us and talked while we waited.
The food is always fresh, with excellent flavors and textures. Their spinach is worth the trip by itself. All the desserts we've had were wonderful (personal favorite - Zabaglione).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Italy in Elk Grove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner here at Palermo Ristorante on New Years eve. We throughly enjoyed our meals. The staff was very friendly from the minute we walked in all of the way through our dinner. The food was delicious my wife had the Fettuccine Alfredo and I had a sea food dish that had linguini, swordfish,clams and mussel cooked in wine and garlic sauce. First time there but not our last time...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Palermo may be only second to Biba in Italian restaurants in Sacramento. Excellent fresh ingredients, great service, and reasonable prices.. The pork chop was done perfectly and with sauteed spinach was just like you would get in Italy. It is not the heavy Italian food you get at many U.S restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dexterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Family-run real Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My friends and I have dined at Palermo about a half-dozen times. The charming owner greets everyone, very old world, hard to find in this area, filled with franchises. The food is very good. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. We have in our group people with different dietary needs. We always find something for everybody.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Home Cooked Meal!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've lived in Sacramento for over 10 years and recently moved abroad. My Milanese friend has cooked me several home cooked meals while away from the States and this place reminded me of her cooking, only better!

We had the caprese salad as a starter, the mozzarella cheese was fresh and creamy with the right consistency and the tomatoes were ripen. The dish is simple so you taste the flavor of the ingredients. I had eggplant parma and it was to die for! The tomato sauce was sweet and not over powered with garlic or acidic. Exactly how marina sauced should be made. My friends ordered lamb shank, seafood risotto (special of the night), lobster ravioli. There were absolutely delicious!

The only thing to complain about is that the chef ran out of Lasagna. He only makes about 12 portions a day and you have to pre-order if you'd like to try his specialty. I would definitely go back again and what a shame that I've only found out about this place after having moved out of the country!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing