We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive.”

Sheldon Inn Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheldon Inn Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 263 Restaurants in Elk Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Silva's is a bit outside of town in a rural atmosphere. It is well worth the drive. The friendly staff and owners are attentive to your every need and the food is excellent. Silva's has a full bar and a reasonably priced wine line. The food selections are varied and change with the seasons. They do have a children's menu also. Food prices may be a bit on the high side, but acceptable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I love this small town place near where I live. Excellent food and wonderful desserts! Good drink selection and good service. Nice place for a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank crackerjack74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge,California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Never had a bad meal. We have frequented this restaurant for many years. It's great.

Helpful?
Thank Gudava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
455 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 795 helpful votes
“Country Elegance”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is The spot in Sheldon community in Elk Grove for a fine meal, full on bar also. Check for hours, this is the country life.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My family and I finally tried this place after hearing about it for over 20 years. We were very impressed with the food. The calamari was extremely fresh and very lightly breaded and fried with a great aioli dipping sauce. It was the best calimari we have had, and we try a lot of calamari! We also got the mushroom caps in the garlic, butter, and brandy and it was just perfect, especially using the fresh baked bread to dip in the delicious sauce. My husband got the Portuguese bean soup and it was very flavorful with lots of fresh herbs. My husband and dad got the roasted chicken, and loved the flavor and the texture of the chicken--very moist with a crispy skin which had been dry rubbed with herbs. I got the skirt steak--it was very tender with a great flavor from the terriyaki marinade. The portions here are just right (not too big, and not too small) and you can tell everything here is homemade. I would not come here if you are under time constraints as they do take their time bringing you each course. We enjoyed the leisurely pace as you don't feel rushed and can really enjoy the meal. Our waitress Christy was very friendly. We will definitely try it again since it is just a hop, skip, and a jump from the hussle and bustle of Elk Grove.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheldon Inn Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Elk Grove, CA
 

Been to Sheldon Inn Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing