We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient and decent place to rest your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Elk Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A convenient and decent place to rest your head”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We only stayed one night as we were passing through on a road trip. Five stars on the rooms considering the price we paid from Hotwire. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and everything was in working order. The location is very convenient being next to the 99 freeway and sitting on the edge of a shopping mall. Plenty of places to eat, within walking distance. We drove a little further to Elk Grove Blvd and had an really tasty dinner at Thai Chili. If you like Thai food, you have to go there.

We had two rooms, one backing to the freeway, the other across the hall backing to the street. I didn't notice too much traffic noise but we were all pretty wiped so it did not bother any of us. There was a mini fridge and microwave which I always appreciate having.

The free breakfast was meh since it was mostly pre-cooked or packaged for convenience, so 3 stars on the food. The selection consisted of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, assorted breads, banana, bacon, cheese omelette and pancakes. The bacon was good (thin but crispy) but the pancakes were pretty awful. The omelette was decent if you like processed cheese and the OJ is watered down. I agree with other reviewers who commented that there should be more fruit available even if it's a bowl of apples, oranges and bananas. However, we didn't stay here for the food, so it's not a deal breaker.

I would definitely stay again, particularly if you can get a promotional rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigrMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you. We truly appreciate your comments of our hotel. Daily we do try to have a variety of fresh fruit available the entire day at our hotel such as bananas and apples for health conscious eaters. We hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
20
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at this hotel in Elk Grove. It is a lovely hotel and the front desk staff could not have been friendlier. They were certain to greet us every time we came in or left the hotel and one of the staff members gave us directions to a certain business establishment. The hotel is on an intersection that has restaurants and stores on the same property and also across the streets. Our room was large and very comfortable and was complete with coffeemaker, small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast had a large selection of items and the dining area is roomy and pleasant. Included in the buffet - scrambled eggs, hot rolls, pancakes, cold cereals, muffins, breads as well as juice and coffee. We were able to book this hotel through Hotwire making the savings for our three night stay considerable. We travel to this area frequently as we have family there and we will definitely make this hotel our base in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and not facing the highway so was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your trip. Our staff is truly customer oriented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for 11 days and found it to be very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The people at the front desk were quite service oriented and friendly and it was all around a good experience. My only negative comment is that there was no yogurt in the refrigerator a couple of the mornings and on other days there were always less than 5 or max. yogurts....and as a health freak, that is about the only thing to eat at HIE breakfasts that is remotely healthy with exception of bananas. In general, HIE and other hotel breakfasts are a recipe for being or getting fat.
But other than that small item, this hotel was really nice....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We thank you for staying at our hotel. We strive to exceed everyone’s expectations with customer service. Our hotel will add additional yogurts daily to the breakfast bar as we support a healthy lifestyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was fine - it is slightly below the average for what I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express, but it was fine. The location is convinient, the desk staff was very nice, and our room was clean. The beds weren't as comfortable and the linens not as nice as at other Holiday Inn Express hotels where I have stayed. The furnishings and decor also seemed to be on the cheap side. There wasn't anything wrong with the hotel and I would stay there again if staying in the area, but it wasn't quite up to par for the brand. .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are always striving to ensure every guest's stay is excellent. We strive to be better than your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALMS Salm Springs, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel! When checking in, Maritza who was working that evening greeted me right away and made me feel very welcomed. My overall stay at this hotel was great. It was in a great location and liked the fact that it was close to my family's house. I will definitly be staying at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I personally had a King room. It was very spacious and clean I loved It! I'm pretty sure if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICHOLE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your great compliments on our staff and hotel. We strive to offer legendary customer service at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel has a great location. It is close to the freeway, shopping and great restaurants. The rooms are large and clean. The pillows are full size which I really appreciate. Internet speeds are great! Breakfast bar is large, with a view of the pool. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.
As a very frequent traveler, I see a lot of hotel rooms and this is one of the best!

Room Tip: Choose rooms towards the front of the hotel. The back rooms have some freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We really value your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here because it was near our friends house. It was in a very convenient location in a shopping center. You could walk to every restaurant or store you could think of. Loved the all the pillows on the beds (and the different ones - soft, firm). The continental breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonlynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXELKGROVE, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and breakfast. We hope you had an opportunity to enjoy our cinnamon rolls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento Elk Grove
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Elk Grove Laguna I-5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Elk Grove
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Elk Grove
10.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galt - Lodi North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East
Address: 9175 W Stockton Blvd, Elk Grove, CA 95758-8051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Elk Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elk Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Elk Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elk Grove, CA. We're located right off HWY 99 and the Laguna Boulevard exit in the Laguna Gateway Shopping Center, approximately 20 miles from Sacramento International Airport, and a few minutes away from downtown.Our hotel features 116 graciously designed guest rooms and suites and free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout our hotel. In the morning enjoy our hot new Express Start breakfast bar featuring omelets, bacon and our mouthwatering signature cinnamon rolls everyday!We're proud to have the largest hotel banquet space in Elk Grove, boasting 3,400 square feet, for weddings, meetings or any other special event. Our facilities have the capacity to accommodate up to 400 people. Free and ample parking in front and back of our hotel.If you're traveling on your own, in a group or with family, you'll find this to be an awesome location for shopping, dining or just socializing! Century Movie Theater and United Artists Movie Theater are walking distance away, as well as Old Navy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Best Buy, TJ Maxx, Home Depot, Ulta Cosmetics and Salon & Strikes Bowling Alley.Restaurants galore! Mimi's Cafe, Macaroni Grill, Logan's Steakhouse, BJ's Brewhouse Bar & Grill, Mandangos Bar, Chili's, & Friday's. to name a few.Local businesses and attractions: All Data, Auto Zone, Apple Computers, Weyerhaeuser, Kaiser, Barbara Morse Wackford Aquatic & Community Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove
Holiday Inn Express Elk Grove
Holiday Inn Elk Grove
Elk Grove Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing