We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tum So Yum”
Review of Thai Chili

Thai Chili
Ranked #3 of 266 Restaurants in Elk Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Irvine, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tum So Yum”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It's hard to find a good Thai restaurant, even in SoCal where we live, so I was even more surprised to find one in Elk Grove. We ordered:
Papaya Salad - fresh and tasty
Banana Yellow Curry - My new fave...wish I lived closer
Spicy Chili Pork - Nice flavor, broccoli was not overcooked
Chicken Satay - a little too burnt for me; dry
Pad Thai - so so; I've had better

While our standard Pad Thai noodles and Satay were not that great, the other dishes were outstanding and I would definitely come back just for the Banana Yellow Curry which I have never had anywhere else.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TigrMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    32
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Tasty and healthy food!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Its great to have food that is both tasty and healthy! Their sauces are great and makes the rice taste good enough to eat as a main course. This restaurant usually has a good coupon in the Entertainment coupon book as well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not much more to be said”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

For every reason mentioned so far, it's awesome. Love that the menu offers great veg and non veg options.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Moonenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great value & fantastic flavor”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Atmosphere is a bit of a dive, but the food makes up the difference

Helpful?
Thank Stempleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So many choices...tasty authentic Thai food”
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Elk Grove. When you ask for spicy, they don't mess around. I haven't been disappointed with anything I've tried so far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing