We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and peaceful B&B with a wonderful innkeeper.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
San Ramon, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and peaceful B&B with a wonderful innkeeper.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Sunday night in early March in the Clifton room. The room was very comfortable with an in-room fireplace, love-seat and a new king sized bed. The bay window overlooked the back garden, Pacific ocean and rock formations. It rained that night and the sound of the rain combined with the crashing waves of the ocean was beautiful.

The bathroom was a bit outdated, but it served it's purpose with a stand up shower, toilet and sink. This is a 98 year old house that is quite charming, so one can't expect all the comforts of a brand new hotel.

The innkeeper, Tracy was very sweet and welcoming. She offered us a glass of wine upon arrival. The breakfast of coffee, juice, scones, yogurt with fresh berries and nuts, and a vegetable frittata was all delicious.

Cell coverage in Elk is almost non-existent, but Tracy provided us with a WiFi password and so we were able to remain "connected" to the real world.

Tracy took over ownership/management of the property in October 2013, so when reading reviews prior to that, take that into consideration. In all, I think she's doing a great job breathing new life into this property. We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBigChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

On one of the few overcast drizzly weekends of February, my husband and I spent a fabulous weekend at the Sandpiper House Inn. We stepped inside the parlour reception area at the craftsman style inn and felt as though we had stepped back in time. We sat besides the cosy fireplace in the wood paneled rooms where we chatted with the innkeeper Tracey. We had signed up for 4 o clock tea which was as good and better than any San Francisco tea. I was impressed with the fine china, the milk jug, the sugar basin, the tea pot, the tea, the tea cosy, the tea spoons, the tiered serving plate offering home made scones, freshly made sandwiches, cakes and an extra special valentines treat dessert freshly made by the innkeeper Tracey (whom I might add is quite a baker). All of this served with such grace and eloquence as we sat overlooking spectacular views of the water crashing against the rocks. The breakfast was also a treat. Again, fresh scones, frittata, fruit. The other guests we met were delightful. We shared experiences of our travels. Our room was cosy and relaxing. We will definitely come back to this hidden retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I met friends here for a girls weekend and what an amazing surprise! The views were so beautiful you feel like there is no reason to leave. The inn keeper, Tracy, was so welcoming and kind we connected immediately. One friends comment "every rooms view is so beautiful I don't know where I want to stand" really summed it up. No matter if it is a quick get away, a romantic weekend, or a little alone time you need you will not be disappointed with the Sandpiper Inn.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have stayed here several times through the years, and keep coming back because this location is as close to heaven as you will find. Peace and quiet, whales cruising by, bunnies frolicking in the yard, and the warmest, comfiest bed imaginable with unobstructed ocean views you feel like you can reach out and touch it is so close. Yes, this beautiful home has gone through a transition and is in the process of returning to its previous glory, but no other location has this view and privacy and the small scale attention to detail. Time evaporates and you can never take your eyes off this breathtaking view visible through expansive windows and the adirondack chairs located in the english garden overlooking the cove. Abalone shells abound for the adventurous (access to the beach is a few doors down on a gentle sloping path) and tide pools will amaze. This is the ultimate for rest and relaxation. This is an historical home, and its imperfections add to the character and life it has experienced since the early 1900's.
I've read other reviews and, sadly, some people can't see the beauty because they are too busy nitpicking inconsequential details or Groupon junkies. How anyone can look anywhere besides the gorgeous ocean view is a mystery to me. It is like criticizing El Capitan in Yosemite because rocks have fallen. This is a home, not a museum. Clean, friendly, extremely comfortable, and the BEST VIEW hands down. I leave refreshed and renewed after every visit, and count the days until I return. Whales everywhere right now, and fresh crab, too.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have private outdoor entrance, higher rooms access through the home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamperedheiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a very nice and relaxing two days here at Sandpiper House. Bill was very nice and even upgraded our room for us. We stayed in the Weston which had spectacular views of the ocean. Both evenings he had cheese and crackers along with wine waiting for us when we arrived back at the inn from our day exploring Mendocino and Fort Bragg. Breakfast was well planned and very good. He worked really hard to try to please the guests and he certainly got our approval. The grounds, I might add, do need a little TLC, but Bill told us he was filling in and the new Innkeeper would be arriving the next week. We had a Groupon deal and since they were new owners, we felt they didn't really have to honor our coupon. We were thankful they did and had even extended the deadline for a month. We certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the Weston - best view at the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimZaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wanted this to be our own secret hideaway, but have to share!!! Some of the most spectacular ocean views along the northern Mendocino coast. Usually sip coffee or wine in the backyard overlooking the crashing ocean waves. Watching the wildlife (such as bunnies, deer, wild birds) is enjoyable. We spend our evenings in a cozy room with crackling fire overlooking the ocean. Very romantic! Love the gourmet breakfast, which is also overlooking the ocean. It is always good to getaway and spend relaxing time at the Sandpiper Inn... :-)

Room Tip: We always stay in the Clifton room... Great view of the ocean, which is great to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanwilliams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We bought a Groupon for the Sandpiper House Inn foolishly based only on the Groupon description and without doing our own research on the place. Our room, Headlands, was dark and dank. It smelled musty, the carpet was dirty, paint was peeling, the chairs in the sitting area part of the room were dirty, and to top if off, the gas fireplace, which is the sole source of heat in the room, died in the middle of the night.

We were told breakfast would be served at 9:30 - we were a little late coming down, but that was not an issue, as the innkeeper overslept and didn't have breakfast ready until well after 10. The muffins served with breakfast were good, the egg casserole was very bland.

We were booked for two nights. When we left the property to explore the area after our first night, we brought all of our luggage with us, hoping we could find someplace else to stay the second night of our weekend getaway. We lucked out and got a room at The Joshua Grindle Inn for the second night of our weekend getaway - what a difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlyBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
12.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
7.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Albion River Inn
Albion River Inn
#1 of 3 in Albion
309 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
270 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House Inn

Property: Sandpiper House Inn
Address: 5520 South Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper House Inn offers five spacious guest suites, each individually decorated with antiques, comfortable chairs, down comforters, feather pillows and fine linens. Four have ocean views, while the fifth overlooks the meadow and hills of Greenwood Ridge. Your stay includes Gourmet Breakfast, served in our breakfast room overlooking the beautiful rocks of Greenwood Cove. Complimentary tea or coffee and hors d oeuvres are enjoyed in the evening beside the cozy living room fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandpiper House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing