We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
32
12
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
12
4
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We spent 3 nights at the Griffin Inn in Elk. Loved it! Definitely request one of the 3 oceanfront cottages for the view. It is not luxury, more rustic and cozy, but with a private deck right on top of a beautiful cliff overlooking the sea. Sitting out on the deck (even bundled up in the cool evening) with a bottle of local Pinot Noir watching the sun set over the rugged coast was about as relaxing and romantic as you can get.

Linda, Jeff and Carol in the office were very nice and helpful. They asked if you had any special needs to accommodate. The breakfast tray brought to the room (between 8:30 and 9am) was fine. We were on east coast time so woke up earlier, but made cups of tea provided in the room (or coffee) and lounged around in nice robes, also provided. The bed had fluffy duvet cover and was comfortable and warm. Great view directly from the bed, too. We did not light a fire in the woodstove although it was tempting when the weather turned cool and cloudy.

The little town of Elk is small and quaint. Very much a get-a-away from all the hustle and bustle. Enjoyed Bridget Dolan's Pub a couple of times. (Beware that it is closed Wed & Thurs.)

Staying at the Griffin Inn is mostly about enjoying the view and being a part of the beautiful coast for a short time. It is an old-fashioned beach cottage, a little bit weather-beaten, which you can expect in that environment. But the View… the view makes it worth your while.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stopped in Elk on a whim, after spending some time in Mendocino. We had never been there before, and wanted to find a room for under $200. Patty, the inn keeper at the Griffin House Inn was very nice and accomodating. They had a room available for us, in the amount of ~$140.00 (midweek rate). Our cabin faced the parking area/small garden. There were three ocean view cabins which were already booked. They looked awesome- all three have decks overlooking the ocean, high up on a cliff. From what we could see, these would be the rooms to get. I do not know what the rate is on them, but I'm sure higher than our room rate.

Our room was very rustic... there is a woodstove in a very tiny room where you enter, and then a bedroom. I think the woodstoves put off too much heat for such a small area. We had to open all the windows in our bedroom area for ventilation. The windows in the woodstove room do not open. The bathroom was ok, they had a long, clawfoot tub which was nice. The king bed we had was WONDERFUL! It was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had at any accomodation. The down comforter was so nice too.

Don't expect fancy here... the cabins are VERY rustic (old). There are no phones or TV's. (Also, no cell phone reception here.) The "foundation" on our cabin slanted to one direction. If you are afraid of bugs, you might want to choose other accomodations. There were a few in the room since we had to open the windows... but they weren't bad (we're not afraid of bugs!) The breakfast included in your stay is served to your room in the morning. It was good, but don't expect top-end B&B level.

We ate at the restaurant at our inn, called Bridget Dolan's. We were told by Patty that the food was nothing fancy, just simple. It was a simple menu, but I found the food to taste excellent! I really enjoyed it. Everyone was sooo nice, with the exception of our waitress at the restaurant, who was abrupt and seemed bothered to wait on us. That was our only real "negative" experience we had at this accomodation.

AS for the town of Elk, another reviewer said everyone was "mad".... Honestly, I would have to say that some shopowners seemed very quirky, and a few were downright unpolite. We sort of felt "tolerated" in this town. It was a bit strange... but just the character of this town, I guess.

My overall recommendation is if you want to stay here, make sure you get one of the three ocean front rooms. Otherwise, head up toward Mendocino for better accomodations for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montereychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

All I can say is that during our one week tour of San Francisco and regions north to the Giants and south to Big Sur, our one night stay at the Griffin House was the absolute HIGHLIGHT of our trip! We stayed in the Greenwood Cottage and were treated to weather changes from sunny to stormy. The Griffin House and Elk draw you into a peaceful state which you hate to leave behind. Treat yourself to a wonderful meal at Bridgit Dolan's as well... superb! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We stumbled upon Elk randomly while driving around N CA in fall of 06. It was mid-late September, so not high season. We LOVED Elk.

Griffin House was such a gem that we came back to Elk to stay there on our way back (we drove up from LA to Oregon and back). The garden cottages are cozy, and the gardens are private and charming. The sea view cottages have a breathtaking view. One day, we just sat on the terrace which was on the cliff overlooking the water, sipped the very good semi-sweet complimentary local wine and watched the sky and the clouds and the colors change through the day over a beautiful sea full of rocks and crashing waves. Another day we walked to the edge of town (300 yards, max) and went down to the beach, a state park.
The service was super - we arrived before check-in, without reservations, but they did their best to ready the room for us, and then let us check out a few hours late because the room was not reserved for the next night. The rooms are small, but you're not there for the rooms. Some are more modern than others. Some have better bathrooms than others. All come with a very comfortable bed and great linnens on fluffy pillows and blankets. Each cottage has a private outdoor area. And both that we had stayed in, we really liked. The breakfast at the room was not my favorite, as we were not quite ready to face the world when it arrived. But it was good, and hot. And hey, it was practically in bed!

Further, to the Bostonian commenter who thinks Elk is full of mad people with either a pub or fine dining - I could not disagree more! Elk is just wonderful. It is a very small hamlet on the PCH, and yes, it has only a handful eating establishments, which range from the 'pub' attached to the inn, btw, which is lovely and has excellent food! to the amazing elk cove inn dining room, which has exquisite food, great service and also seated us 10mins before closing w/no reservations and were utterly courteous about it (i am tempted to get married there. too bad it's not big enough) to a cute lunch cafe place (blanking on name) which is fun and has great for lunch. And, everyone was very friendly.

Further, Elk is a convenient 30 mins away from some of the best wineries in CA, certainly value-wise. Just drive east and you'll see them. And more food choices.

I cannot recomment the Griffin house and the location enough.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank NYCSmrtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

We stayed at the Griffin House Inn for the first three nights of our honeymoon. When we arrived, after a long drive, we were anxious to unpack, check out our room, and head to the pub for dinner. We were so pleased when we opened the door to the Kestral cottatge. It was beatifullly designed: simple, modern, and elegant, and what a view from the deck!

Dinner at Bridget Dolan's that night was guacamole burgers (mine a veggie burger), fries, and a couple of Guinness. It was very satisfying.

We slept extremely well. The bed, pillows and down comforter were very comfortable. The gas stove kept the room very warm. We were able to keep the stove on and open the windows so we could go to sleep listening to the waves.

Breakfast in the morning (delivered to the cottage) was good. It was very satisfying, and a great way to wake up!

The bathroom was very nice, and was clean.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They allowed us to take our unfinished beer or wine back to the room; upon special request (the restaurant was closed), gave us a pot of coffee for a late afternoon boost; lent us binoculars, and were just anxious to please in general.

This portion of our honeymoon was our favorite. Exploring the beaches and forests in this beautiful area, and spending time on our deck were the perfect way to unwind after the wedding!

** Go horseback riding through Ross Ranch... It was an awesome experience! **

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauraShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews