We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
32
12
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
12
4
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2006

We have stayed several times in the Griffin House, and always thought it was romantic and well-taken-care-of. Wow, what a disappointment this time! First, our room wasn't ready mid-afternoon, as the maid was eating lunch in the cafe. The bath tub surface was peeling, as was the paint on the porch. The porch chairs were both rusty. There was one circular disc of glycerine soap, no shampoo. The breakfast delivered to your door, which had been a highlight, was two hours late and lacking in thought or imagination. It was tasteless. The Bridget Dolan pub food had also taken a big dive. I hope ownership changes again, as we would like to come back -- but it will be a great while before we take a chance.

Stayed: March 2006
6  Thank Climber488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
628
Reviewed November 17, 2004

We stayed at Griffin House, in The Greenwood Cottage, on November 14, 2004 for a brief yet unforgettable experience. The Greenwood Cottage sits cliffside overlooking a most spectacular vista of The Pacific. Both sunrise and sunset afforded awesome views. The interior conveys casual elegance, in spite of the mismatched antiques, old bathroom fixtures, and smoky scent lingering within. It's the details that add up to success: a complimentary bottle of wine awaits on a tray with glasses and opener; firewood sits already stacked inside the woodstove - one match to a perfect fire; fresh flowers decorate the breakfast table; binoculars to borrow for whalewatching - and a flashlight at bedside if/when you run out of daylight; beautifully landscaped cottage gardens; extremely soft linens with an out-of-this-world feather duvet to crown the bed. We kept the door open all night to feel the cool November air and dream amongst the ocean surf. Between the great little woodstove and the thick bedlinens, we were amply comfortable. We awoke at dawn for a sunrise walk on the beach accompanied by the vivid melange of colors reflected in the morning sea. The breakfast included thick slices of hot, fluffy french toast accompanied by bacon, juice, hot coffee and a huge bowl of fresh fruit - and best of all, the tray they delivered it on fits perfectly on the outside deck table. The staff was professional yet unobtrusive, and asked ahead about any special dietary needs or restrictions.

Granted, some flaws exist. The cottages are over 80 years-old and bound to have some wear and tear from the harsh, salty air. We stayed off-season - a very good value. I may have given only 4-stars if we had paid a full rate, but still it's very affordable for the area. I would not recommend Griffin Inn if your primary travel needs center around pampering and luxury. There are other $300 (and up) per-night establishments in town that can better meet that need. This inn is for the traveler who seeks a comforable accomodation that exquisitely enhances the heritage and natural majesty of the region.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
419
Reviewed September 16, 2003

The smallest one horse town in california do not go here unless you are mad.

We stayed in the maston cotage which was far from furnished to provide a romantic, cozy, comfortable place for you to stay. It was smelly cold damp and had not been decorated for at least 20 years. All have private baths and wood-burning stoves but what they do not tell you is there is no seperate bathroom and the toilet is in a cupboard. Yes you will need the stove as it is always cold but only the porch door opens so you can be smoky and warm or warmish iwht bugs coming in the porch door. Also no curtains so you will wake up when the sun rises.

It says "hearty breakfast is served daily between 8:30 and 9:30 am on a tray delivered right to your cottage door" what a joke your coffee will come 50 minutes before the worst breakfast you have ever seen cold and crap would be the best way to describe it not quite sure why they bother.

And the bath is a great idea but you are pointed so your view is the wall and this also is unclean and not safe looking. The village itself is full of mad people with one pub or fine dinning, no in between and NO Gas station.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: de las tres cabañas con ocean view la primera según se entra es la mejor
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews