We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
32
12
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
12
4
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We booked an oceanfront cottage several months in advance and I asked the innkeeper to recommend one since we had not been to the property. I was surprised to find that the one he gave us was the only one not renovated and definitely much more rustic; I would choose a different one if we returned. All the cabins do have a wonderful view and we enjoyed our stay. We were visiting on a holiday weekend and they seem seriously understaffed. The innkeeper does all the checking in and out while serving simultaneously at the pub and restaurant and there was only one other waitress. As there are only 2 restaurants in town, it's busy! Full breakfasts were delivered to the cabin which was a nice touch. Understaffed and a little rough around the edges for the price but we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Griffin House. It was quiet and the room was spacious, with a sitting room, bedroom, and large bathroom. The decor was simple (perhaps even sparse) and the room had certainly seen better days. For what you get the price is a bit much. However, we very much enjoyed our stay. We would probably stay there again. Given that there were two ocean view rooms available when we checked in at 9 in the evening, we would absolutely stay again had they upgraded us. Easy way to ensure repeat business, but not one they chose to employ.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank pmckerral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed at the Griffin House In last weekend and had a nice stay. We stayed in the Greenwood room which has a huge deck overlooking the ocean with very cool rock formations. The room itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the linens were good and the wood fired stove kept us warm.

The only negative is that the bathroom feels a bit less glamorous than the rest of the room. Small shower and linoleum flooring feels like it could use an update.

Overall, we really liked the hotel - very relaxing, yummy breakfast right in your room and romantic evenings watching the fog over the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

New ownership has this B&B in transition mode. We had one of the ocean view cabins and the view and location are priceless!! The cabin was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast being delivered to the room is very nice but lacked the quality we expected. Coffee comes first and which is nice but it had the flavor of not being freshing brewed. On arrival the manager had me park under a dead pine tree which dumped huge amounts of needles and bark onto my vechile, when I mentioned this to a staff member I was met with a degree of apathy and a definsive apology but no solution was offered. The food at the pub was acceptable but did not match the price. Would I return there? perhaps, but then, there are many places to be experienced.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank OlRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a simple weekend get away for our anniversary, and Elk fit our needs. If you choose to travel to Elk and can stand windy roads, while on hwy 128 (About 7 miles before 128 hits hwy 1) you will see a very small sign that says Elk and points to the left (Philo Greenwood Rd), take it. You will see why we loved this drive, especially as you approach the coast.

The town of Elk is very small, less than 250 people. Although we read that some people have called the people of the town, "mad", we found just the opposite. This was especially true of the staff at The Griffin House Inn.

As we drove up at the hotel, we were greeted by the blooming flowers and pretty blue and white building that housed the Bridget Dolan Restaurant. We registered quickly and on our way to our cottage (Smith), we were given a split of wine. Unfortunately, there were no ocean view cottages available that weekend. If you want one, call early. The Smith cottage was the cottage closest to the main building. Smith cottage was very cute with a large bathroom, small living area (with a reclining chair, dining table and wood burning stove), cozy bedroom and small back yard with deck and chairs. The bedroom had double French doors that opened right out to the deck. In the mornings we enjoyed opening the doors and watching the humming birds frolic. A couple actually flew into our room and looked around before flying back out again.

The decor of the cottage was decidedly country, without being "country clutter". The bathroom was very large with a claw foot tub. My husband and I brought a well stocked cooler (our fridge) and used the top of the wood burning stove to heat up pre made goodies that we wrapped in foil.

The positives:
- Location, it felt remote not too much : )
- The cottage was well decorated and we especially loved the back yard area, and not phones or TV., but lots of books
- The staff was great, very attentive.
- The bed was wonderful. Very comfortable.
- Breakfast was great. When we called they asked us about any diet restrictions, I thought that was thoughtful. One day thick sliced bacon with a cheese frittata and fresh backed scones. The next day was French toast with apple chicken sausage and fresh fruit. Coffee was delivered to our door by 9:00 am each day, with breakfast arriving shortly there after.
- Wood was brought into our cottage each day.

The negatives:
-The cottage was not a stand alone and our neighbors were a little noisy. We just turned up our cd player. Bring your own, there is not one in the room.
-Although you have you own yard space, you can hear the people who work at the business next door. Plus an inn next door has a balcony that can see into the yard and deck area.
-The restaurant was not very good. We ordered baked potatoes and bread pudding. The potatoes were burnt and the bread pudding was two slices of bread with raisins and apples between them with a very "Hard" icing. We could not eat them.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want a relaxed place to connect with he person you love, this is it. We wanted to just be away from it all for the weekend and, for us The Griffin House Inn worked great for us. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews