We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly wounderful all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehouse
1 review
“Absolutly wounderful all around”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

By far the best B&B I have stayed in. The staff super friendly and helpful, very clean,many little surprises such as the welcome basket, the sherry and chocolate in our room. But I can not express how outstanding the breakfast was, combined with a breath taking view I did not want to leave. I be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronistark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    38
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
415
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Any one experience here at the Inn would make it an all-time favorite: gourmet breakfast, delicious view of the cove from our breakfast table, sweet doe we met on our hike to town, cypress trees whispering in the breeze, or the fabulous massahhhhhhhhhge. What makes ELk Cove Inn the BEST is innkeeper Elaine, who greets us with a hug, her inimitable accent, and her 5-foot (if that) cuteness! We feel as if the spirit of Boomer and Asta prevailed, now that some rooms are pet friendly. My best friend and I plan to return for 20 more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveopinionwilltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Perfect. I couldn't fault it. Cheerful, helpful staff, fabulous location, great rooms and the best breakfast in California. Stayed three nights and wished we had stayed longer. The rugged, almost private, cove was suitably mysterious in the morning mists and a wonderful setting for this interesting B&B . A perfect base to visit the vineyards and forests with some thigh tingling local walks. Our favourite Hotel/B&B on our 2 week, 6 location stay in CA.

Room Tip: They are all great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stopped for just one night, but wish we had time to stay longer. The people were all great--the staff and guests all friendly. The views from the property were beautiful, even with overcast skies. A short walk down the hill took you to what seemed a private beach with a few picnic tables--great for sharing some snacks and a bottle of wine (provided in the welcome basket)! They thought of so many nice things---the bottle of wine, homemade cookies, bag of popcorn, chocolate and Port wine by the bed, happy hour, and the best part--the fantastic breakfast buffet! Nothing else like it! We were very happy in Molly's Garden room, a less expensive option, but the rooms with a patio overlooking the ocean would be a great splurge. I would have been happy for hours just relaxing with a good book there, taking a 10 minute walk to town for dinner and maybe getting a spa treatment...next trip up north. A destination in itself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had simply the best time. And all of the lovely ladies who run the space were phenomenal. From Elaine to Mary to Patty, to our lovely massage therapists Peggy and the british woman who's name I forget, they were all so super-helpful, smiley, and added a lot to the day. And the venue and view and bonfire on the beach and little extras in the room and amazing breakfast, all added to just a perfect weekend. Thank you!!

Room Tip: The cottages are our favorite. Especially Surfsong, even though it's the smallest. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
549 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here on short notice after cancelling a trip to Yosemite National Park because of the Rim Fire. When we booked, the only rooms available were on the high end of the price scale, but the Inn was running a special, so we booked a room. The location is about 20 miles south of Mendocino and is right on a bluff overlooking the ocean. A number of rooms have an ocean view. We stayed in the Seascape room (in the main house), a large room with a king size bed and private bath with a shower only. There was a gas fireplace in the room as well as a love seat and chair and ottoman. We could hear the waves crashing all night and had excellent views of the ocean from our room. It was wonderful. The Bayview room next door is larger with a much bigger bathroom, but the view is not as good and overlooks the parking pad. We were greeted with a lovely welcome basket of wine, strawberries and homemade cookies. The décor is a little stuck in the 1970s (I think that is the worst thing I can say about Elk Cove), but it is rustic and comfortable and we had everything we needed. There was no television in our room (although there is one in a common area and some rooms have televisions) and pretty much no cell phone service (common along the Mendocino coast), but there is free high speed internet service available. I jumped for joy when I saw a Keurig coffeemaker in our room as I wake up early and need my coffee. There are also fresh flowers, chocolates, and port in the rooms. While our room was around $300, there are smaller rooms with queen beds and no ocean view. That would be a good alternative for someone on a budget who still wanted to take advantage of the scenic Mendocino coast and this beautiful property. I can’t say enough good things about the breakfast, a buffet with juices, fruit, yogurt, cereals, egg dishes, oatmeal, and meats—something for every appetite. There is also a happy hour from 4-6 p.m. each evening that features wines and ingredients for mixed drinks as well as cheese and crackers. The owner was an excellent source of hiking suggestions, and all the staff were gracious, welcoming and friendly. Elk is a good base for traveling north to Fort Bragg and Mendocino and south to Point Arena and wineries. There are two reasonably good restaurants within walking distance of the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at this B&B with my family in August 2013 and this place met our expectations and then some. All the staff is so warm and friendly and treats you like family. The place is very romantic and charming. Their happy hour was more then I expected with complimentary wine, drinks, and snacks. They make this delicious dip to serve with crackers and even give you the recipe! Actually ALL the food was outstanding and freshly made. I highly recommend this beautiful place tucked away in Elk, CA. And hope to be back to visit again soon. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: There rooms range in price for the view, but I can tell you the views of the mountains, ocean, and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyshoppinmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
13.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
12.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
23.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk Cove Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Property: The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Address: 6300 S Highway 1, Elk, CA 95432-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elk Cove Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Elk Cove Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk Cove Hotel Elk
The Elk Cove Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing