We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a wedding”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding. From start to finish it was a lovely experience. The buildings & grounds are well-kept and have a tremendous view of the ocean. The staff is warm & welcoming. The produce the best and most delicious breakfast spread I've had at any inn in the U.S. (only the Irish have topped it). I loved the quaint coziness of our room, including the Franklin stove and shower with a view. Normally I would balk at a room at this price point not having a king sized bed, but the mattress & linens were so nice that I spent a lot of time napping & lounging. I'd definitely recommend this inn to friends looking to visit the Mendocino coast, and to anyone looking for a small, intimate wedding location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky-in-Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    40
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
417
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Rapids, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Elk Cove Inn & Spa. The views are amazing...loved spending time on the coastal shore. And the breakfast was wonderful also! We have since been given a $50 gift certificate that we will not be able to use before it expires on 4/23/2013. It is for $50 on a stay at the inn in an oceanfront room. If interested in using it please contact me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Elk Cove is a really special place. The setting is completely amazing. After driving for hours along the Shoreline Highway, I can tell you this is one of the most picturesque spots on the whole coast all the way to the Golden Gate. The sunsets are breathtaking! The bed earns six stars as it was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. And while the Inn may be on the pricey side, they make sure to earn it with all kinds of perks. The happy hour from 4-6 is great. The bourbon was unmarked but tasted good enough to be drank straight. The gift pack includes some nice cookies and a half bottle of wine. And as others have mentioned, the breakfast is over the top and delicious. There's even chess and Scrabble boards in the room! My only critique is that the furnishings in the suite were a bit dated. They were kept clean and comfortable, but it did cheapen the feel of the room a bit. It wasn't enough to detract in any way from our stay however. Yay for the Elk Cove!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnito15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent five lovely days in the Sam McCanse suite last week. From start to finish, everything about this inn and the people who run it could not have been any better. The innkeeper is a lovely, gracious, thoughtful woman who greets everyone with a warm, welcoming smile. She makes the AMAZING breakfast experience all that much better just because she is so friendly, gracious, and welcoming. The suite we had was very private allowing us MUCH needed time to relax. We spent one day simply resting. The inn is located near wonderful drives in three directions, all we had to do was pick a new way to go everyday. From lighthouse visits and ocean drives, to the Mendocino Botanical gardens, and the beautiful redwoods along route 128...the scenery near this inn is truly wonderful and this place is as good as the reviews say it is. We were lucky indeed to have trusted these reviews!

Room Tip: The Sam McCanse suite is a good choice for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveagoodfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I were looking to get away and explore the coast for a long weekend. We read all the reviews online and decided to give the Elk cove Inn and Spa a try. We quite frankly cannot say enough positive things about our stay. The facilities were all immaculate, all the staff was friendly and engaging to talk to, the breakfast was deliscious, the view is spectacular and we loved to walk on the beach every morning. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Everything you have read here about this Inn is true: the breakfasts are over the top, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the owner is on site and actively assisting guests, the setting is over the top. This is a very special place!!! When you arrive in your room there is a note on the bed that states that anything that is a problem should be directed to staff immediately for assistance. Believe me when i tell you that this results in positive action without so much as a grimace. We had a bit of a problem that was handled with style and generous grace. We will be back, This is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Elk Cove Inn will have a place in my heart for the rest of my life. I first visited the Inn with my husband for our 20th wedding anniversary, and was charmed by the breathtaking scenery, the warm hospitality, and the comfortable, romantic feel that emanated from the rooms, the gardens, and all the Inn has to offer.

This past weekend, my daughter Lisa, and my new son-in-law, Brad, were married underneath one of the majestic cypress trees that grace the gardens overlooking the ocean. About 40 friends and family came and stayed at the Inn for this occasion. Elaine and her staff were incredibly gracious and helpful every step of the way. Before the wedding, Elaine helped us coordinate caterers, rentals, and all of the special touches that we needed to make this the special day that Lisa and Brad wanted as they started their new life together. From the moment we and the other guests arrived at the Inn for the wedding, she and her wonderful staff were ready to help us with every detail and every need. Their hospitality and friendliness will not be forgotten!

The Elk Cove Inn is an enchanting place. I give it the highest possible rating. If you have a special occasion to celebrate, or just want to experience a unique and romantic retreat, I hope you will come and discover the Inn's charm for yourself!

Most sincerely,

Linda Olson

Room Tip: The rooms with an ocean view are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
13.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
23.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
12.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk Cove Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Property: The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Address: 6300 S Highway 1, Elk, CA 95432-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elk Cove Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Elk Cove Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk Cove Hotel Elk
The Elk Cove Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing