We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their sushi”
Review of Oami Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oami Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love their sushi”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a hidden gem, the food is always great, and they are very friendly and nice, if you have the chance to sit at the sushi bar, do it, is a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Sushi”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been going there for over 20 years because the owner-sushi-chef is an authentically trained sushi chef and the sushi he makes is the highest quality I've tasted. I was in Japan last month and his sushi is as good as those in Tokyo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarrenChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town for over 30 years!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been eating at Oami since it opened over 30 years ago. By far the best Japanese restaurant in Orange County. Having lived and worked in Japan I haven't yet found an American Japanese Restaurant to compare with Oami's food and prices. The owner/hostess, a wonderful elderly Japanese/American woman, always remembers me and my family greeting us personally. Sushi bar favorite is the Baked Scallops. In the restaurant I almost always order a combo of chicken, pork and tempura. Portions are generous and a doggie bag is always needed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, CA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good sushi at a great price”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

While you can sit in the restaurant, I prefer sitting at the sushi bar to watch the chefs prepare the meals. This restaurant offers very good sushi at a very reasonable price. They have quite a following and quickly make an effort to get to know you. Most of the patrons appear to be Japanese which is one indication of its authenticity. I've tried virtually every option and have always been pleased with the service, quantity and quality.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltimore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have been going here since 1984 and have loved it every single time! The food is always delicious and have never been disappointed! The soup and salad is great and have taken friends and family there throughout the years and they love it too!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnalnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oami Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
El Toro, Orange County
El Toro, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing