We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Good for a 1-night Layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LAX South Travelodge
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only Good for a 1-night Layover”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you are looking for a cheap hotel for a quick layover at LAX, this hotel is just good enough for that. Room was super small, the location makes it incredibly noisy at any time of day, especially in during the morning, the walls were incredibly thin and we could constantly hear our neighbours next door. The runways for LAX are just blocks away and the constant traffic noise on Sepulveda Ave. makes it quite uncomfortable. Parking is a $5 surcharge if you have a car, if you don't you'll need to take the shuttle van. The shuttle is only scheduled inconveniently every 3 hours or so, and if you request a time other than those scheduled, you're subject to a $15 surcharge per passenger. The only thing good about this hotel is it's close proximity to LAX and it's free wifi which makes it just adequate enough for a 1-night layover if you have a stopover at LAX, but nothing else. And certainly not for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: I don't think any room is good as you really can't get away from the noise and thin walls, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVR-Wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    190
    287
    193
    179
See reviews for
235
243
174
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The motel was nice and comfortable only problem was finding parking. Had to pay 5 bucks to park there and I couldn't even find parking .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel was close to the airport which was nice. Van that picks you up had a temp sign for hotel and was dirty. The kitchenette was filthy. It was New Years Eve so everything was closed so I stayed in my room walking with my socks on. The next morning I changed my socks only to discover the old pair was black with dirt.

Staff was ok and room was cheap but hotel needs a good wash. Was greeted with a sign that said, "Marry Christmas"

Room Tip: Nothing to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here on 1 January 2014. I prefer the chain hotels closer to LAX but for 1 Jan in holiday season either expensive or full when I wanted to do a booking at short notice.

I first thought it would not be the best when I called on the phone. The guy on the front desk was arrogant and talking over me. The shuttle only took a few minutes, however, after the phone call.

Check-in procedure fine but room not the best. Could hear the people talking in the next room. Took ages to get connected to the Wifi.

There was a bath in the room but no plug. Plugs are not very expensive and given that many people would rather take a bath than a shower after a long flight this is an area for improvement.

They offer a breakfast and even have a waffle machine which is something different.

They will pick you up by a shuttle from LAX. They, however, are not so generous on the return trip. There are set times in the morning and early afternoon. Some with quite a gap. Outside the scheduled times they want $15. That is $15 plus tip. Quite expensive for the short distance.

Check out not the best this morning. The person at the front desk was telling two girls that their bags are very big and too big to go out the back. I have travelled extensively and the bags did not look too big to me. Also, I have never heard a hotel tell a guest that their bags are too big and then questioning if there had been an offer to store the bags for the day in the first place.

Staff at this hotel need some training on customer service and communicating with their guests. It is about the customer and not them.

I have stayed at a few Travel Lodges before and this one is not the best. The others were better. I will not stay at this one again. I would rather pay a bit more to be closer to the airport with better service and more frequent shuttle services to the airport.

Room Tip: Be careful. Can hear people in the next room and when walk down the corridor can hear people in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Room was on the shabby side. A good hard scrub or paint job would help. Staff helpful, but overworked. You do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,617 reviews
Westside
Hyatt Regency Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAX South Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAX South Travelodge

Property: LAX South Travelodge
Address: 1804 E Sycamore Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245-3341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — LAX South Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your LAX South Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lax South Hotel El Segundo
Travelodge El Segundo
El Segundo Travelodge
El Segundo Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge El Segundo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing