We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for an overnight stay but watch the airport shuttle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of LAX South Travelodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LAX South Travelodge
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay but watch the airport shuttle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Convenient for LAX - less than a mile away through the tunnel. Area is OK - plenty of restaurants, fast food joints and a supermarket just over the road so more choice than on Century Blvs, the main hotel drag for LAX.

Rooms are fine. Mine was well equipped with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Everything worked and room had been newly decorated. No complaints at this price.

Breakfast was poor. Not much choice and a long queue to use the single, 4 slot domestic toaster thatr had to serve the whole hotel. However, it's free so no major complaints.

The two biggest complaints are the night desk man and the shuttle service. The former is dour almost to the point of rudeness. No eye contact, no greeting and when I asked what time shuttles ran to at night his only response was that you only get one round trip shuttle to the airport per stay. I was staying multiple nights and using the hotel as a base between day trips out of LAX. Hotel web site says nothing about this limit.

As to the shuttle itself: 40 minute wait at LAX on arrival. Return to airport was on time (but overbooked). The biggest complaint though (apart from the night desk man's one round trip limit) is the frequency. There is only a shuttle every 90 minutes even at peak times meaning that you will probably end up at the airport a lot earlier than you need to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    186
    269
    185
    174
See reviews for
219
230
168
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our initial reservation was for 1 King Bedroom with Sofa Bed which was available when we made our reservation through Wyndham Rewards. Confirmation number received, but no 'reservation number' that Ramada wanted.

We ended up with a 2 bed room which was fine, but still a disappointment. The shock was having to pay $30 to park our car at the Hotel which wasn't mentioned in the review of services and amenities. We ARE GUESTS!

Instead of staying a second night we went to a Travelodge which noted a $5 parking fee near the LA Airport. We checked in for the night, and the $5 FEE WAS WAIVED because we were GUESTS ! In fcat the room was much better than the Ramada's room at more than half the cost.

I let my 9 year old son open the door, and when he saw the room he said loudly, WOW!, and we we're 50 feet away from him.

They had no breakfast offered with stay.

Save $140 and stay at a TRAVELODGE if you have a choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank chuckbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Valley Springs, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for 3-4 nights a week for 3 months while working in the area. Some nights were more quiet than others. Plane traffic, noise from rowdy people partying, and people slamming doors at all hours. If you are in a bind, and can't find anywhere else, drink heavily, take a sleeping aid, and put in earplugs!

Room Tip: Find something a little farther from lax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cold1za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The first morning, the toilet didn't work , nor did the hair-dryer. So they put us in another room down the hall. The room was so small, no room for a closet: no hangers, laundry bag, no clock and no lamp. The towels were so thin we could almost see thru them. I was visiting L.A., so we stayed away from our room as long as possible, coming back late just to go to bed. It's not a hotel you want to hang around too long. The breakfast was not much. The coffee very weak, orange juice sour. If only staying one night to get to LAX, it's O.K. , but two nights like us, was pushing it.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the traffic side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank akalinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

About $70 off of Hotels.com. Very convenient to LAX. Rooms are small, smaller that many NYC rooms. OK for one, manageable for two. Walls are paper thin. Breakfast is bare bones. Charges $5/night to park on the property. If in a pinch, would stay their again.

Room Tip: Shop the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank berniecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff let us check in early by over an hour and was friendly. The evening staff seemed indifferent, but he was efficient. The shuttle got us to the airport in a timely way and the driver was friendly. The room had a fridge and was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucumber6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Long time waiting for a free shuttle
All you need amenities, free breakfast. Parking for extra charge.
Clean. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shishkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Custom Hotel
Custom Hotel
#208 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAX South Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAX South Travelodge

Property: LAX South Travelodge
Address: 1804 East Sycamore Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LAX South Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your LAX South Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lax South Hotel El Segundo
Travelodge El Segundo
El Segundo Travelodge
El Segundo Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge El Segundo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing