We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past It 20 Years Ago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very, very old decaying motel, somewhat tarted up with brightly colored decorations.

Smells of too many cigarettes and too much cigarette odor killer. Noisy. Out of date. Not properly maintained.

My screen door was ripped. My patio was filthy. The water pressure is low. The towels had to be decades old, thin as paper. The bathroom is 100% 1950's.

They make the bed by putting the sheet on top of the duvet....so your body is next to the duvet, not the sheet......unless this is some new trendy custom, it's crazy. I wonder if they dry clean the duvet after every customer stay? Doubt it.

Service is very good, up to Marriott standards. Parking is free and available. Internet is free and the signal is strong. Only a mile or two to the LAX terminals. One block to a supermarket and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 601 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have only stayed at about 20 different "Courtyards", but of those, this is our very favorite, and when in this part of Southern California, we always try to stay here. By pure chance, we discovered it about 25 years ago. At that time, there was only Mattel across the street, and the "Sizzler" on the corner (Mariposa & Sepulveda). The area was extremely quiet and isolated, and we loved it. This Courtyard always felt like "home".
We had not been there for a few years, and were amazed at the transformation. The lobby is so open and welcoming with lots of comfortable seating areas. Nothing shabby or shoddy about the modernized rooms either. Best of all, there is a lovely little Bistro downstairs (in the lobby), and the food and service are really good. We had not expected much in the way of lobby "dining", but were most pleasantly surprised. Very, very nice customer service in that Bistro.
We stayed for four nights, and enjoyed our stay very much except for one thing. We are "fresh air fiends", and in every hotel we turn off the a/c or the heat, and open the windows or patio doors. We love fresh air (be it hot or cold) circulating in the room. We also sleep with windows and doors open. Unfortunately, we had room #256 for our stay. We had unpacked, settled in, and gone to dinner downstairs. Upon our return, we smelled cigarette smoke in the room. Looked outside, and there were three heavy smokers (could tell from the ashtray) sitting in the "Designated Smoking Area" under our room. We had planned to sit on the balcony with our "nightcap", but that was not possible. These 3 people sat there for over an hour smoking. Just our luck that they were there for our entire stay, and smoked morning, lunchtime, before dinner and after dinner.
We felt that this "Smoking Area" should have been closer to the lobby instead of under a sleeping room. The smoke drifted upwards, and we had to keep our doors closed. Next time (of course, there will be a next time, as we love this Courtyard!), we will make sure to avoid room number 256.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAXCA, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear NYU62,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and your history at our hotel. We are proud to have just celebrated our 26th anniversary in March. We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised with the transformation of our Courtyard since you had been here last.
I have shared your kind comments with our Bistro team regarding their service.
I apologize for the experience that you had with our smoking area. Please contact me or anyone on my team to arrange for a room away from the designated smoking area for your future stays.
I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to having you for the next 25 years at the Courtyard El Segundo.
Sincerely,
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is where you want to stay before you fly out of LAX, the rooms are clean the staff is friendly and for a small charge you can leave your car for up to two weeks when you are away. The shuttle service to the airport runs from 4:00 am to 11:00 pm so if you need to get to the airport at other times you will need to take a taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent a night there after arriving at LAX. The place and the room were both looking pretty new(renovated?) and everything working great. The service at the desk and at the restaurant(specially at the Starbucks/restaurant on the evening was good) was good. Free parking was a bonus as well as the WiFi!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_H_Helsinki_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have stayed here many times on business. the property was recently updated to the new courtyard look. Staff are always polite and make you feel welcome. This courtyard is located in a corporate business park away from the busy streets in the area. That makes is quiet and perfect for a good nights rest.

Room Tip: get an inside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We usually stay at Marriott hotels but this was simply awful. Yes, we knew it was an airport hotel however the rooms are simply not up to Marriott economy brand standards.

The room was filthy, the bed was OK but the worst was literally the bathroom... shower would not stay in the same position and we literally felt in an street motel, rather than a Marriott (Courtyard).

I thought twice about leaving and going to another hotel, but since we checked in late and had a 16h flight the next day, we ended up staying.

If you are looking for an airport close to LAX this is an option, but be warned of the poor room conditions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We wanted a stay near the airport before our early morning flight. Staying at this Courtyard was perfect for us because we could leave our car there and avoid parking charges; also, we could print out our boarding passes. The staff was very pleasant and attentive, including the front desk upon arrival and checkout; the shuttle driver so helpful going and returning. The room was clean, bed comfortable and quiet, All of these assets insure that we, as Marriott point keepers will return and avoid all the stress of LAX.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Segundo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Los Angeles LAX / El Segundo
0.4 mi away
Cambria LAX
Cambria LAX
#5 of 13 in El Segundo
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lax EL Segundo
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo

Address: 2000 East Mariposa Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245-5027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in El Segundo
#5 Business Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range: $133 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo is ideally located near Hermosa Beach and 10 minutes from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Our hotel in El Segundo provides complimentary shuttle service to and from LAX (4:30am - 12am) as well as free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Our state-of-the-art lobby features flexible, inviting work spaces and a GoBoard® digital information center where users can check news, weather and airport conditions. The lobby is also home to The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, our on-site American restaurant serving healthy breakfast and dinner options as well as specialty Starbucks® beverages and evening cocktails. Our LAX hotel is situated near a variety of Fortune 500 company offices, including Chevron, Mattel and Oracle, as well as a number of beautiful local beaches. During downtime, guests can relax in our outdoor swimming pool or stay in shape at our well-equipped fitness center. Book your stay at our Courtyard hotel in El Segundo, CA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Lax/El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Courtyard Los Angeles Lax
Courtyard El Segundo
El Segundo Marriott
El Segundo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing