We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

I needed to spend one night near LAX and booked this hotel based on the positive reviews here at TripAdvisor, as well as a lovely stay recently at a newer Courtyard by Marriott.

I was so disappointed! True, the bedding was covered in clean white sheets, and the toilet, sink, and bathroom countertops were thoroughly clean. But the whole place was run down, and the service was awful. The room decor was dated and in need of replacement. Perhaps they are gradually refurbishing rooms and I just happened to get an old one, who knows.

The front desk staff were virtually mute, minimal eye contact, no sense of "we're glad you're here"! (The one shining exception was the friendly guy who drove me to the airport in their shuttle.) No one mentioned there was a charge for the lobby breakfast buffet...until I was almost done eating! No signs anywhere, no mention by the front desk staff when I inquired about breakfast, etc. $10, and it was really nothing more than you would find at any chain motel -- and fully self-service -- a tub of eggs, a tub of bacon, cold cereal, orange juice, etc.

The jacuzzi was under repair; the hallways were dim and worn out; there were stains of unknown origin on the wallpaper in the bathroom, and a thick ring of rust decay around the shower/tub drain. The neighborhood is not a place where women would walk at night.

And all of this for $189/night AAA rate + tax! If you just need a place to crash near LAX, and can afford it, it's OK. It' s just a disappointment for the money, and not up to the standards I associate with Courtyard by Marrriott.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Run down, poor service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank vallelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    265
    88
    24
    14
See reviews for
156
152
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Let me tell you what happened. The Marriot Hotel I had booked at was oversold and my room was given away. I was devastated. In turn, the manager gave me a room at the Courtyard Marriott El Segundo near LAX and said it was complimentary! I was happier but had to drive about 10 mins to get to the Courtyard Marriot. Arrived with no problems and checked in promptly. The hotel stay was completely free with free breakfasts. Usually, you have to pay for breakfasts. There is a guest laundromat in the hotel which is so useful!

Loved my stay here!

  • Liked — It was a nice family hotel.
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

This hotel has great weekend rates but prices double during the week. It's a little secluded off of Sepulveda Blvd and the peaceful setting really doesn't feel like L.A. The rooms are nice and there are a few stores and restaurants that aren't too far away.

The hotel has a 24 hour gift shop with drinks and snacks but avoid it and go a couple blocks down to Ralph's. I don't know how often they re-stock their shelves but most of the items in the gift shop were well past their expiration date, same can be said for the vending machines on premises.

  • Liked — Quiet peaceful setting in LA, near airport
  • Disliked — All drinks and snacks available at the hotel were stale.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

I checked into the Courtyard the night before my flight, rather than risk a 3+ hour drive to the airport in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised by the plush bed and bedding. The bathroom was sparkling clean and offered an above average selection of toiletries. Towels were thick and lush. The hotel allows guests to leave their cars at the hotel rather than having to park at the airport and a free shuttle is provided. Although the room was more than I had planned on spending, when you figure in the amount you save not having to park at the airport, it was more than reasonable. The only negative was that when I checked in only one elevator was working and there was obviously a repair crew trying to fix the problem. The next morning, as I waited on the 12th floor elevator lobby, it became clear that no elevator was coming. After hiking to the lobby with all my luggage, the desk cleark was unsympathetic and claimed that all of the elevators had only just broken down(?). A message left on my room phone about the elevators would have been helpful in planning when to leave for the airport. That said, I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Liked — Luxurious bedding and included airport parking.
  • Disliked — No elevators the morning I checked out.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 236846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

Wonderful stay!! Everything you could ask for in a hotel. Seemed more upscale with reasonable prices. Rooms were very clean and the lobby was great. A sitting area with fireplace, a office area with internet connections. Seemed like a great place for business travelers. I took my family here and had a great time. The pool area is well kept as is the hot tub. There is a gazebo for outdoor sitting along with a patio/balcony with chairs. Close to a small outdoor mall with eating places such as Sizzler, Subway, El Polo Loco and more. There is also a Ralph's supermarket down the street to fill up the fridge provided in your room with snacks and soda. Very friendly staff to greet you in lobby. If you are touring LA I would highly recomend this hotel.Only about a mile or two from airport. Easy to find. Yet never heard much of the airport traffic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — High priced breakfast buffet
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank titleman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

Hotel and room are quiet and clean. Surrounding area is quiet especially on week-end. It is a good base to visit the LA area by car. Parking is free

Rooms are by Courtyard standard, so no surpise. Clean, fresh and all furnitures are in good shape. Bathroom is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JackCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

The Room: It was really nice--lovely decor, comfortable bed, lots of room. I had a really nice desk and workspace, which was great. I also
had a little balcony (overlooking some office complex parking lot), but somehow it was really nice to wake up to the sun shining in and birds singing in the trees around the parking lot. Pretty quiet. Everything seemed really new and kind of upscale.

The Hotel: Check-in was fine. The don't have a restaurant on-site, just a kind of overpriced little "market", which is really some snacks for sale on the side of the front desk. The breakfast buffet was $11 and featured pretty much what I've had for free at less pricey hotels--waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, cereal, etc. Instead, I went about a block away to Starbucks for a coffee and Ralph's for fresh fruit and other food items. They have a little refrigerator in the room, which came in very handy for breakfast food items. The courtyard was nice to sit in.

Location: Well, it is located in an office/light industrial park. There are nearby fast-food style restaurants (El Pollo Loco comes to mind). However, the nearby town of El Segundo is charming and has some nice restaurants if you are up for a good stroll or jog. It seemed reasonably safe and mellow--I ran through El Segundo and down to the Beach several times during my stay. The beach is kinda industrial too, but pretty enough and there is a nice coastal bike/
jogging path and if you were ambitious, you could get over to Marina Del Rey or some such fancy place.

  • Liked — Lovely Room
  • Disliked — Location (Industrial Park)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SF_egret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
#2 of 13 in El Segundo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo
Address: 2000 E Mariposa Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245-5027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#5 Family Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo in El Segundo, CA, is ideally located near Hermosa Beach and 10 minutes from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Our hotel in El Segundo provides complimentary shuttle service to and from LAX (4:30am - 11pm) as well as free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Our state-of-the-art lobby features flexible, inviting work spaces and a GoBoard digital information center where users can check news, weather and airport conditions. The renovated lobby is also home to The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., our on-site American restaurant serving healthy breakfast and dinner options as well as specialty Starbucks beverages and evening cocktails. Our LAX hotel is situated near a variety of Fortune 500 company offices, including Chevron, Mattel and Oracle, as well as a number of beautiful local beaches. During downtime, guests can relax in our outdoor swimming pool or stay in shape at our well-equipped fitness center. Book your stay at our Courtyard hotel in El Segundo, CA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Lax/El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Courtyard Los Angeles Lax
Courtyard El Segundo
El Segundo Marriott
El Segundo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing