We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, inconsistent food”
Review of Salt Creek Grille

Salt Creek Grille
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Think modern Craftsman meets California casual at Salt Creek Grille. If you're looking for relaxed, upscale dining--it's time to experience Salt Creek Grille. The award-winning Salt Creek Grille features mesquite grilled hand-cut steaks, fresh Pacific seafood, tangy barbeque ribs and Zagat Guide's acclaimed "Best Pork Chop on the Planet". Signature salads, hearty pasta dishes, juicy half-pound burgers also accompany the classic menu. An extensive wine list perfectly complements the classic American fare. Enjoy patio dining, live dinner piano or relax by one of our three very unique cozy outdoor fire pits. Our casual, yet sophisticated, "modern retro-style" atmosphere guarantees an enjoyable experience at Salt Creek Grille. Critics agree that Salt Creek Grille is, "A restaurant for all reasons in all seasons." Come experience Salt Creek Grille's hospitality and impressive offerings that are the talk of the South Bay!
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great bar, inconsistent food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We go to Salt Creek a lot and at times I'd give it a 4 and other times a 3. If you're in the mood to splurge the coffee crusted steak is out of this world. We like to hang in the bar. Nice atmosphere..lively but not too loud. We've heard some great live music at times and fair other times. Nice happy hour as well. Homemade potato chips
are awesome. They have gluten free items on the menu and are pretty good about accommodating requests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    92
    36
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we were looking for something to treat ourselves that was close to the hotel. this was a great find. quick and polite service. very good food and drinks. nice upscale shopping area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank largefamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Grill in Manhattan Beach”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an early dinner here one Friday evening. The place is very popular and reservations are recommended. I thought the food was good, not great. Service was fine. I really can't say anything bad about the place, yet can't bring myself to give it a better rating. For the same price and atmosphere I would go to Tin Roof Bistro.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good Basics”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enjoyed the food in general but a little pricey for the menu options. Terrific service and easy parking. Very busy and popular bar next to the dining area. Standard menu with the standard options at an upscale restaurant. A lot of windows but no scenery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Service, Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We celebrated a friend's birthday at Salt Creek Grille and had a fabulous time. Because we had reservations, we got a better table and white linen. Our waitress was terrific. She took good care of our party, knew the answers to our wine questions, and was attentive without being overbearing. The varied menu has something to please every wallet and palate. I had a sandwich, my wife had the shrimp risotto (which looked fabulous), the birthday girl had baked chicken that looked as good as any I've seen in and French restaurant. The ambiance was fairly typical west L.A. and was in danger of being too noisy, but the acoustics were nicely balanced, resulting in a noise level that didn't encroach on conversation. Salt Creek is definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Creek Grille also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Salt Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing