We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with great patio dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Second City Bistro

Second City Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Second City Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 155 Restaurants in El Segundo
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grand
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place with great patio dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Found this place on Trip Advisor. Was looking for good food near LAX before a flight. Not disappointed. The food was very good and the drinks were excellent. Would definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank joannethev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good food- terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Business dinner here- we had calamari to pick at over martinis which took forever to arrive. The shortrib was tender was well cooked. But the waiter was almost angry to be there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went on a Monday evening and the place was hopping. They managed to fit us into a table on the sheltered patio which was great. The service was friendly and prompt. The spicy trout was exquisite and the chocolate creme brulee was positively wicked. Good selection of wines and beers (only bottled) with emphasis on CA wines. Would definitely return next time I'm in LA.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Tucked away one a side street in El Segundo, Second City Bistro provides a welcome casual dining experience with fine food. We stopped by on a Monday night for a Prix Fixe food/wine paring. The asparagus bisque was light and flavorful, the braised short ribs were taste, albiet a touch dry, and the cheese and berry third course was excellent. The accompanying wines, a flavorful sauvignon blanc nicely complemented the soup. I'v forgotten the variety of red, but it was excellent with the short ribs. The cheese course was set of my a lively sparkling rosé. The front patio is a nice venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Find in El Segundo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Before our relatives left LAX to return home, we arranged to meet at Second City Bistro for an early lunch. My daughter had suggested it because she has dined there before and liked it. Now i am a fan. Our group of six ranged in age from 11 to 80. The menu offered food for all tastes and even diet restrictions. My grandson loved his crab cakes. My husband and I liked our salads. My daughter, son and their father enjoyed their sandwiches, really ample for two people. The food was delicious. The service attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tapbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second City Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Second City Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing