We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Class at High Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: South Douglas Street
Transit: Bus stop out in front of restaurant/Metrorail
Description: Fleming's El Segundo, CA is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are conveniently located in the South Bay, near Manhattan Beach and the LAX airport, off the 405 on Rosecrans Ave.
Dallas
Level Contributor
448 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“High Class at High Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent appetizers, tasty main courses, delicious desserts, attentive wait staff. Everything you need to take your clients to a nice dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    77
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We held a group dinner in a private room in the back of the restaurant on a Saturday evening. The entire restaurant was booked but we were escorted to a private patio for drinks and hors d'oeuvres prior to sitting down to dinner. The food was amazing. I had requested lobster mashed potatoes be available and there was not one bite left after the meal. The service was excellent. Especially Dell. A fantastic experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunny0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Special Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I don't go out too often. When we do, we enjoy a good meal and are willing to pay for it. Flemings is one if those places that you will get a good meal and you will pay for it. We started the meal with pork bellies that wete absolutely delicious. We both had the special which was salmon with crab and two fillets. The only thing that we did not like was the side of asparagus. They were completely over seasoned and over cooked. The noise level was pretty high so unless you are sitting right next to each other, it is z bit difficult to hear. Overall good experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moreno310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nothing special....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Dined her last weekend with my husband and father-in-law....here are my thoughts:

The bread...I am a huge fan of bread at steak places because they get the crust just right. Fleming's has a different kind of thing going on with their soft bread and specialty spreads (garlic cream cheese or something similar?). Not my thing but I can see how others would like it.

I don't eat beef so I ordered the scallops instead. They were just okay. For the price ($20+) I was really just not impressed. My husband had the crab cakes (apparently he's suddenly watching his beef intake) and I had a few bites. I was not a fan as they were mushy and on the greasy side. My FIL had a petite filet which he seemed to like. We also had baked potatoes which were giant and delicious.

My husband ordered the Chocolate Molten Cake for dessert. Again, not my thing but he went to town on it. I'd say it was a hit.

Overall, the food didn't knock my socks off but a semi-vegetarian probably shouldn't be eating at a steak house. Service was great, the place was hopping, and the crowd was nice.

I wouldn't return if my FIL didn't love Fleming's so much! But since he does I have a feeling I'll be back...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ameenadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had heard the name Flemings and thought it might be a good restaurant. When we arrived with our party at six the noise level was unbelievably loud. The noise almost drove us out of the restaurant. Perhaps it is management's job to hire adequate staff, but our waiter was running constantly. . Waiting for our table, we went to the bar. It took us 15 minutes to be served. This was because there was only one bar person taking orders and serving the bar, the rest were serving other customers in the restaurant. At dinner we ordered refills on Chardonnay we had bought at the bar, it never came. We ordered a bottle of wine with dinner, it never came. It literally took us over 2 1/2 hours to eat because of slow service from kitchen and waiter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing