We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient and Easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
Philiadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Convenient and Easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've stayed here twice in the last year when I've had early AM flights out of LAX. Both times I've had spotlessly clean rooms and the staff have been freindly and helpful. I never noticed any airport noise, and the Wifi quality is good. Was only able to try the breakfast once (other flight was too early) but it was a notch above the standard "free" hotel breakfast - good selections in the self-service area (fruits, cereal, breads, etc.) and quick cook to order eggs (note that it isn't always included in the room rate, though). Parking is free, the hotel is easy to get to, and it's easy to get from here to the rental returns. (I usually have a rental car, so I haven't used their shuttles - but on my last trip with a co-worker who was on an earlier flight, she mentioned that the shuttle service was quick and easy). So when I know I'm flying out of LAX, I look for this property in my corporate-approved options, becuase it's reliable and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    443
    91
    45
    20
See reviews for
366
415
139
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from the Hilton Garden and found it perfect for what we needed.

From Australia my husband and I were here for a week whilst doing the theme parks, Hollywood etc all the tourist things and had a vehicle which made it very easy to get around (the traffic in LA however was another story).

Pros: Room was fine, bed was comfy, shower pressure perfect, spa and pool downstairs were great, breakfast was plentyful and heaps of variety including chefs that cook your eggs just the way you like them. Plenty of free parking. We even saw our first squirel running round the trees in the carpark. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Supermarket just down the road and plenty of takeaways and restaurants in the same area if you don't want to dine in the restaurant which had a great selection of meals.

Cons: I hate to do the cons but there was no tea making facilities in the room, there was a coffee pot which my husband loved me getting up to make him freshly brewed coffee but no jug to boil water or tea bags. There was a microwave so we just went down the local supermarket and stocked up and heated the water in the microwave.
The only other thing was the curtains....there were two curtains on each side of the window that were just there for show. When I went to close them, they didn't as they were only half size and the curtain rod didn't go all the way across. This was disappointing as when you are on holiday you generally like to sleep in and not be woken by the sunlight shining in the window.

Other than that we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Thanks Hilton!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Bfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, NJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

You wouldn't think a place by an international airport, an air force base, and with a train line at the corner would be quiet, but it was! It was clean, comfortable and had a lovely staff (thank you Daniel) Shuttle was convenient allowing us to return or rental car the day before checking out, saving us time and money. Easy to get to all the major roadways north and south. Close to Manhattan beach and Santa Monica. It was in a business area, but did have a park where kids were playing soccer every day, even though it was raining. Would stay again next time, but it's already booked!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Its hard to find anything wrong about this hotel. Its big... lots of rooms. Staff at front desk are professional and very nice. Beautiful lobby area. Rooms are a nice size and have everything you need: Fridge, microwave, hair dryer, good sized flat panel TV with tons of channels, super comfortable beds, etc. Even though its near LAX, its just far enough away that its kind of quiet and the streets are not busy around the hotel. What makes this hotel a better choice that all the other hotel located closer to LAX, is parking. Parking at this hotel is plentiful and FREE. Those other hotels have valet parking or a nightly parking charge of up to $30/night. Not only is parking free here but you can park near anywhere around the hotel to minimize the walk to your room. No long journeys from a parking garage to a elevator and up 10 floors to your room! Pool area looked very nice and the gym had brand new treadmills, an elliptical, a universal weights and a set of bar bells. Location of hotel is just down the street from some food options including a grocery store. Thats another advantage that the hotels closer to LAX don't have. The only complaint I can think of is that the gym is not 24 hours... for some reason they close it at 10pm. Overall... an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Gym is located on 1st floor, far west side of hotel. If you plan to use it, ask for a room nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in late Nov 2012 on a layover between KUL and SFO. At Tom Bradley, we had to ask Information to call the shuttle because the hotel does not make scheduled pick-ups (trips TO the airport, however, leave every half hour from 0430). The bus took 30 mins to arrive, despite the hotel being less than 10 mins drive away. As I could see only 2 buses parked at the hotel, I can imagine how pickup can be a problem if there are several requests at the same time, because my delay was due to a guest being picked up from Long Beach! Several other hotel chains made a few pick ups in the time it took for the Hilton Garden Inn bus to come to us. On the bright side, we were the only guests while the other chains had significantly more passengers and airline crew jostling for a place on the bus.
Room was comfy, clean and quiet despite ours being right next to the Metro track. Hundreds of paid and free channels on the LCD tv, which helped while away the jet lag.
The 24 hour business centre with free internet and printing helped with our airline check in and boarding passes. There is also free wifi in the room.
There are restaurants about 800 metres away - a Sizzlers, El Pollo Loco and Subway among others. We ate dinner at a Kebab shop which had halal meat options.
On our date of departure, we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant which was good value at $11.99 for adults, half price for kids. Check-out was swift, and the shuttle departed punctually on the half-hour.
Quite a good hotel, will stay here if having to transit at LAX in future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a fairly standard Hilton Garden Inn. It was conveniently situated, being just 5 minutes from Los Angeles airport and the car hire locations. The reception area was very nice and large, with an adjacent restaurant which served good food. The beds were very comfortable, and free parking was available. On the negative side, the hotel was busy 24hrs a day (to be expected being so close to the airport); our room was a little on the dark side; and, outside of the reception/restaurant, I felt the hotel was a little tired in places. All in all, I would rate this hotel as average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The good: great staff (unbelievable really), best breakfast from almost any hotel that we have evey stayed at, clean rooms. Make sure you book breakfast with the room.
The bad: parking (there's only so much room), the mythical adjusting comfort beds (just like unicorns, some people swear that they exist), and no safes. The beds have dials on them which are supposed to change the comfort setting. After plopping down on a rock covered with a blanket (a.k.a the bed), it was clear that neither was in good working order and could not be fixed. Additionally, it is rare not to find in-room safes these days but there were none here. No real beef with this place because is is great in so many ways, just a couple of suggestions that would make them stand out even more. Definately recommended.

Room Tip: second and third floor floor rooms add a sense of security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
#2 of 13 in El Segundo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#83 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
Address: 2100 East Mariposa Avenue, El Segundo, CA 90245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lax/El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Hilton Garden Inn El Segundo
Hilton El Segundo
El Segundo Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing