We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfy, close to LAX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Comfy, close to LAX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in late Nov 2012 on a layover between KUL and SFO. At Tom Bradley, we had to ask Information to call the shuttle because the hotel does not make scheduled pick-ups (trips TO the airport, however, leave every half hour from 0430). The bus took 30 mins to arrive, despite the hotel being less than 10 mins drive away. As I could see only 2 buses parked at the hotel, I can imagine how pickup can be a problem if there are several requests at the same time, because my delay was due to a guest being picked up from Long Beach! Several other hotel chains made a few pick ups in the time it took for the Hilton Garden Inn bus to come to us. On the bright side, we were the only guests while the other chains had significantly more passengers and airline crew jostling for a place on the bus.
Room was comfy, clean and quiet despite ours being right next to the Metro track. Hundreds of paid and free channels on the LCD tv, which helped while away the jet lag.
The 24 hour business centre with free internet and printing helped with our airline check in and boarding passes. There is also free wifi in the room.
There are restaurants about 800 metres away - a Sizzlers, El Pollo Loco and Subway among others. We ate dinner at a Kebab shop which had halal meat options.
On our date of departure, we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant which was good value at $11.99 for adults, half price for kids. Check-out was swift, and the shuttle departed punctually on the half-hour.
Quite a good hotel, will stay here if having to transit at LAX in future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    412
    81
    44
    18
See reviews for
340
386
130
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a fairly standard Hilton Garden Inn. It was conveniently situated, being just 5 minutes from Los Angeles airport and the car hire locations. The reception area was very nice and large, with an adjacent restaurant which served good food. The beds were very comfortable, and free parking was available. On the negative side, the hotel was busy 24hrs a day (to be expected being so close to the airport); our room was a little on the dark side; and, outside of the reception/restaurant, I felt the hotel was a little tired in places. All in all, I would rate this hotel as average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The good: great staff (unbelievable really), best breakfast from almost any hotel that we have evey stayed at, clean rooms. Make sure you book breakfast with the room.
The bad: parking (there's only so much room), the mythical adjusting comfort beds (just like unicorns, some people swear that they exist), and no safes. The beds have dials on them which are supposed to change the comfort setting. After plopping down on a rock covered with a blanket (a.k.a the bed), it was clear that neither was in good working order and could not be fixed. Additionally, it is rare not to find in-room safes these days but there were none here. No real beef with this place because is is great in so many ways, just a couple of suggestions that would make them stand out even more. Definately recommended.

Room Tip: second and third floor floor rooms add a sense of security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagsells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - needed to see family in the area as well as Disneyland/Universal. They could not check-us in to the connecting rooms that we had requested passed 3 pm (check-in time), so we just took what was available. The rooms were nice, standard for these group of hotels. The front desk offered us free sodas/snacks from the shop due to our inconvenience. We had the breakfast plan, and would recommend that to people who enjoy good breakfast. Cook-to-order eggs, waffles, fruits were great. On one evening we drove from Universal around 5:30 pm, it took us 1.5 hours to get back! So, won't recommend this place if you plan to visit downtown and return during rush-hours. Otherwise, this was a fantastic stay and served our purpose. The price, free parking and service is hard to beat in LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhattaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

FREE parking, excellent staff from housekeeping to front desk to restaurant, extremely clean rooms, beautiful rooms and landscaping, amply parking, conveniently located, incredibly comfortable beds. The only downfall to this hotel is the lack of insulation between rooms. We stayed in a cheaper hotel in Anaheim during this trip in a horrible room but only heard our neighbors slightly. Our room at the Hilton Garden Inn we were awoken during the night by our neighbors on both nights speaking at a normal conversational level. We loved the hotel and the location so we would still recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSFanPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love HGI's cuz they are small enough to be homey but still provide most of the amenities I particularly like at a consistently high level of quality and usually at a relatively modest price: comfy beds, nice baths, towels and amenities, frig, microwave, free in-room wifi, good selection of cable TV channels, pool, hot tub and fitness center, on site restaurant and great hot breakfasts. This location is pricier than most --I assume due to high demand by longer-stay biz customers thx to it's location next to a metro stop, free airport shuttle, free parking, heated outdoor pool and outstanding hot jacuzzi plus a full range of cable channels--literally hundreds to choose from--in an area where even 4 star hotels generally fall short on customer satisfaction. By far the best thing about HGI-LAX/ES is its truly outstanding staff. Literally everyone I came in contact with from the shuttle driver, to front desk, to maintenance to wait and kitchen staff to housekeeping were exceptionally welcoming and genuinely warm, friendly and helpful. They also have one of the best hot tubs with HOT water and STRONG jets--so welcome after a long flite or hard day at work or sightseeing. The pool was lovely and clean and warm enough to enjoy even with the cooler than normal evening temps. The cobb salad I had for lunch, tho more expensive than most casual eateries, was huge and fresh and the usual HGI combo buffet+made-to-order eggs for breakfast was also quite good tho again, several dollars more than what I usually pay for the same breakfast in their Florida locations (could've had it free with my Gold status but prefer to earn pts instead). The biggest/ONLY real con is the fact that there are no restaurants or shops within easy walking distance so I would recommend a car for longer stays as their restaurant menu is limited. It was perfect for me use my HH points for a free nite to rest after long flite from China so didn't mind spending more to eat there as it all counts for more points to use toward future stays. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: there is some noise via adjoining and hall doors so pick an end room if this might bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zildana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All the positive reviews on Trip Advisor are true about this hotel!!! We booked a night at the beginning of our L.A. adventure and then again for our last night , to be close to LAX.
Our flight arrived at 11:30 pm, and we were on the shuttle within 10 minutes! After a 5 minute ride, we were dropped off at reception and greeted nicely; even offered a choice of rooms . We chose to be furthest away from the elevators and were assigned a room in the prototype section. This room looked very European , with a beautiful modern bathroom. The shower was a large walk-in type; no tub. There was a fridge and safe . Towels were very fluffy and good quality. No noise issues . As HH Gold members, we were offered 2 vouchers for full hot breakfast, which was a very good perk.
In the morning we took the public transportation right next door to this hotel. For $6.00 we transferred 3 times, got to Hollywood in about 80 minutes, and then still had the use of this day pass until midnight so we did some touring .
After our stay in L.A., we took the Flyaway bus back to LAX, called the shuttle for pick-up and it arrived in 5 minutes!
Another huge bonus of this hotel is that they offer the shuttle to take you within a 3 mile radius, so we were able to go to Manhattan Beach to watch the sunset, eat dinner, then get the shuttle again to drop us off at the mall. We called from the mall an hour later and once again the shuttle picked us up and brought us back to the hotel for the night. Excellent service!
Nice heated pool in a quiet area surrounded by greenery.
Great cookies in the evening at reception!
In the morning the airport shuttle goes on the hour and the half hour. We were waiting at 8:50 for the 9 a.m. shuttle and it arrived right on time.
One of the most important assets of this hotel is the staff! They are so friendly and helpful, and will make sure if anything is not right the will make it right.
Thank you to all the staff for helping make our stays so pleasant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
#2 of 12 in El Segundo
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 3,837 reviews
LAX Area
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
Address: 2100 E Mariposa Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Business Hotel in El Segundo
#1 Family Hotel in El Segundo
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lax/El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Hilton Garden Inn El Segundo
Hilton El Segundo
El Segundo Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing