We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate prior to a flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to a flight home after our family cruise out of LA. The hotel is about five minutes from LAX. There is some shopping and restaurants in nearby Manhattan Beach, but nothing in walking distance. To get to the Beverly Hills, or Westwood area of LA is about 20-25 minutes on the Santa Monica freeway.

The hotel staff was welcoming and friendly. We obtained an upgrade as we are loyal customers of the Residence Inn, so we had a two bedroom suite. The room was spacious however, somewhat dated with some stains on the carpet and in some need of TLC although generally clean. There was a complaint from a more selective member of our party concerning the cleanliness and quality of the towels supplied in the bathroom.

The gym had three tread mills, but no weight equipment or machines. This is a definite downer for the fitness conscious for extended stays.
ing
I would not recommend this hotel for an extended stay when visit the LA area and tourist sites. However, for one or two night stay prior to a flight or for a conference, it is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

Room was fine except it smelled so bad our clothes carried the stench after we left. We stayed in room 134 which apparently used to be a smoking room as it smelled heavily of stale smoke. I should have requested a new room, but we got in late and were tired after a long flight and just wanted to sleep. I find this particularly bad form as Marriott advertises its smoke free policy as a big selling point.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millbilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel serves it's purpose, in providing a night in an airport hotel after a long haul flight - I would not want to stay there any longer. The free shuttle bus didn't seem to be operating when we arrived at LAX, nor was there a courtesy phone to phone the hotel, as described in the hotel information. If you are not from the USA ,and therefore do not have a USA cellphone, this makes for an expensive call. Luckily an airport worked phoned for us, and we were advised to take a taxi, which the hotel paid for on arrival. The free breakfast was very good, the free tea also (unfortunately we got the meatloaf day - which was generally not very popular with my family!). The place was generally clean and the staff ok. All in all an adequate stay at a no frills kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller693789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We spent a week in this hotel and it was just great : the 2 bedrooms suite was ideal for our familly , the staff always very helpful, the free breakfast and the free dinner (Monday to Thursday) were a delight (and a relief money wise) , the car park is free and large enough, it is very quiet and close from everything in LA.
If I had to go back to LA , I will definitively go back to the Residence Inn LAX El Segundo.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roybe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Based on the reviews of other travelers and having stayed at other Residence Inns in the past we chose this hotel close to LAX. The room was spotless and very quiet (4th floor). The only complaints are that the towels were very gray and limp, sofa and chair were not very comfortable for relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family (2 adults, 2 8-yr olds, 5-yr old) stayed for one night before our departure from LAX. I reserved a king-bed with a sofa-bed suite.

The room was very large, very nicely decorated, and very clean. We appreciated the free parking near LAX (where other hotels charge $20 to park!) and a free buffet breakfast, which was very good.

However....

After a long day site-seeing and being with family, we checked in after 8pm, and wanted only to go to bed as our flight was leaving early.

We pulled out the sofabed, and the bed slanted toward where the head would be. My husband tried to fix it, and we ended up raising it by putting the seat cushion underneath.

We then learned that the bag of linens only contained a blanket and pillow. We called the front desk, and sheets were delievered quickly.

And lastly, the bathroom door latch and lock were broken.

If we weren't so tired, we probably would have switched rooms. I did inform the desk clerk upon check out of these problems, and she said she would adjust our bill.

Would all these things turn us away from staying here again? No. They were minor annoyances. The hotel was really very nice, close to LAX, and very well priced. I just hope on our next visit we'll notice a little more TLC.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed here for six nights and my back may not recover soon. The beds here are too soft and very uncomfortable for two people. The sofa sleeper will not accommodate an adult (I am only 5' 3" and when I tried to sleep there, my feet hung over the edge). The maid service is mediocre (forgot our towels one day, beds are very sloppily made and the sheets all come off easily as you sleep each night). There is a good free breakfast buffet with a lot of selection and it is very convenient to LAX and in a quiet neighborhood. We stayed in a two bedroom unit and although it was nice for everyone to have privacy and to have two baths, the place is very compact and there is little room to walk around the furniture or to store clothing or open suitcases. the other problem for us is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. Only one computer can hook up and the network cord they give you is so short, you have to stay right near the plug. This was a problem since we have two computers and both like to work at the same time. I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jro182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Segundo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
0.2 mi away
Cambria LAX
Cambria LAX
#5 of 13 in El Segundo
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lax EL Segundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles International Airport South
1 mi away
Hyatt House Los Angeles/El Segundo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
#3 of 13 in El Segundo
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo

Address: 2135 E El Segundo Blvd, El Segundo, CA 90245-4503 (Formerly Residence Inn LAX El Segundo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Segundo
#2 Family Hotel in El Segundo
#3 Business Hotel in El Segundo
Price Range: $154 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Lax El Segundo Hotel El Segundo
Residence Inn El Segundo
El Segundo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing