We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waiter was awesome”

Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in El Portal
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
La Honda, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“waiter was awesome”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having never dined there, we weren't sure what to expect. The service was great (except slow in charging us at end of meal). The bartender at nearby bar said we could take our drinks from there into the restaurant, and he was really really patient and nice. Our waiter was great (we were a large, dirty post-half-dome hiking party of 11 people), he helped us choose meals and was quite honest. We asked about the duck and he said it was hit or miss, depending on who was cooking, and that evening he didn't recommend it because it was coming out overcooked in his opinion... and gave other great recommendations when we asked "this dish, or this one?" The food was great--halibut, rib eye steaks (though overcooked), soups, and salads were great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    138
    118
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very long wait to be seated, order incorrect and service very slow”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We understood the long wait to be seated, and were happy to stay in the bar until seated. Entree came quickly, though waiting over 1hr and 28 minutes for mains to arrive and they were not correct. When correct order did arrive one of the mains was raw, the other was
over cooked. Sent both back, 28 minutes later with people arriving, served and left we finally served what we ordered. Food was tasty, just shocking service. Recommend buying food to prepare yourself if you are staying at the lodge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fmcmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food is good, and a good value. There are lots of options, if you vegan or gluten free. They don't offer actual gluten-free breads or pasta, etc., but there are things like yogurt and fresh fruit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CleveandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food long wait”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Good food but we waited an hour and half to get a table and then another hour to get our food - recommend you pick up the waiting list buzzer and then go for a swim in the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PALZ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Last food before Yosemite"”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The breakfast buffet has the usual selection: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, oatmeal, etc. It's a little expensive at almost $10/person. But let's be honest - the price is because the options that close to the park are pretty limited. The food was hot and the coffee was good. And that's all you need to start your day at Yosemite!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovedMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite View Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing