We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hotel is very close to entrance of the park. It's basic, don't expect more. The sheets seemed cleaned, but who knows we were so tired from hiking. One bonus was across the street their was access to the river for a quick swim. I would stay at the Yosemite View just bc it's closer if they have availability. Yosemite View Lodge also has a pizza place. The food at Cedar Lodge was better at the casual diner than their restaurant. It was basically burgers and fries.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Cedar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This resort offers everything. Diner, bar, pool in and outside, small shop, etc. They have to, since in a radius of 35 miles you can't find anything else. Location in relation to yosemite is perfect.
Room was relatively clean. Shower was very low but ok.
WiFi however is ridiculously priced at about $10 per device per 24h. They have a 3rd party handle this.
Alltogether Cedar lodge is what you may expect for the price you pay.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KramerremarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

So you want a budget option when visiting Yosemite but don't fancy camping. Cedar Lodge fits the bill (although 'budget' doesn't truly exist round here). The rooms have all the basics including effective but noisy air con, and the hotel's shop provides essentials for snacks and breakfast items. The bar/cafe is adequate but can get very busy. There are 2 pools, great for cooling off after a warm day in the Park. However, the welcome was non-existent - the young man at the front desk was unfriendly, unintelligible, and seemed impatient wen I had to check the registration of my hire car. Not great after a long day on the road. We then had to drag our heavy suitcases up two short flights of stairs - of which had not been warned.

Room Tip: One on the ground floor would be better.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracey733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel is exactly what we expected, offering a convenient location for Yosemite National Park. The room was clean and comfortable and good value for money...The rooms are a little tired needing a bit of TLC and the air-conditioning noisy but this did not put us off.

We enjoyed breakfast one morning in the hotel and found it good and the service friendly. There is a shop on site that I thought was well stocked for its size, we were able to pull a dinner together one evening when we did not fancy the bar.

For its location and value alone I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay when visiting the national park.... It does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

11 hours was more than enough time to spend in this dump!
Arrived at 8 pm. Tired from an 8 hour drive from Vegas. Just wanted Somethin to eat and get a good night's sleep.
We ate in the restraunt. Very basic food, served by extremely rude staff.
The room..... well. Air con sounded like a freight train with broken wheel bearings. Couldn't get any sleep.
The following morning, had a freezing cold shower. .... no hot water.
If you take my advice, sleep in your car!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Cedar Lodge offers clean and convenient accommodation for those visiting Yosemite National Park. During our stay, my husband and I found the rooms clean and comfortable (if a little dated) and the staff friendly. We ate off the bar menu most evenings during our stay and found the food and service pleasing. As mentioned in other reviews Cedar Lodge is relatively 'off grid' in terms of phone signal (none) and there is only Wifi provided by an external agency which we thought was costly and was rumoured to be slow.
Cedar Lodge also has a shop which stocks all foodie essentials, their trail mix bags are great value and incredibly tasty- a real highlight) as well as souvenirs etc.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The cedar lodge is located in a very remote valley close to the entrance of yosemite national park. There is no cell phone connection and you have to pay for an internet connection which is rather slow . The setting of the hotel is very nice but the restaurant is not good. The service is a little unfriendly, especially in the morning. The rooms are a bit outdated bet clean and they have all you need. However if you are here soleley to visit the park and dont mind being of the grid for a moment this might be something for you.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank laurensdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,859 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
499 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $94 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing