We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of few options reasonably close to Yosemite NP” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of few options reasonably close to Yosemite NP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose Cedar Lodge because of its proximity to Yosemite NP and because we wanted a kitchenette. We stayed facing the hill behind the motel, and it was quiet, not too packed as it was March 21st. Lynn checked us in and was nice and efficient handling our requests for top floor away from highway noise. We were in a 'junior suite'. There wasn't much 'sweety'' about it except the selections of soap, and shampoos. The bedroom had 2 queens and they seemed very soft when I sat on it. Amazingly we had a great nights sleep on those beds. The tub/toilet was in its own room and were very clean, great water pressure. The single sink vanity was plenty wide for a cosmetic bag and shaving kit and hair tools. The kitchenette left much to be desired. All the knobs for the cupboards were sticky, one of the stovetop burners didn't work and the selection of cups was laughable, 3 little brown plastic restaurant juice cups! Mismatched cutlery, but at least 4 settings of each. There was a dish drainer but no drip pan for it. I used my own pan to make our breakfast. The only thing going for that kitchen was a full size refer that worked well and a microwave that was clean inside. The television worked very poorly, most stations did not come in well at all. When we first came in the room, the bedroom was very warm and stuffy. We fiddled with the a/c and it appeared to not work. Maintenance came to check it and promised to send a replacement conditioner. They arrived within 10 minutes with a new unit and were puzzled when they went in the room as the existing unit finally kicked in and was doing its job well. Don't expect any continental breakfast, evidently the restaurant didn't want to have competition with the hotel serving their guests a bite to eat in the morning and this was the transition weekend for the restaurant opening for the season. The lodges lobby did have a microwave available for guests to use and had a lovely gift shop. All in all, the place was tolerable because of the price and location. Staff was nice, attentive to our requests and prompt to show up to our room. Don't expect much in the way of the room though.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    605
    750
    300
    149
See reviews for
602
858
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights arrived after a twelve hour drive from death valley and we're told to go straight to the restaurant before checking in as they stopped serving food at eight thirty!? lots of people were Still arriving later having done the same trip and were unable to eat, surely the hotel realises this happens and could keep the restaurant open longer. If you are lucky you can find a parking space near your room.
The room itself was dark and had a damp and dank feel to it, the bed sheets felt greasy, the fridge was so noisy we had to unplug it. There was no hot water in the evening or even the next morning. Very dissatisfied

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank oldgreyfergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

When I talk about perfection, I'm referring to Yosemite National Park. However Cedar Lodge is in a great position for those who can't get accommodation inside the Park. The rooms are clean and well-appointed as well as being a good size.
The breakfast options are pretty good with a large array of food to choose from. In regard to dinner, if you like salads and foods of the more healthy variety you may be disappointed as much of the food available at night seems to centre around deep fried selections. Being where it is there is very little choice of other places to eat. We only found a pizza place a little further up the road.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Overall I would recommend Cedar Lodge as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biskitabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This motel was nice and clean the staff very friendly and helpful. The pool and spa was nice, clean and relaxing.

The restaurant next to the motel is fair to poor depending on what you order. The breakfast buffet the first day was fair and the second it was poor.

There are very few options for eating in the area, so you are pretty much at their mercy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb5331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay somewhere close to Yosemite so that it wasn't too long a drive into the park each day. I done a bit of research on the web and put the negative comments down to people expecting too much - boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong the staff were lovely however the bedding was old and in desperate need of replacing, we had wires hanging out of our air conditioning unit and the restaurant/eatery was terrible. Also it was quite expensive (we paid not even half the price to stay in mariposa one night at a great little motel - which was only 20 minutes away). I must mention again though that the staff were lovely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank kirp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for several nights on a trip to Yosemite. This was my second time at Cedar lodge. The location is great--not far from the entrance to Yosemite on 140 with a much better price than staying in the park. The rooms are comfortable and the staff accommodating. One night we had some noisy young neighbors next to us and the lodge was very helpful by letting us switch rooms. There are a few food options at the lodge for dinner. Would recommend heading up the street to Yosemite view hotel (I think that's the name) for breakfast buffet--the continental breakfast at the lodge is very simple and was not going to be super filling for a day of hiking. Indoor and outdoor pool would be a plus for families too! Will definitely come back to Cedar Lodge on our next Yosemite trip!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXbuckeye8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The main plus point is that it is near to the park. The room was clean and the bathroom was just fine. The rooms are dark and the windows open in the lobby. The furniture is old and the TV too. The AC makes a lot of noise, really frustrating. The restaurant is ok but overpriced. If you just want to sleep after long day at yosemite then its just fine.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rupen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing