We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but staff need training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a Tour USA trip organised by American Sky so can't comment directly on value as I don't know how much the room cost. We arrived there mid evening after having driven over 350 miles from Death Valley and then explored the Park. Very tired, wanted a shower, food and a few drinks. The welcome from the receptionist was almost a joke, I expected someone with a hidden camera to leap ot and announce Candid Camera or the like. Everything delivered in a monotone robotic voice, boy was she bored. Get past that and it wasn't too bad, fit for purpose as they say. Rooms were obviously old but roomy and clean, everything worked and we had a reasonable meal followed by a few drinks served by the very opposite of the receptionist, he was helpful and informative. Well done that man! Parking was free, no free wi-fi in fact no wi-fi in the room at all, only available in the lobby for a price which wasn't worth it. No compimentary breakfast but I wasn't expecting one so I won't deduct any points. Slept well and moved on, did the job for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The lobby seems some what old and a filled with a lot different accessories. Wifi is possible in the lobby - you have to make an account and pay about $10.
The room looked surprisingly neat compared to the impression you get in the lobby. Bathroom was a bit old, but it was clean and I had a wonderfull bed. Always nice after a long day at Yosemite.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs Mandy -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Cool place near Yosemite, obviously past it's heydays but very quirky never the less, large rooms, 2 pools, activity room all set in super cool location, bar man with moustache extremely friendly and really made our stay memorable. Food ok, no wifi, but who cares!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank FD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Awful! Basic room, which we expected, but we are convinced the sheets on the bed had not been changed and the towels looked dirty, old and worn. Staff were ok, but not welcoming. Our biggest issue was with the main restaurant. The food was virtually inedible and the waiter really couldn't be bothered with us. We were reluctant to leave a tip, but observed the etiquette to leave the minimum 10%. In the morning our front tyre had been let down. Can't prove who did it, but we know it was deliberate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. We paid $656 for 4 nights which we thought was very reasonable. We weren't prepared to pay the extra money to stay in the park. Room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated and the lack of a lift would certainly be a problem to some when carrying luggage up the stairs. We ate breakfast at Yosemite each day but had dinner in one of the two restaurants each night. I preferred the diner/bar eatery which was the cheaper of the two. Again staff friendly and
helpful in both places. Unfortunately Yosemite closed yesterday due to issues within the Government so our last day wasn't as good as it could have been. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bxsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

For the high price of the room I expected more. Three lights were out, the hairdryer didn't work and the battery cover for the remote had gone and been taped up haphazardly. The restaurant seemed like a fast food joint and was just adequate. Due to the small number of hotels within close proximity to Yosemite, I expect the guests are on one off stays and hence the hotel is not too bothered about the quality provided for the money. Therefore, I would urge guests to look at other options before booking here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJeffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not the dearest we paid but second dearest at $187 a night for 7 nights for the room only. We had a fridge so we bought food in for our breakfasts and lunches. The shop here was expensive. The shop in Yosemite Valley in the NP was cheaper! however I would advise you stock up well before the western park entrance as there is nothing for an hour driving west from El Portal. We did a hike in Kings Canyon and only left there at !7.00 so could not stock up on food until we arrived and forgot about it en route. Having said that I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Yosemite. It is only 20 minutes to the National park from here and 35 to the visitor centre in the valley. The senior manageress was very helpful and checked us in swiftly. The room was very clean and comfortable with a TV, fridge and a nice bathroom.
The restaurant was ok too and we found enough variety for 6 night's meals. On whole nicely cooked and presented.most meals include the soup- only average- but a lovely salad bar. Service did vary from waiting on person to waiting on person. One or two brought the main course before we had finished our starter. This happened quite frequently throughout California. The only other slight niggles were $9 expected to use the wi fi, no chance it should be free like elsewhere. Also the A/C was noisy and we had to turn it off most nights to get to sleep. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,943 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,692 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $92 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing