We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit Yosemite and on route Vegas, An erry location but would recommended. The bar was brilliant and also the pub food which in my mind was the best feature of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    627
    770
    312
    159
See reviews for
624
886
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
289 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Yosemite and had read mixed reviews of this motel. It is a vast complex but so is Yosemite View Lodge. There were two pools - one indoor and one outdoor with a hot tub by the inside pool. Both pools were very cold. Our room was nice.

This motel is only 8 miles from the park entrance on a quiet road so very convenient for visiting Yosemite. If I had the choice I think I would stay at Yosemite View - it is only 2 miles from the park entrance. We ate at Yosemite View - one night in their restaurant where the service was very slow . and also at the pizza place which had outside tables (very nice).

Our one complaint was having to pay something like $9 for wi fi. This was about the only place that charged in our six week road trip.

We did think it was quite expensive for what it was but I suppose it is down to supply and demand and there are only two motels on this road into Yosemite. We were pleased to find anywhere to stay at relatively short notice without having to drive miles to do Yosemite.

I wouldn't say that the staff were rude or unfriendly just not as friendly as other motels we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a good spot to stay overnight if you're looking to explore Yosemite Valley and Glacier Point for the day. The hotel is close to the park and you can be at the park entrance in about 15 minutes or so. The rooms here are clean, spacious, and relatively quiet. The room we booked for 2 people had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa - more than enough room and quite affordable at about $120. Check-in was very quick at under 1 minute. The next closest hotel is a few miles away in the direction of Yosemite. There's a restaurant attached to the hotel - dinner here was average. The restaurant was divided into several mini-restaurants for families with kids, a bar, and a dining room. Overall, this is not a bad option for Yosemite if you intend to spend a night or 2 while exploring the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Cedar Lodge had nice staff and the location is perfect for those wanting to visit Yosemite. It was about 15-20 minutes from the Yosemite entrance. Althought the location was good, the accomodations were not. I had 3 spiders in my bed when I pulled back the blanket and the musky smell was difficult to deal with. The AC was really loud and it was hard to sleep at night with it on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Llanbedr, Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

That is the most positive thing about Cedar Lodge. The rooms are fine, the food is OK, but it is all a bit soulless and as other people have said the staff are not particularly welcoming. It is irritating to have to pay for WiFi - only in the lobby and because it is right on the main road, there is nothing else around. Perhaps they are taking advantage of that fact a little but too much. stay there as it is relatively cheap, clean, close to the park entrance. but don't expect too much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable but basic. Nice stay and good location, just a short drive into the park. The food at the on site restaurant and bar wasn't great but there aren't many options around so you're pretty limited. Over cooked chicken and fries in a basket and that's about it. There is a nice outdoor pool which was nice to get back to after long walks in the park!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

With 200 ish rooms the reception area is usually pretty busy, we arrived after a 600 mile drive from Elko, Nevada via Sacramento due to the 120 being closed for the Rim Fire. Staff were efficient if not overly friendly but I'll take that after 11 hours of driving.

Rooms are not that large but the beds were fine, the only option I had when booking was a standard 2 Queens. Only two of us staying here for 2 nights for our Yosemite visit.

WiFi is only supposed to be available in the lobby but as our room was just above and behind the lobby the connection was good - although we were not too happy at paying $9.99 for connecting a single device for 24 hours. We made the most of this though by switching devices as one person uploaded and chose photos for adding to FB whilst the other checked their emails etc, think we got as much value for the $ there.

Dining options are the Sports Bar and the Dining Room, the Sports Bar is pretty basic fare and over priced, needs a refurb and the bar was slow with only one person serving and plenty of people just sat right at the bar clogging up access. First night we had a quick meal in the Sports Bar and headed back to our room for a beer from the cooler.

We were up early and headed out at 0730 so missed breakfast at the motel in favour of missing the crowds and brunch in the park. We were so early in fact that the rangers were not manning the park gates, we had bought an Annual Pass at Yellowstone so didn't feel guilty. Got to see a lot of the park before the crowds arrived.

We spent about 11 hours in the park and driving up to Glacier Point and got back to the motel for about 1830. Had a good diner at the Dining Room / restaurant, the Beef Short Ribs were excellent and the server made a good choice on the wine.

Would stay again as you can get into Yosemite within 20 minutes. Paid $350 for two nights in a double queen room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
376 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,777 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing