We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant Surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We landed at the Cedar Lodge by fate. We had originally planned on staying in a yurt at a campground near the 120 entrance to the park, but the fire burned it down and closed 120, so we decided to just drive 140 and see what we could find, which led us to the cedar lodge.

Price was fantastic ($100/night) although we were there during the fire, after labor day and during the mid-week...I hear it runs up to $250 during peak season. Room was large and clean, and had a fridge and outdoor porch. Another odd feature, was a 2 person shower and jet tub. We laughed about it at first, but loved it after 12 hours of hikng through the dusty park and both got to clean up at the same time.

Bottom line, is this a 4 or 5 star hotel? No, but neither is anything else around Yosemite...This is actually on the higher end of hotels we checked out in the area, and a solid 3 in my book, and location is 10 minutes from the park entrance. Check out my pics, we thought it was great for the price

Room Tip: ask for the 2 man tub and shower...we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    543
    661
    264
    126
See reviews for
509
769
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located to base a more than 1 day visit to Yosemite. I found the room to be on the expensive side, but I'm our stay was during the busy season. The room was very good in size with a comfortable bed, however the towels were very old and thin. There was no cell service in the area, but they did offer internet service for a sizable fee which could only be accessed from the lobby. The restaurant next door had good food with decent pricing. They did have 2 pools which we did not use. Yosemite is a beautiful place (we were there before the fires) and the location was the main reason for us picking this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesmanBob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived here after a 300 mile detour from Death Valley to Yosemite due to the Yosemite fires and the road we needed being closed. We had just read the reviews of the motel before we left the hotel in Death Valley and were dreading it after reports of thefts, horrible rooms, dirty motel etc etc. On the road in all we could see were fire trucks and US marines who were obviously trying to fight the fires and we had driven through a mountain road absolutely full of smoke. Altogether we were not looking forward to our stay but were so exhausted we had no choice. When we got there the reception staff were OK (not overly friendly but not rude as some reviews stated). We got to our room which was massive. Yes the TV was old fashioned and didn't have much signal but who really goes on a USA roadtrip to watch TV!!!!. There were two massive double beds - great if I had an argument with hubby ha. On arrival we explored and took pictures with all the cute bear statues around. We then looked at the indoor pool which was a little bit dirty and unused but then again you were in temperatures reaching 100+ who wanted to use an indoor pool!. We then went swimming in the outdoor pool which was gorgeous and had the most amazing mountain scenery which you could look at as you swam. We then went back to our room which was on the first floor and the views from the shared balcony were amazing. The restaurant was buffet style (you could have a la carte but the buffet was more cost effective). My starter arrived - stuffed tomato with tuna - and oh my god I have never seen such a massive plate or such a big tomato - it was amazing. This was before the buffet which also included soup, salad, meat, fish and potatoes. It was also really cheap. The gift shop in the lobby was also really cheap and sold alcohol, nibbles and gifts - very quaint. Altogether we enjoyed our stay here - our only disappointment was the fact we couldn't explore Yosemite as much as we wanted because of the fires but that wasn't the hotels fault.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the mountains - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Due to peoples previous reviews we were dreading our stay. We read about theft of money and passports and were surprised that the management have done nothing to reassure customers. Anyhow room was massive. Location amazing. Indoor pool was disgusting and not clean. Out door pool was great. Restaurant next door really good food and value. We basically kept all our valuables etc on us so anyone coming to room would have got my smelly clothes. Receptionists was a bit abrupt but I made her smile. Was very quite due to wild fires. We had to drive 300 mile detour to stay here however. Would come again but like I said the manager needs to say what has been done about the thefts.

Room Tip: Could ask for one near pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and it was quite good. Rooms are a bit dated with old TVs and no wifi but the amenities are clean and functional.

The bar/grill located at the restaurant was ok but not great. If you can, eat somewhere else.

There are no laundry facilities so if you want to wash your dusty hiking clothes you will have to take them to the sister lodge, View Lodge about 7miles away which is quite a hassle.

On the plus side it only takes about 30 minutes to get to the Yosemite village :) so it is quite conveniently located.

Will probably stay again if I return to the park (unless I win the lottery and can afford to stay inside the park!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silken_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overpriced lodge on the edge of Yosemite. The location is great but the motel is poor. Our room smelt musty and was dark. The restaurant attached was average and staff unhelpful. Stay someone else if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is expensive for what you get and the service of the desk people very bad, they should threat you according of what you pay. The rooms are functional with aircon, heaters, TV, coffee maker and fridge. The unique positive thing of this place is the location, 20 minutes off the Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,329 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,190 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
16.2 mi away
Half Dome Village
Half Dome Village
#3 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing