We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore other reviews - enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived here after a 300 mile detour from Death Valley to Yosemite due to the Yosemite fires and the road we needed being closed. We had just read the reviews of the motel before we left the hotel in Death Valley and were dreading it after reports of thefts, horrible rooms, dirty motel etc etc. On the road in all we could see were fire trucks and US marines who were obviously trying to fight the fires and we had driven through a mountain road absolutely full of smoke. Altogether we were not looking forward to our stay but were so exhausted we had no choice. When we got there the reception staff were OK (not overly friendly but not rude as some reviews stated). We got to our room which was massive. Yes the TV was old fashioned and didn't have much signal but who really goes on a USA roadtrip to watch TV!!!!. There were two massive double beds - great if I had an argument with hubby ha. On arrival we explored and took pictures with all the cute bear statues around. We then looked at the indoor pool which was a little bit dirty and unused but then again you were in temperatures reaching 100+ who wanted to use an indoor pool!. We then went swimming in the outdoor pool which was gorgeous and had the most amazing mountain scenery which you could look at as you swam. We then went back to our room which was on the first floor and the views from the shared balcony were amazing. The restaurant was buffet style (you could have a la carte but the buffet was more cost effective). My starter arrived - stuffed tomato with tuna - and oh my god I have never seen such a massive plate or such a big tomato - it was amazing. This was before the buffet which also included soup, salad, meat, fish and potatoes. It was also really cheap. The gift shop in the lobby was also really cheap and sold alcohol, nibbles and gifts - very quaint. Altogether we enjoyed our stay here - our only disappointment was the fact we couldn't explore Yosemite as much as we wanted because of the fires but that wasn't the hotels fault.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the mountains - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Due to peoples previous reviews we were dreading our stay. We read about theft of money and passports and were surprised that the management have done nothing to reassure customers. Anyhow room was massive. Location amazing. Indoor pool was disgusting and not clean. Out door pool was great. Restaurant next door really good food and value. We basically kept all our valuables etc on us so anyone coming to room would have got my smelly clothes. Receptionists was a bit abrupt but I made her smile. Was very quite due to wild fires. We had to drive 300 mile detour to stay here however. Would come again but like I said the manager needs to say what has been done about the thefts.

Room Tip: Could ask for one near pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and it was quite good. Rooms are a bit dated with old TVs and no wifi but the amenities are clean and functional.

The bar/grill located at the restaurant was ok but not great. If you can, eat somewhere else.

There are no laundry facilities so if you want to wash your dusty hiking clothes you will have to take them to the sister lodge, View Lodge about 7miles away which is quite a hassle.

On the plus side it only takes about 30 minutes to get to the Yosemite village :) so it is quite conveniently located.

Will probably stay again if I return to the park (unless I win the lottery and can afford to stay inside the park!)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silken_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overpriced lodge on the edge of Yosemite. The location is great but the motel is poor. Our room smelt musty and was dark. The restaurant attached was average and staff unhelpful. Stay someone else if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bananapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is expensive for what you get and the service of the desk people very bad, they should threat you according of what you pay. The rooms are functional with aircon, heaters, TV, coffee maker and fridge. The unique positive thing of this place is the location, 20 minutes off the Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our trip to Yosemite we booked Cedar lodge due to location. Well that is the only thing good about it. Dirty,dingy,doors have huge gaps,workers hanging outside around parking,was not comfortable with them.couple of days before trip learned about Stayner murders who lived and worked at this hotel.I did not tell my wife who had told me she seen a woman in our room with her throat cut (ghost). The women who were murdered stayed here! Spooky! We found dirty linens when we got here changed rooms. After a day in park came back to room around 4:30pm expecting a shower then dinner,to find room had still not been cleaned!!! The ghost my wife seen freaked me out. As she knew nothing of the murders and one woman was reported to have had her throat cut. Got a refund stayed in Merced at Marriott the drive was an added 1/2 hr to park. And at 1/2 the cost with shopping and food that isn't $14.95 for burger n fries

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goose16002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Let me start this review by saying my husband and I travelled to El Portal for Yosemite NOT for a luxury hotel! We found this hotel very comfortable for what we needed. We stayed in room 188 and it was very clean and well kept the bathroom was nice and updated the bed was a little hard but we slept just fine after hiking all day in the park. We visited the bar and grill a couple times and had a WONDERFUL bartender - Michael who gave us suggestions about hikes in the park and was very courteous and prompt. We thought the food was good and ate there twice also. This hotel was close to Yosemite - about 20-30 minutes to the heart of the park which was great! The front desk staff were nice and we had no problems with anyone.

In conclusion - if you are simple people like us and are coming the California to see and experience Yosemite then Cedar Lodge is perfect! If you are coming for a luxury hotel stay then maybe you should choose an expensive hotel inside the park. We had no problem with internet as we could have cared less if there was wireless because we were on VACATION and trying to get away from everyday life. I would stay at Cedar Lodge again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a place to sleep after spending a long day hiking and experiencing Yosemite.
.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,657 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $93 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing