We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try one of the river houses!”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try one of the river houses!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were originally going to stay in the Cedar Lodge, a few reviews on this site mentioned the river houses, so we explored Yosemite Resort Houses site and found a great alternative to the lodge.

They have four houses. Two sleep 12. One house sleeps four, and the other sleeps six. We stayed in the Gatekeepers house (sleeps six). Low season price was $130 per night (cheaper than two rooms in the lodge) It's one bath, one bedroom with a loft. The bedroom has a queen. The loft has two queens, and can be accessed by a loft ladder, or a external door.

It was clean, also has maid service, full kitchen, dinning table, living room, deck, bbq grill, and nice views. Location is three miles from main lodge (you can still use lodge amenities), and about 20 mins from park.

P.S. Two of the houses on a steep hill. Be prepared to lug the suitcases.

Room Tip: The Yosemite Lodge website does not have good photos. Search for the properties to find better phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silky85282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    619
    759
    307
    157
See reviews for
613
875
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel relies on it's close proximity to the entrance to Yosemite NP and really needs to lift it's standards.

The rooms only offer the basics. The beds were uncomfortable, No cell phone reception, Expensive Internet that is only available in reception.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The restaurant has a limited menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shesuwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Week stayed in river house in last month, yosemite, is wonderful place.the ce dar hotel is distant maybe 16 miles of the park, and the river house 2 miles before.this place there aren't snow, in the winther but many animals we can see. The access to the park is very easy , in 30 minute.The river house is complete toe 12 people,2 bwb, no fireplace, but there was bbc place, no internet, no laundry, but we ask toe the manager that open other house and we used the laundry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived hot and tired in the height of the season to be told there was no record of our booking (made via the National Park Authority) and the hotel was full! After much discussion, we were offered a room 2.5 miles further (west) down the road at "Savages Outpost". Thinking we were getting fobbed off, imagine our surprise when we found ourselves in the luxury apartment here - enormous 4-poster bed, hot tub, double shower, beautiful kitchen, private riverside patio and well-furnished lounge! We didn't want to leave!

I've no idea what the regular price of this place is, but it's just fantastic luxury!

Back home, after a bit of investigation, it appeared that it was the hotel's not the Park Authority's mistake; but their compensation wasn't bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent South Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We didn't spend much time in this hotel as we were in the national park most of the time but it was pleasant enough. Bar and restaurant on site which was ok. Close to the entrance of Yosemite NP. About 15 min drive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not too far from the Yosemite park, and not too expensive compared to the park's accomodation.
Confortable. Nice swimming pool and spa.
A small shop where you can buy snacks.
Didn't like: Need to pay for internet...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raf r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Cedar Lodge and I must say I was pleasantly surprised for the most part. Yosemite was essentially sold out (and crazy priced as always!) but I still didn't want to be too far from the valley so I thought I would give Cedar Lodge a try. It is 1 of only 2 motels in the El Portal area. I had previously enjoyed stays at the other (much more costly) hotel a few miles nearer to the park entrance.

The front desk and general store area are very nice and everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very efficient and courteous. There were only 3 smallish pillows on the big king size bed so they were accomodating to bring us 3 more with hardly any waiting. The room was comfy and nice sized although we never used the jacuzzi tub at all. Because of the open tub layout it was nice (and appropriate) that the toilet be in its own enclosed room. There was a nice new flat screen tv with HBO but not a lot of other channel selections.

We didn't go to the bar/grill or the restaurant at all but they appeared nice and clean from a distance. Overall given that this room was half the cost of the other nearby lodging I was very pleased and will recommend this to friends and family when they visit Yosemite in the future.

The biggest problem was ZERO cellular service for any carrier. They have limited wireless access as well but neither of these is the reason you go to Yosemite anyway. The only other complaint was some noisy neighbors who were coming and going all night and knocking on doors and slamming doors.

Check around for pricing as I found several options and saved even more with the outlet I chose.

Room Tip: The king spa suites are nice but the bathroom arrangement is a bit awkward. If you really want to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing