We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River house great option”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“River house great option”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Week stayed in river house in last month, yosemite, is wonderful place.the ce dar hotel is distant maybe 16 miles of the park, and the river house 2 miles before.this place there aren't snow, in the winther but many animals we can see. The access to the park is very easy , in 30 minute.The river house is complete toe 12 people,2 bwb, no fireplace, but there was bbc place, no internet, no laundry, but we ask toe the manager that open other house and we used the laundry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    634
    784
    320
    161
See reviews for
635
906
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived hot and tired in the height of the season to be told there was no record of our booking (made via the National Park Authority) and the hotel was full! After much discussion, we were offered a room 2.5 miles further (west) down the road at "Savages Outpost". Thinking we were getting fobbed off, imagine our surprise when we found ourselves in the luxury apartment here - enormous 4-poster bed, hot tub, double shower, beautiful kitchen, private riverside patio and well-furnished lounge! We didn't want to leave!

I've no idea what the regular price of this place is, but it's just fantastic luxury!

Back home, after a bit of investigation, it appeared that it was the hotel's not the Park Authority's mistake; but their compensation wasn't bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We didn't spend much time in this hotel as we were in the national park most of the time but it was pleasant enough. Bar and restaurant on site which was ok. Close to the entrance of Yosemite NP. About 15 min drive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not too far from the Yosemite park, and not too expensive compared to the park's accomodation.
Confortable. Nice swimming pool and spa.
A small shop where you can buy snacks.
Didn't like: Need to pay for internet...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raf r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Cedar Lodge and I must say I was pleasantly surprised for the most part. Yosemite was essentially sold out (and crazy priced as always!) but I still didn't want to be too far from the valley so I thought I would give Cedar Lodge a try. It is 1 of only 2 motels in the El Portal area. I had previously enjoyed stays at the other (much more costly) hotel a few miles nearer to the park entrance.

The front desk and general store area are very nice and everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very efficient and courteous. There were only 3 smallish pillows on the big king size bed so they were accomodating to bring us 3 more with hardly any waiting. The room was comfy and nice sized although we never used the jacuzzi tub at all. Because of the open tub layout it was nice (and appropriate) that the toilet be in its own enclosed room. There was a nice new flat screen tv with HBO but not a lot of other channel selections.

We didn't go to the bar/grill or the restaurant at all but they appeared nice and clean from a distance. Overall given that this room was half the cost of the other nearby lodging I was very pleased and will recommend this to friends and family when they visit Yosemite in the future.

The biggest problem was ZERO cellular service for any carrier. They have limited wireless access as well but neither of these is the reason you go to Yosemite anyway. The only other complaint was some noisy neighbors who were coming and going all night and knocking on doors and slamming doors.

Check around for pricing as I found several options and saved even more with the outlet I chose.

Room Tip: The king spa suites are nice but the bathroom arrangement is a bit awkward. If you really want to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Save money if your passing through Yosemite and stay here - it is much cheaper than staying in Yosemite Park.

The rooms, whilst a little dated in decor were really comfortable and the bed was huge! The spa bath was lovely and a great night sleep was had!
The food on offer was okay and good value, we didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment but dinner was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is a few miles down the road from Yosemite National Park, but during the off-season it doesn't really matter. The location is nice and the rooms are fine. Nothing fancy, but quite adequate. The rooms do seem a little dark and dated, but wasn't planning to spend much time there. The worst part about the off-season is that there are workers staying there during the week who start their day rather early. The lobby has a small store with some groceries. WiFi is only available in the lobby (extra charge). There are some nice gazebos across the road near the Merced River that would be good place to relax. Indoor and outdoor pools if you really need them. There isn't much else nearby but 1 restaurant and a bar (with food). Prefer the bar because it was more cozy and open more in the off-season (and definitely not crowded either).

Room Tip: Upper floor is probably better to have a balcony. Highly recommend reservations if staying during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
413 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,834 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing