We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just ok - some good & rude staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just ok - some good & rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Bedroom reasonable size, comfortable beds. Table with two chairs in the room. Good size bathroom. Our room was clean. No Internet access unless you pay for it. Restaurant on site was average. Diner on site was ok and served standard diner food. My wife was Ill one morning and I asked the restaurant manager if I could take her a little breakfast so she could eat, as the rest of the family was going sightseeing for the day and she would stay at the hotel and rest. I was made to feel I was lying and clearly advised rules are rules and that you must in all instances be in the restaurant to receive the complementary breakfast. I understand that there are rules, so much for being honest and attempting to receive a little understanding. The next night I thought my son was getting Ill and we needed to speak with a doctor or get details of a medical clinic. I asked to get some details from a young male person at the front desk. He had nil compassion and boy did he let me know it. He was rude to the point sighing and demonstrating a complete lack of interest in my concern for my son. I was in no way rude to thi person. Please folks get some training for these people they are hurting your business.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    594
    739
    298
    146
See reviews for
593
846
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall happy with the accommodation, but to charge extra for WIFI and only available in the lobby is behind the times, where it should be a free service like many other hotels. I have stayed there twice now and would be happy to return again.

Room Tip: Room at the front ground floor is best, then you can park your car right outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblegtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Yosemite. I have to say the location is brilliant, the hotel has a calm lake just over the road. This is great to go swimming in as the current is very week, the hotel also has two swimming pools. However the air conditioning was very noisy and it may wake you up during the night. The rooms are big but not in top condition and very dated. Overall this hotel is ideal for people who are looking for somewhere to rest there heads and a quick drive into Yosemite. If i ever stayed at Yosemite again i would consider staying here again:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a grim place. From surly unhelpful front of house staff to poorly equipped drab and nasty rooms through to the world's worst breakfast we loved every minute. And oh my gosh the generosity of asking $9 for wifi that you could only get in the foyer. There was not a single redeeming feature about this place. Every detail was horrible from TVs with broken loudspeakers, out of date poorly equipped rooms - we asked for a coffee maker or kettle and was told that we would have to go to reception to get hot water.

Breakfast was the worst in any hotel we have stayed in during the last two months of travelling around the US - toast that had lain around on the Bain Marie for an hour, the threatening sign on the milk 'for cereal only' and if you wanted milk in your perked to death coffee? Extra of course. And why no two tier price structure, if you didn't want the cooked why the need to pay the same for a continental breakfast. Thank goodness we found the market on our way to the park where decent coffee came with a smile, a small price tag and a help yourself choice of bagels. Oh, and the bar, which was all that was open when we were there, very limited choice ad poorly cooked. Grim grim grim!

Room Tip: Choose a room someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyChevrefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room and the bathroom were in need of decoration, coffee facilities consisted of untidy coffee machine and plastic cups that were never replaced, no bathroom mat and the towels with the holes. I will not even start on the charging for WiFi.
But the most unpleasant experience was in the diner. While I agree there is not such a thing as a free breakfast but if you are prepared to pay for a buffet breakfast ( not great either), there should not be additional costs. However when we already were sitting at the table we were advised that we will have to pay £2 each on the top of £12 if we want milk or juices. I believe it is very mean.
So we never went there again, had lovely (and much cheaper) breakfasts at the small grocery shop on the way to the park ( they have the freshest salads and sandwiches) and pleasant dinners at Yosemite View hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well located for Yosemite especially as we did not want to stay in the Park because of reports of Hantivirus. Hotel was just about ok. Air conditioning was incredibly noisy and seemed ancient. As it was very hot we needed to use it but could not sleep with it on. Generally the hotel was a bit run down. It seemed pretty well fully booked perhaps because of the location. I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Cedar Lodge as it was close to Yosemite. We visited the park on the first day they had rain since May! The locals were happy but we were not so thrilled! Great indoor pool that the kids loved. Nice beds, clean, basic rooms. Noisy A/C and no tea/coffee in the rooms. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast but evening meals were disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing