We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but only an average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Yosemite. I have to say the location is brilliant, the hotel has a calm lake just over the road. This is great to go swimming in as the current is very week, the hotel also has two swimming pools. However the air conditioning was very noisy and it may wake you up during the night. The rooms are big but not in top condition and very dated. Overall this hotel is ideal for people who are looking for somewhere to rest there heads and a quick drive into Yosemite. If i ever stayed at Yosemite again i would consider staying here again:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a grim place. From surly unhelpful front of house staff to poorly equipped drab and nasty rooms through to the world's worst breakfast we loved every minute. And oh my gosh the generosity of asking $9 for wifi that you could only get in the foyer. There was not a single redeeming feature about this place. Every detail was horrible from TVs with broken loudspeakers, out of date poorly equipped rooms - we asked for a coffee maker or kettle and was told that we would have to go to reception to get hot water.

Breakfast was the worst in any hotel we have stayed in during the last two months of travelling around the US - toast that had lain around on the Bain Marie for an hour, the threatening sign on the milk 'for cereal only' and if you wanted milk in your perked to death coffee? Extra of course. And why no two tier price structure, if you didn't want the cooked why the need to pay the same for a continental breakfast. Thank goodness we found the market on our way to the park where decent coffee came with a smile, a small price tag and a help yourself choice of bagels. Oh, and the bar, which was all that was open when we were there, very limited choice ad poorly cooked. Grim grim grim!

Room Tip: Choose a room someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyChevrefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room and the bathroom were in need of decoration, coffee facilities consisted of untidy coffee machine and plastic cups that were never replaced, no bathroom mat and the towels with the holes. I will not even start on the charging for WiFi.
But the most unpleasant experience was in the diner. While I agree there is not such a thing as a free breakfast but if you are prepared to pay for a buffet breakfast ( not great either), there should not be additional costs. However when we already were sitting at the table we were advised that we will have to pay £2 each on the top of £12 if we want milk or juices. I believe it is very mean.
So we never went there again, had lovely (and much cheaper) breakfasts at the small grocery shop on the way to the park ( they have the freshest salads and sandwiches) and pleasant dinners at Yosemite View hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amoramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well located for Yosemite especially as we did not want to stay in the Park because of reports of Hantivirus. Hotel was just about ok. Air conditioning was incredibly noisy and seemed ancient. As it was very hot we needed to use it but could not sleep with it on. Generally the hotel was a bit run down. It seemed pretty well fully booked perhaps because of the location. I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Cedar Lodge as it was close to Yosemite. We visited the park on the first day they had rain since May! The locals were happy but we were not so thrilled! Great indoor pool that the kids loved. Nice beds, clean, basic rooms. Noisy A/C and no tea/coffee in the rooms. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast but evening meals were disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Imagine you're in a Starsky and Hutch episode and the room at the Cedar Lodge would fit the bill nicely. 70s style furnishings/fabrics. Old fashioned big backed TV with simplistic remote that had cardboard taped across the back to keep the batteries in. Did note that the diner/bar had numerous flat screen TVs on the walls, so the owners have spent some money on furnishings - Just not in the room we stayed in.
Older fridge that seemed to work ok, sofa and outdated bathroom. Good sized room, clean but a little shabby.
Lodge has diner, bar and restaurant. Tried the buffet breakfast and food in the diner. Just OK.
Small shop in the reception area. Do sell frozen food, but you will need to use the microwave in the reception area to heat it.
2 swimming pools, both of which looked clean (too cold to try outside pool).
A number of staff seemed disinterested and did not appear to appreciate engaging with guests. It seemed to be a chore. No one was rude, but you felt that you were bothering them when they had something better to do (getting back to their TV programme/computer/social chit chat with their colleagues?)
Covenient for the park, but little else around. But then, we were there to see Yosemite...Which is amazing

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillarAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This room was run down, dirty and over-priced. The maid service was poor. They did not refill supplies. There was no internet and no cell service, which may be due to their remote location. However, surprisingly, there was cell service at places within the Park. The motel was about 30 minutes from the entrance because of the windy roads, so the location did not justify the price except that there are only 2 motels outside the entrance and there are really no other options. I was told that the same person owns both motels and their restaurants. I liked my vegetarian meal; but my friends did not like their meal. We tried the other motel restaurant and found out that the menus are virtually identical. The pizza place at the other motel was the best food we found. Our room did have lots of space which was appreciated and a well-stocked kitchen. However, we made the mistake of buying frozen food and later realized that there was NO oven. So the kitchen was useful for breakfast and keeping sandwich stuff. The first night we were there, it was very noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
5.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $88 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing