We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Reservation contact Rossi, helpful, courteous for our stay 9/26-9/28/12.
Manager Collen Griffin suggested our family party of 7 all could stay at Mt Top Retreat house, be together, they handled the booking. This proved ideal and we had a super time. Linens changed dailly and house was clean and comfortable, view, patio ideal. Many thanks to Collen Griffin.
Restaurant service decent considering number of people, menu fair. We did not expect five star service however pleased with restaurant. The location ideal about 7 miles from Yosemite gate, scenery fantastic, price fair.

Room Tip: Decent location as alternatives either far, or expensive. Get fuel fill up before entering park sugg...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Cedar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

When we checked in the staff were very efficient, f not especially friendly. Our room was clean and spacious and it was nice to have an area to sit with comfy sofa. It would've been nice to have had coffee mugs and glasses instead of polystyrene and plastic cups - it can't be so I've consuming to wash them and has to be better for the environment.
The restaurant was ok. We ate there 2 nights and the first night was better than the second. The buffet breakfast for $10.95 was reasonable and offered plenty of choice. We found it a better option than trying to get something in the park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel in great location close to Yosemite. Room was clean and good size (huge bed and bath), and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We were dissapointed with staff in the diner restaurant though. When asked what gluten free options they had or what meals could be altered I was told "none"-even though it states on the menu that they were happy to accommodate special dietary requirements. The waitress was very unhelpful, which spoilt our overall stay here a little. We would still highly recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

There just aren't a lot of hotels near Yosemite and they are all pricey for what you get in terms of the room. The location is great, the friendly staff is very helpful and the restaurant is decent. I agree with previous reviewers that while the rooms are clean, they are very outdated and worn. I would comment that it had a fun family atmosphere. There is nothing in the town of El Portal, so this is just a place to stay near the park.

Room Tip: We got a deal on a "king spa room" and enjoyed the big tub.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It you want to stay near Yosemite, there aren't a lot of choices. Cedar Lodge is one but frankly, I'd rather spring for more money and stay somewhere nicer or save your dough and rent a tent inside the park. Cedar Lodge is over $150/night for a king bed. It is clean and the bed is comfortable. It doesn't offer a microwave but does come with a noisy fridge with comes on and off - out of sync BTW with the air conditioner unit, which combined worked to keep me awake most of the night. The large jacuzzi tub was nice to soak off the trail dust but the jets were weak and the tub incredibly noisy - we decided to skip it. Staff are on wind-up mode - they serve so many tourists and have memorized their lines - skip the smile - they'll never be back anyway kind of service. Oh and they want $9.95 for Internet access which is ONLY available in their less than exciting lobby. If you want to pay 2x the going rate for an average motel stay, it's an option.

Room Tip: stay in the back away from the road
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The only reason we stayed here was because we were tired of driving and this place was convenient to Yosemite. at $120 a night you would think they would be able to update the rooms a little better. this had a Motel 6 feel to it, but the room was clean even though the furnishings were old. They had 2 restaurants right onsite which was an added bonus but those were equally as pricey. Not to mention that the WI-FI cost $9 a day and you had to sit in the lobby, which only contained two small couches and a couple of chairs. The place was constantly full. This is fine if you are just looking for a bed and a shower but i would not go out of my way to stay here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The town - El Portal - there's nothing there, and it's outside of the valley (about 30 minutes drive until the Arch entrance), thus the inn is NOT that close to the valley. Also, the inn suddenly emerges once we've entered El Portal, so we missed the entrance... and was a little startled by that (but I suppose it was our fault).

The inn has got good facilities - diner, restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, game arcades, quite a well-equipped shop, plenty of outdoor sun tables and gazebos. It shows well thought-out planning for a national park lodge - I guess that's really good when everyone retreats back to the lodge early from the day's activities. Food at the diner was actually not bad. The bar was filled with people, so if you enjoyed a crowd, it won't let you down.

The room was very spacious, the beds were comfortable. But I didn't quite like the room because lighting was very dim, and the carpet felt really dirty. I suppose that's close to my expectation although I was very surprised by the size of the room.

The bathroom light was linked with the very noisy fan, so I couldn't leave the light on in the bathroom throughout the night (that's what I usually do when staying at a hotel, in case I need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night). There is no free wi-fi, but I guess that's because it's difficult to get internet access in the park anyway.

We were lucky that the skies were clear when we stayed, so it was an absolutely great place to do star gazing (wide spectrum of the sky and not much lighting in the parking grounds).

Room Tip: The lodge are 2 stories buildings, so if you have lots of luggage, maybe it's a good idea to req...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaneantares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,859 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
498 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $94 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing