We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property has you could want less than a mile from Yosemite - the riverview rooms are a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“This property has you could want less than a mile from Yosemite - the riverview rooms are a must!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a lovely June week enjoying Yosemite with Yosemite View Lodge as our home base - we were very satisfied. The property was clean, the staff was professional, the rates were reasonable, and the facilities more than met our expectations.

The complex has two restaurants on site - a pizza place with outside seating and a nicer restaurant. We ate at both more than once and were satisfied with the food (good salad bars) and service. There is a small grocery (with spirits) just off the lobby, a laundry room (ask for change and purchase soap at the grocery), and three clean pools with hot tubs - our only disappointment was that not all the hot tubs were working (but the ones that were, heaven!!, after a day of hiking).

Our room was spacious and included a kitchen area - small fridge, microwave, stove, coffeemaker (with coffee) and dishes. The beds and pillows were fresh and comfy, and the housekeeping staff was polite, quick and thorough. The bath was larger than the norm; the air conditioning was as cold as you want it.

What truly won my heart was the balcony overlooking the Merced River. Beginning and ending the day listening to the water music and watching the birds, chipmunks, squirrels (and one fly fisherman) created the perfect, peaceful Yosemite mood.

The hotel is less than a mile from a 24 hour gas station and from park boundaries, two miles from the ranger station, and twelve miles to the heart of Yosemite Valley. We loved it.

Room Tip: Second or third floor riverview rooms have more private balconies than the ground floor rooms (due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    1,383
    1,160
    470
    247
See reviews for
1,350
1,650
83
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms are old but provide enough space. We had a river view with small balcony on the 1st floor. The bed was not OK. My back suffered from sleeping here. Happy to leave after two nights. Other hotels in the park are too expensive, so guess this was the best solution, eventhough too expensive for the value one gets

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank vaneeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights. Ate at the restaurant and pizza place. Both were good.
The decor is very 70s . Once you get past that - it's fine. It has all you need in this location - big rooms, on site shop and laundrette. Talking of the location, it's perfect. Just a few hundred yards from the park boundary.
We were awoken on our final night by water dripping through our ceiling. After a little persuasion the staff relocated us next door. I think this sums it up - great location, staff helpfully but building in need of renovation. Pleased we visited - mainly due to location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank trecynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A fabulous place to rest your head after an amazing day in Yosemite! Okay so it is in need of modernisation but overall clean and great size rooms. The hotel shops is very very expensive so fill up on groceries before hand if you plan to have snacks and make picnics for your trip outs! Staff friendly enough and my kids loved the swimming pool...albeit no life guards on duty! Great location would return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a room for 2 nights on the 2nd floor overlooking the river. Just gorgeous. Rooms are as others have mentioned - dated but functional. The point is sleep right? This hotel's clientele heads into the park during the day! The location can't be beat! As others have advised - pick up provisions before getting to El Portal if you want any kind of selection/cost efficiency. We spent $70 at the mini mart deli getting dinner for 4 (some cut up fruit, a salad a few meh sandwiches, chips and water) on day 2, following pizza night one at the resort. The groceries inside of Yosemite may have been a better value than what is in El Portal - selection was certainly better! Back to the Lodge: need to bathe kids? The tub in the bathroom will accommodate 4 toddlers easily. Huge. Our teen daughter did take a soak but not a one of us could figure out the partial directions as to how to get the jets to work. The kitchenette was adequate and nice to have though we used it for breakfast only. Not sure if the property has a grilling area, that option would have been nice. We did skip restaurant based on reviews from this site and others as well as some staying at the Lodge. Pool area had two hot tubs, but jets were not working in one when we were there. HOT when we got there but AC kicked in fairly quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We began our drive through Yosemite at the Tioga Pass Gate (far eastern end) so by the time we got to the end, we were looking forward to our stop and stay at Yosemite View Lodge. BUT, its a throwback for sure. Printed bedspreads that were dirty on top and with stains when you turned them back (just pitch the thing into the corner of the room and ask housekeeping NOT to put it back on your bed!), grime on doors, towels frayed and with spots (but clean), sheets thin and nubby, pillows hard as rocks (my ears were numb from pressing on them!). With a microwave and fridge in room you can prepare your own food if you have it, otherwise you are stuck with the awful food in the restaurant - remember those old salad bars with pre-prepared/bulk purchased macaroni salads, baby carrots with the white stuff still on them? Huge croutons, cheddar cheese and sunflowers to dump on the sad chopped iceberg type lettuce that has no nutrition? That's what you get in the dining room. Opt for the quick pizza restaurant and buy yourself a bottle of wine in the lobby store. And then the staff - no one greets you or smiles, but they will give you a key. The place is packed with fun loving German, Dutch and French visitors, lots of kids and Japanese tour groups. At least they get the place rockin. I would not stay here again but would opt for a couple of the other hotels a bit farther down the road towards El Portal. Good luck!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "Maple" building just to get away from the noise of the lobby buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgg2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. As pre booked didn't realise it was outside valley floor but we were glad of that in the end as very busy there .
Good size room with small kitchenette area which meant we could make our own breakfast and save some money. We had a ground floor river view room with a small patio . The room was very dark, but cool . The decor and furnishings are very dated and the pillows paper thin . No luxury here , tiny towels in bathrooms and got the pool.
Pool outside our block with lukewarm hot tub and 2 broken sun loungers and some chairs,
We ate in riverside restaurant on first night after waiting for a table. Food good , zero ambiance and extremely dated but staff friendly .
Overall good location, needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
413 reviews
15.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing