We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having had such positive experiences with hotel staff in the States we were stunned to find such a rude, unhelpful staff member at Yosemite Lodge. We deliberately booked the more expensive suite with our two families, overlooking the river, but didn't have enough cutlery, glassware, crockery or even tea towels for our two night stay.
When we explained that the 7 of us (in an 8 person suite) couldn't even eat together with the limited utensils available we were reluctantly provided with more, on the understanding that we would be charged for anything that was missing when we left! Each extra glass was pulled out unwashed from a cardboard box and we were reminded yet again that we would have to pay for them if they were broken or went missing! We are two families with 3 children under 9 and really not intent on stealing the very basic utensils that we were finally provided with! To say that we were insulted is an understatement.
Having said that the location was fantastic and the children loved their time in the river and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen19682011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 4,090 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Our spacious double queen bed room was mostly clean (a couple of ants), had fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The faucets were heavily leaking, but a closed bathroom door solved the problem. The nearby breakfast restaurant offered a very good buffet at 11 USD per person.

Nicely located at a creek.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Haffelpaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and were upgraded to a creek view room (lots of cancellations at the time made it possible due to fire on one side then government shut down looming on the other I think)
As everyone says the only real negative factor of his place is that the decor hasn't been updated in quite a while and I would add the walls are thin. Our sleep was a little interrupted: if you are a larger couple, perhaps rethink vigorous night-time activities given old beds and thin walls. Thanks :) Try get a top floor. We were bottom floor and could also hear the walking above us.

Other than that, the staff are all friendly, it had a usable fridge & kitchenette, it was clean, laundry available. Big bath tub.
Location is great. Because it was SO quiet when we went, we drove into the park each day so I can't comment on shuttles.

Room Tip: Creek view is lovely and really relaxing to sit on the balcony of in the afternoon. Try get a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here the first weekend in November and was pleasantly surprised. Just a mile or so from the western gate off CA-140. Very convenient to what appears to be a less popular entrance to the park...or maybe we just picked a lucky weekend. Multiple three story buildings in this fairly large complex, many with balcony's overlooking the Merced River. Nothing else around for miles either way, but they have a restaurant / bar / pizza place and a small convenience shop on-site which is helpful. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and a large bathroom...nothing fantastic but not bad at all. Only a few channels on the TV, which are a little out of date, but we didn't really come to watch TV anyway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: The building in the back of the property have balcony's overlooking the Merced River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of a road trip. The location is great, really close to the national park, but this place could actually be fantastic given some tlc, Fittings and furnishings were outdated and some on their last legs, which was a shame. This is essentially a motel, but it has such a prime position, it must surely be worthy of further investment. Our experience was added to by a visit from some tree climbing racoons on our balcony, which I'm sure would have joined me in the shower if I hadn't remembered to shut the patio door! We got take out pizza from the on site restaurant for dinner, which was reasonable value considering the fact you are a 'captive audience' and tasty too. Reception staff made check in/out simple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Disclaimer: My husband and I had a groupon deal for a 2-night stay before the end of the year, so I can't comment on the actual value of the room (not sure how much it normally would be for a Friday/Saturday night).

I can say that we enjoyed our stay. We were in a king room with a balcony that overlooked the river. The view was lovely. The room was clean. There was a little kitchen area with dishes and a microwave (very helpful if you don't want to spend a fortune on food). We loved the gas fireplace! Very warm and comfortable bed as well, which was great after a long day of hiking. There was a spa tub, but we didn't use it. We did use the dual shower heads though... THAT was great! The onsite dining establishment was average in both quality and price. We spent about $40 for dinner (not including tip).

The best part was that it's only about a 5-minute drive to the park.

Room Tip: I have a feeling the river-view rooms are the nicest in both view and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKSkwier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

with groupon this was a good deal, esp since we hadn't planned a trip to Yosemite this late in the season. we had a very nice room with a patio overlooking the meager water flowing in the merced river.

don't know how the room stayed so warm but it was 39F in the mornings outside and almost too warm inside w/no heater or fire in the fireplace. unfortunately, we were not able to open the window, it was jammed.

the bed was plenty firm, pillows were funky but really good to sleep on. tub was ginormous, didn't do a spa thing in it, ran out of time in the evenings. tv reception was not good on all channels.

i submitted a review for the The River Restaurant located on premise, under different ownership than the lodge.

the staff at the front desk were not at all friendly or outgoing. they almost acted as if they were visitors and didn't really belong there.

we enjoyed our stay. but groaned over the drive into the park each day. we have already booked our springtime trip next year to stay IN the park. the yosemite view lodge is only $2 less than the yosemite lodge at the falls - and you don't have the drive each day.


the restaurant on the property (River Restaurant and Lounge) had a breakfast buffet, and since there was no crowd when we were there, the food in the trays had sat a couple hours by the time we arrived and was not warm at all. the slices of toast had sat under the warming lights so long, they turned into crackers.

if all had been warm/hot it would have been SO good. if you're a bacon-lover, you'd love the bacon. besides plain scrambled eggs, there was a scrambled egg with mushrooms, cheese, peppers, onion = scrumptous. sausages were good. the hotcakes and everything else looked great but i didn't taste any of it. the awesome eggs scramble and bacon was plenty.

there was also fresh fruit, oatmeal, french toast, warm syrup...all kinds of different things to choose from.

cruz' homemade salsa was EXcellent. as was the service.

Arnie, our server was the best - friendly, attentive and simply terrific.

Room Tip: the river view rooms are worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,680 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $119 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing