We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room is nice”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of the road trip we had. We weren't planning to stay here. But the park is closed due to the government shutdown so the lodge we booked in the Yosemite park was also closed. We got a room next to the swimming pool where a big group of the big bikes were having a party. We were tired and wanted to sleep but the noise level was quite high so we asked to Chang the room. We were put into the other building that was more quiet. We got a room upgraded with jacuzzi as a complimentary that we had to changed the room for that matter. So we were impressed by that. The room was very nice, clean but slightly outdated. The air condition was a bit loud. But we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staircase as people walk up and down and that can be quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirikarnnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    1,416
    1,184
    490
    258
See reviews for
1,412
1,673
83
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as part of road trip. We chose this because of proximity to park and not for city centre elegance or decor and so were perhaps better prepared than other reviewers.

Our room was quiet and comfortable and overlooked the river. Had two large beds, clean if dated bathroom, basic kitchenette with fridge and microwave.

There is a restaurant and pizza cafe on site as well as bar and shop. Not cheap but good food and you are paying for being practically in Yosemite park. This is miles from anywhere and so everything must have to be transported miles.

Would we stay again? Definitely. Is it the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in? Definitely not. Location was the winner for us though!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fi-W-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Sells itself as the closest to the park which it certainly is, had a balcony overlooking a lovely river/mountain view, the room though was odd, a double shower which you could see into from the bed??? A spa/hot tub in the bedroom??? We thought maybe it could be a porn set!! Nice breakfast buffet in the restaurant and the pizza joint was nice. No free wifi though, no real info about walks in the park, actually none at all. But the park itself was just incredible, walked to the top of Nevada fall and back then drove to glacier point a must do

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I had just finished a two-day trek in the Backcountry of Yosemite and was hoping to get a room here for just one night. We were heading to the other side of the park the next day. We arrived here at 5:45pm and was praying that they had a room available. Thankfully they did and the staff were super friendly. I watched as an unhappy Cell Phone user came in and complained to one of the staff about not having reception, which by the way is not the hotel's problem. This young man handled it with kindness, I was impressed.

We got a bottom floor, end room, in the main building. I'm thinking we were in the oldest building on the property. Anyway, we were tired, hungry and dirty from backpacking so we took it. I must say the baby roaches did not bother me that much as I was just looking for a shower. The hotel definitely needs updating and is in disrepair. After our shower we used their laundry room to wash a few loads of clothes, what a blessing. Then we headed over to the Pizza place and had an awesome dinner. We slept very good that night...I did put Eucalyptus oil on the sheets before getting in the bed. Keeps the bed bugs away and anything else that is lurking:)

It really is about the location. Fifteen minutes from the Yosemite Valley. I would probably stay here again just not in the main building.

Room Tip: Top floor and not the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived to find a similar type of property to ski resorts in the Alps; looked a bit tired and rough round the edges. Reception was not great as the lad who booked us in struggled with basic English( actually turned out to our advantage as I will explain later). We asked for information about access to the Park and didn't really get clear or satisfactory replies to our queries. Perhaps we were tired from our long way round drive from Death Valley due to the fire affected East road access, in all it took us 9 hours!
Arrived at our allocated room to find it already occupied and from our quick assessment of that room and its position we were very pleased to go back to reception and try again! Thankfully we got a competent English speaking receptionist and we managed for our inconvenience to get an upgrade room in a far better location at the top end and back of the resort which overlooked the river.
The room was old fashioned and tired but had everything we needed. It had a spa jet bath and a kitchen as in a timeshare. This was very helpful throughout our stay as catering options in the area are very limited.
Balcony over river was lovely, babbling brook noise to sleep and wake up to and a view up the mountains.
Location brilliant, about half a mile up the road was the entrance to the park. A 20 dollar one of payment for the car and occupants which is valid for a week, perhaps the best value item of all our holiday. Loved the Park, superb vistas and awe inspiring landscapes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbury18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading all the reviews before booking I knew this place would not be great and it was more about the location. This was an understatement, there were ants in our kitchen area, the pillows were like cardboard and the zed bed was more a v bed that my poor brother had to sleep in for the 3 nights were there. The location of course is it's only plus point and I can honestly say a good b and b near this place is worth checking out. I can honestly say like other reviews had the merced river not been our view from the balcony this place would get a big zero!!

Take a hot tip: buy food on your way in as there is little to eat here and what there is, is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect if you don't want to pay park prices, it is about 5 mins drive to enter the park and about 15 mins to Valley. We enjoyed coming back at the end of the day to sit by the pool, unfortunately the hot tub wasn't working. The rooms were spacious with most looking out onto the river, however we found they were tired and need some updating, I tore my jeans on a piece of metal sticking out from a chair, the cooker hud didn't work and there were wires hanging from it, the shower was disappointing. The rooms slept 4 adults but we only had enough cutlery for two? I did speak to the front desk about my concerns but felt they really couldn't be bothered, it was manned by several young guys who seemed totally uninterested and would probably rather be off up one of the mountains. We visited the on site restaurant a couple of nights which was fine with friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,103 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,823 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
459 reviews
15.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing