We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip this hotel is in a brilliant location easy access pool area and located in one of the best national parks anyone will visit looking forward to going back.when you get there you must take the guided tour it's done by a old chap that knows everything you would want to know he turns up in a bear hat and from start to finish was the best guide ever.he will take you to glacier point 8000 metre height with the best view across Yosemite you may even be lucky enough to spot a bear as we did it cost 300 dollars but worth very penny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonyford1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting Yosemite for the weekend. Given the shortage of options in and around Yosemite, demand for rooms certainly exceed supply at least in the summer, and it was certainly overpriced. Didn't help that I was forced to pay for internet too given the lack of cell coverage in the area.

I wasn't expecting much, so was pleasantly surprised by the room, which was a loft layout with a king-sized bed and TV on each floor and a kitchenette on the lower floor. I liked that it was brightly lit (though probably not as romantic for couples) and had ceiling fans for air circulation. The kitchenette is more for quick simple meals than an elaborate meal - there isn't much space to maneuver and the sink is tiny. The bathroom was huge. The flush was a little challenging to operate but got the hang of it after a while (hold down flush until EVERYTHING disappears).

There were windows only on one side, facing the parking lot. I think some rooms have a view of the river but I didn't care much about it as I had spent the whole day admiring the view in the park and just needed a place to sleep.

There is a 7-11 type store with snacks, bread and beverages, some canned food. No fresh produce so if you are planning to cook your own meal you will probably want to do your grocery shopping in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stumbled upon the Yosemite View Lodge as the sun had set and we needed to find a bed for the night. Driving out of the National Park we discovered the hotel nestled in the mountains next to a river. Thinking it would be out of our price range, I didn't hold out too much hope, but for the bargain price of around $120, this for us was cheaper than the hostels we'd been accustomed to.

We went for a "small" budget room... which was huge! Two enormous beds, with TV, fridge, ensuite bathroom was perfect to rest our weary heads for the night.

The resort had a great feel about it, buzzing with families, couples and friends. There are several pools dotted around the site, sunken jacuzzis so you can relax and watch the river flow by, a grocery store to buy the essentials (beer), a restaurant and pizzeria where we had, no joke, probably one of the best pizzas we have ever eaten.

Close for access to the park...great location...great value...GREAT PIZZA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is closest to the park's route 140 entrance. (If you want anymore closer, then you will have to stay in one of the places in Yosemite Village) The room is ok and clean, has A/C, a fireplace, a small kitchen with a tiny sink, an oven, a microwave and some Ikea plates and cups. We stayed at the Black Oak building, the balcony is facing the mountain and river which is beautiful. The bathroom is huge. In-room wifi costs $10 for 24 hours, and $25 for 3-day (slightly cheaper). There is a small deli in the front desk building, a pizza place and a restaurant on the property. They charge $10 per person for buffet breakfast. If I come back to Yosemite again, I would definitely stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcOcOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family stayed at Yosemite View Lodge in July (2013). We had a lovely spacious room overlooking the river. The rooms were immaculate and the huge bath with two showers was a real bonus!! The staff were courteous. We ate at the pizza restaurant on site and the pizzas were lovely, so much so we ate their twice!! The location was great too!! The swimming pool area was nice to cool off in after a fantastic day sight seeing! The website doesn't do this lodge justice! We would highly recommend this accommodation and would definatey stay again should we be lucky enough to return to Yosemite!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skifamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I first stayed at this property 10+ years ago, so either my age or the age of the hotel has altered my memory, but on this visit, in August, the hotel seemed very run down. Especially for the rate. We had an expensive river view room, which was nice, but the patio was filthy so we didn't spend any time out there. The room itself seemed clean enough, but I had my doubts about the bed spreads. The tub and kitchen sink leaked all night long - even though the hotel "fixed" the tub on our first full day there, once we showered, the tub leaked again. If you can't get a room within Yosemite Valley this property is truly very close, but it's not my first choice and I would only recommend it to friends with caveats.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river - it's prettier and quieter than being on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is a consistent theme in all these reviews that the location is good - and it is - but that is the only thing that is good. This was the worst hotel we stayed in during a three trip in America (not to mention one of the most expensive). Horrible gloomy rooms, whole place in need of a good clean, knackered old furniture & beds, unwelcoming place, unhelpful staff, lousy restaurant, feeble attempt at a grocery store etc etc etc

It is a real shame that they clearly do not care as they have a captive audience and no competition.

Take my advice and do the extra miles to stay somewhere - you won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,201 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
553 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,679 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $119 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing