We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice location right next to the Merced river very close to Yosemite Naitonal park. We had a room on the first floor with a balcony facing the Merced river, awesome view!

Large room with a kitchen, balcony and a very large bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Though the room we stayd in was large and well equipped it was simply to dated and worn in relation to the cost of lodging. Ancient CRT TV.

Nice pool adjacent to the building we stayd in. Pretty good pizza place on hotel grounds. Good parking.

Check in and check out worked fine. All in all this is a good choice for lodging for someone who wants toi stay close to the park,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    1,265
    1,074
    437
    226
See reviews for
1,227
1,517
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in Redbud Building in a room with a view of the Merced River with our very calm mannered 100 pound lab and it was picture perfect. The King Room came with a private balcony facing the river and was equipped with a small kitchenette and full sized couch. There was plenty of room for our "little" family and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxLabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here last minute, with no reservations so we can't be too picky about the lodging. However, the restaurant was awful with a capital A. Eat pizza at their pizza parlor, bring your own food, or stop at the gas station for better fare. The room was a double with a loft so the space would have been great for about 6 people. We just needed the bed, so I have no complaints about the room. Not quite clean, definitely needed some updating. Felt like I needed to keep my shoes on in the bathroom because the floor needed some serious elbow grease to get it clean. Comfy bed, but the bedspread had dried blood on the underside so we took that off right away, which then makes you start questioning the cleanliness of the sheets. Either way, for $175 it is definitely NOT a deal, but it IS close to the park, so you're getting a relatively dirty room with a great location. The restaurant smelled disgusting like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The wine had a film floating on the top of the wine in the glass. The waitress never came back and asked, even with all the food still on our plates and wine still in the glasses, whether everything was okay. We left sick to our stomachs from the odor, and an hour and fresh air later, hungry. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't stay here on a budget. Or if you are hungry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic location near the entrance of Yosemite (southern point, valley floor). A shuttle to the park is available for a fee. The room was adequate. The best part was the balcony. Be sure to request a room on the river for a lovely view of the Merced. Two beds, small kitchenette, oversized bathtub with double showerheads. It was clean with plenty of fresh towels. Easy check in, nice staff. There's a small gift shop as well as a restaurant and a pizzeria. There is also a computer in the lobby. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best price and to request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovedMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Carroll
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

When I booked the lodge online I got a mountain view, 2
Double beds. Well, the so called "mountain view" was more like a highway view. We weren't happy with that and asked to switch rooms. The man at the front desk acted like we were bothering him. He said there were no available rooms overlooking the river, then changed his story and said that they do have rooms with a view of the Merced river. He said we could switch rooms for $30, which we did. I was surprised when we got to the room. It was terribly outdated and wasn't very clean. the bathroom had an ant in the towel. There was hair all over the shower. On a lighter note,the beds and pillows were comfortable and air conditioning worked nicely. There was also a nice little refrigerator and kitchenette, which came in handy during our stay. They also give you a fireplace, which we didn't use because it was the middle of summer. There was a ceiling fan that we used at night. The rooms and bathroom were spacious with a jacuzzi bathtub with two shower heads on each side. Our room was right by the outdoor pool which looked very refreshing and had a nice view of the mountains. The room was on the lower level overlooking the river. There was a balcony that you could go out on and watch the river. It wasn't very private, the balconies of each room were separated by a barred fence,
which looked like you were in a jail. The view was breathtaking though, especially at night and in the morning when it isn't too hot out. There were a few places to eat nearby. A pizza place and a restaurant. Both were very pricy and the pizza was just okay. When we left, the ice machine was out of ice. You couldn't get closer to Yosemite without actually being in the park. They definitely take advantage of the location. Don't get me wrong, this place has potential, but definitely needs a lot of love.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fhv_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point Sailor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Filthy dirty floors. Had to put towels down on floors to keep our feet clean. Front desk noted they do not mop but only spray and wipe floors...whatever, the carpet was dirty too. Everything was outdated...have not seen a TV like that for 10 years. I slept in sleeping bag on top of sheets.
Upon check out we found they overcharged on our reservation by about $80 or so. They did knock 10% off bill for tolerating a filthy room, after they fixed the error in room rate.

Only positives were they allow dogs for a fee ($) and its proximity to Yosemite NP.

They are in serious need of some competition to improve service to their clients and the care of their employees. I just hope this review helps you to avoid this place.

We called about 20 minutes after leaving to have them hold a camera battery and charger that was left in outlet by coffee pot, and they could not find it. I am sure it was for sale on the maid's Ebay account or Craig's list by the next day and they must split profits with the young man at the front desk because all he wanted to know was what kind of camera it worked with.

I will return to Yosemite but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadreamin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not sure about those who give negative reviews on the room quality. It isn't the Ritz or a nice Hilton or Marriott. Guess what? You are NOT going to find ANYTHING like that in this area and definitely not within the park. The Ahwanee (however you spell it) in the park, we stopped in and it is the most convenient of course, but they do not have a/c, and it is extremely expensive. We ate there and the food was high priced (not ridiculous) but despite supposedly having an award winning chef, it was average at best. The other hotel in El Portal where the View is located (we saw when we left to drive to San Fran) is much further away and did not look as good.

We found the View Lodge to be pretty good. There is the one (and I understand the only one) area gas station less than a mile down the road, the View has it's own little grocery store, and the pizza restaurant was decent, and the other restaurant was good too. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced (well if you stay at Hilton or Marriott, this was less expensive although not as good). There was no one making Omlets but I felt it was a nice buffet with good quality and variety. We ate dinner there one night and everyone had a good meal. You may be at a captive property but those suggesting it therefore scrimps on quality we found to not be true. It is definitely the place to stay.

Now, the fact that it is near the entry to the park may be misleading. It still will take you a good 45 minutes to get to the Valley, and longer if you are going up Tioga pass. But it still is the closest non park hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
11.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing