We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place to Stay Outside the Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Outside the Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel previously and remembered that it was a decent hotel in a great location. I purchased a Groupon for this trip and feel like we got a great deal. We had a room right on the river with a balcony. Room has a small kitchenette with a real coffee pot ( not one of those silly one cup coffee pots that all hotels seem to have now). The rooms need a bit of updating, but for the price and location, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: Most are on the river, but the ones on the first floor have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMarvinGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    1,266
    1,074
    437
    226
See reviews for
1,227
1,518
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dagupan ,Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked a family suite with 2 bedrooms . Rooms are spacious, completely furnished with kitchen utensild . Room interiors ,carpeting,beds all need to be changed and renovated. Not worth the money - paid .

Room Tip: Choose a room that is located at the back which faces merced river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfc1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed in a river view room on the first floor with balcony overlooking the river. Great to wake up and hear the water rushing by. On our stay over the weekend it was nearly all families.

Indoor swimming pool was a hit with our 9 and 11 year old niece and nephew. Rooms are well used but have all the amenities you need. Gas fireplace with real look logs is nice.

Bathroom has a huge jetted tub but is again worn but was spotlessly clean.

Biggest complaint are the tiny hard as rock pillows. We had to put towels under them to make them of any use. No spares are left.

River view restaurant was also a disappointment. Cheap but barely edible food. Berry cobbler was the best dish.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view room. Others overlook the main road.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a room with river view. Those rooms have a balcony and the view on the Merced River was just great. As the rooms have a small kitchen, we prepared the food there and had dinner on the balcony. If you stay there to visit Yosemite NP (and I think most people will), you can reach the park entrance by car in about 5 minutes. I saw that there is a bus stop for public transit to the park, but we did not use that.

The room was clean and it was equipped with a nice-looking electric fireplace for heating. Nevertheless there were two things, we have to criticize. There was an unpleasant smell in the room when we arrived. We think, that the people before us cooked some very smelly things in the kitchen, and after opening the windows it was OK. But we were not able to get that smell out of the room completely. Second bad thing is the bed. It was very, very, very soft. Normally my wife likes soft mattresses, but in this case, we had the feeling, that if one of us turned around, the other one will fall off from the bed.

Room Tip: The few dollars for river view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Yosemite View Lodge in El Portal is situated on the border of Yosemite Natural Park ,CA.
First: internet only for extra $ 9 p/d in the Lobby, cell phone has no service, no breakfest but every room has a kitchenette. A good store close to the lobby, Restaurant, Pizza. Laundry,
A fine in and outdoor swimming pool. No one was on the smartphone! Free- off for a few days!
Price/value: good. We had $ 40 off in April ( in between season)
Frontdesk efficient and helpfull .Other employees only Spanish .
We had a 3 nights stay and visited Yosemite 4 days from 9 am until 4 pm. Within 15 min we were at the first Waterfall.
Think of the garbage: the wild animals are also here and will find every part of our food, we found out on our 3 floor balcony. The staff helped us cleaning.

Room Tip: There are different lodges situated on the Riverside for a higher price and no noise from the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 407JanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well , we were expecting more for our money, lots more . £500 for 3 nights was far too much for this place. Yes it is in a great location, close to the park, but really, the premises were completely lacking in reinvestment. The rooms were very dated, cheaply furnished and generally tired. The staff were okay-the premises were not what we would expect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am pretty "go with the flow", but this place really stretched my limits. The first clue should have been when I found used underwear in the drawer where I planned to store my clothes. But it was waking up to the hundreds of little ants on the counter that sealed the deal. Didn't think I could top that, but when I addressed my concern to the desk clerk upon checkout and her response was a deadpan "I'll be sure to let maintenance know".... Without any apology..that took me over the top. On the upside, the food in the restaurant was good and Travis in the bar was a gem. Still will not return however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
11.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing