We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yosemite View Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well , we were expecting more for our money, lots more . £500 for 3 nights was far too much for this place. Yes it is in a great location, close to the park, but really, the premises were completely lacking in reinvestment. The rooms were very dated, cheaply furnished and generally tired. The staff were okay-the premises were not what we would expect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,997)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am pretty "go with the flow", but this place really stretched my limits. The first clue should have been when I found used underwear in the drawer where I planned to store my clothes. But it was waking up to the hundreds of little ants on the counter that sealed the deal. Didn't think I could top that, but when I addressed my concern to the desk clerk upon checkout and her response was a deadpan "I'll be sure to let maintenance know".... Without any apology..that took me over the top. On the upside, the food in the restaurant was good and Travis in the bar was a gem. Still will not return however.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

They say in real estate location location is everything but Yosemite View Lodge is the exception to the rule. Yes it's close to the Park but that's all it has going for it. The room was dirty-dusty and poorly vacummed, the bed flimsy, and the pillows and walls were paper thin. The kitchenette was poorly maintained. It was barely one step up from camping out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Prices are slightly high due to location near Yosemite Valley, though very close to entrance, so easy access. Also rooms have a kitchenette, which allows you to cook, etc. Good with kids :) Amenities in general are somewhat limited in this area, though hotel has good restaurant, and basic general store is close by. I would stay here again, and close proximity to park makes it as good a stay as having a room at one of the actual NP Yosemite lodges (a lot cheaper too). Pleasant staff, clean rooms, good service ...

Room Tip: Be wary of Bears and Racoons!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A good location, close to Yosemite National Park. The rooms were clean and average size. Although the decor was a bit dated. No elevator so if you had a big/heavy luggage then you would have to carry it all the way upstairs. No mobile phone signal. You have to pay for Wi-fi with very limited connectivity. The wifi would not allow Skype. There is a restaurant and a Pizza place in the lodge for food which opens at certain times. The Pizza place made delicious Pizza.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conheand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I brought groupon for 2 nights for 219$ for up to 4 people... Reserving room over the phone was easy and there were no hassles.

Checking in was smooth...

The room was quite good with 2 queen beds. The most impressive was the view from the balcony which opens up to the spectacuar views and sounds of the merced river.... There it is right next to the balcony flowing with its full speed.... You can't beat that...


Now the cons
1. There is no WIFI ... You can't go online anywhere except for the lobby for 9$ per day ... I needed more info on hetch hetchy but just couldn't get online
2. The plumbing makes a lot of noise: Each room has a spa tub and if you have rooms on either sides, its going to be noisy everytime somebody starts the water...
3. The breakfast is not complimentory ... it is nice but at 11$ per head



Summary:
Excellent location... good rooms cons are not that of a big deal

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RelaxedVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was a little concerned the Lodge was a fair drive away - but it's not an issue. The rooms are clean and well sized with ample self catering facilities if that's what you want. Otherwise we can strongly recommend the Restaurant - it has a bargain Buffet Breakfast and Dinner was fresh, ample and the service very helpful. We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fong-Gha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,863 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,629 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: $130 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing