We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent choice for Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
park city UT
Level Contributor
156 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Decent choice for Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a nice spot just outside Yosemite National Park. If you'd rather not deal with Hantavirus, or if everything in the park is sold out, this is a good bet. Rooms are clean, the restaurant serves a mean burger and you're only 20 min or so by car to the valley itself. One thing to note is that there is effectively no cell service here (ATT at least) and wireless only in the lobby, which you must pay for. They have a small store on site which has a few groceries and some cheesy gifts but it can be useful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    1,202
    989
    402
    210
See reviews for
1,159
1,407
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was clean. The heater worked fine since the nights were very cold(winter time). I met Frick and Frack for two nights. They are resident raccoons but they are very nice. I think they are more scared of us(Humans) than you being scared of them.
You are about three minutes from the main gate and another five minutes from the valley floor. So, you are not paying the outrageous prices in the valley.
If you are a light sleeper, you may want to get a room away from the Merced River since you can hear the water running.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 427BeatleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Prices on Expedia were better than hotel's website. Closest hotel to Yosemite Valley, outside of the park itself - very convenient. Reception was a bustle of activity, they could use more staff and cut down on the wait time. Gift shop & store was full of junk, and not a lot of useful stuff (like food variety). The place was sterile feeling on the outside, pedestrians and cars competed with each other on the road/driveways because sidewalks are poorly laid out. Restaurant was good, pleasant staff, adequate variety. Interiors could use some refreshing - very 80's - but clean. Bathroom windows face right onto walkways - no privacy if the window is open to let out steam/odor. Kitchen was equipped with cookware, but the dishes were chipped and needed replacement. First floor rooms have an ICE COLD bathroom floor with no heat flowing into the room, very uncomfortable. High fences on the first floors block views of the river -- so ask for an upper floor unit.

Room Tip: To avoid ice cold bathroom floors, ask for an upper floor room. First floor rooms facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival after a long drive, our first impressions were underwhelming. The place needs a good upgrading externally, especially given its great location right on the Merced River and really close to the Park entry gate.
However, reception was welcoming and efficient. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a king room with in-room spa, a lovely gas fireplace, huge granite-lined double shower, kitchenette, loads of space and a magical river view balcony! All decorated in keeping with the environment. The spa is just wonderful after a heavy day's hiking in the Park.
The restaurant, although operated separately, is inviting and good value.
Unfortunately, no cellphone reception and wi-fi is only available in the lobby as an expensive extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room in the Sequoia Block on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Conveniently located just outside Yosemite park, this large hotel is located right next to Hwy 140, has large rooms with kitchenettes and many rooms with views of the Merced River. The kitchenette included a stove, microwave, and mini refrigerator. Inside the lobby is a well stocked convenience store with basic amenities, a gift shop, and a good sized room for sitting in the evening to play card games, etc.There are several pools onsite and a large hot tub that can fit 10 people comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with views of the Merced River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjuricich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this location 10 years ago and loved it. It is in a beautiful location and is close to Yosemite. However, its been a stale 10 years for this location. While they have expanded the property, they still have the same old bed spreads that left me freezing on the cold winter night. OR I could leave the heat on all night but would wake up in the middle of the night in a sweat baking from the heat. The kitchenette area was nice, clean and filled with useful utensils. However, the refrigerator didn't work that well and I ended up with spoiled food.
I got no phone service whatsoever, so to connect to the outside world I had to use their internet. The rooms have no internet service and you have to go to the lobby to use the internet and you still had to pay 10 bucks a day. At that, the speed was crappy and you had to log in / log out several times to get it to work. I could accept this if it was free, but to pay 30 bucks over 3 days for frustrating service is bad taste. Note to YVL: I would pay 15 bucks a day to have great service in my room and I think a lot of people would.
The lobby has a gift shop that has seen better days. I felt like I was over at Grandma's and she didn't want me touching her creepy doll collection and antiques. The pizza at the complex was great and the staff there was helpful.
The hotel staff was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. I'd only go here in the summer when you don't have to worry about the heat so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntrepidMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a long drive from Napa, arriving at El Portal was quite the comfort. Despite some reviews I had read, I found the front desk staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. We arrived just before midnight, had no trouble finding the hotel and check in was smooth. We quickly got settled in and were greeted by "Frick", or was it "Frack", one of the local racoons sitting at our front door! The room was chilly and the heater didn't seem to have a thermostat, just kept running all night. The restaurant closed at 10:30 a.m. and we almost missed breakfast! The food was fine, not 5 star, but fine for our needs. The kitchenette in the room could have been handy if we were staying more than the one night. This hotel is as close as you can get to the Yosemite entrance to the valley and served our purpose well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,404 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
12.5 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing