We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our party of 4 adults spent 3 nights here - in one extremely clean, spacious and comfortable, standard room. Useful and effective kitchenette and a spacious bathroom with a fab shower - just what we needed after long days walking the stunning national park trails. Location is perfect - just a very scenic 15 min drive and you are in to the park. Unexpected bonus (as not highlighted on booking) was a good continental breakfast provided most days in the hotel lobby - cereals, toast, bagels, eggs, pastries , coffes teas, juice. Front desk staff were quiet and reserved, but very helpful when asked for/about anything. Would definitely reccomend the Yosemite View Lodge, and will be returning here for our next visit to Yosemite.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good, and all have balconies. We only had a standard 2 queen room and this was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    1,316
    1,108
    451
    236
See reviews for
1,285
1,559
79
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

good location, near the national park. Good size room,with nice views.Breakfast though is not great, continental breakfast,no proper dining room,have to use the lounge for breakfast. Staffs are helpful, had a small problem with the heater and TV remote control and they quickly fix it.

Room Tip: There's only one restaurant within the lodge which is quite expensive.The next restaurant is mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gildaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm not sure if it's because we travelled there in low season but what a regret. The room was clean but lacked heating in the washroom. So it was freezing cold when coming out of the shower. Their so called continental breakfast consisted of 6 hard boiled eggs in a plastic bag, coffee but no sugar, some cereal, and juice. DO NOT visit their restaurant called "the river". It was inedible and the hotel shouldn't recommend it to their guests. Better to plan ahead and bring your own food and cook it in the kitchenette. After this experience..I highly doubt i'd ever go back there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babbalina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Being located only 5 mins drive from the entrance to Yosemite national park (with nearly all the competition several times this distance) is what keeps this hotel fully booked throughout the season and inevitably commands a premium price. However this is not excessive and if you are spending more than one day in the park is well justified as the road from Mariposa is very slow and prone to roadworks. The Hotel itself is fine with the rooms generously sized and standard rooms well fitted and comfortable.
The restaurant caters for all the guests plus a large outside trade but it is huge and I was given a table after a very short delay. Service was understandably quite slow but the menu was interesting and the food was good. Breakfast was very good with exceptional variety.
On-site amenities include a very useful shop providing supplies (at a price) as well the usual tourist stuff and a useful map of the park.
If you cant get a room when you book your Holiday it is worth contacting the hotel directly just before you are due as they do have cancellations. (that's how I got to stay there there)

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are right on the edge and can be extremely noisy when the river is in spate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is a large building with two lines of two story brick buildings with ten or so units per building. Its is situated just outside of Yosemite Park.
The rooms are large and well appointed with coffee maker, TV, Toiletries and hairdryer.
We had a little kitchenette in our room so you could make your own meals but we choose to go out to the restaurant for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. a lovely meal.
The Hotel is about 30min to Yosemite Valley Park but the scenic river and hills are nice for a good morning walk and a swim in the pool after. We had breakfast on the deck out the back of El Capitan. The babbling river, and humming birds made it a picture postcard experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunn-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really liked this place. We couldn't get reservations in the park and at first I was disappointed; but as soon as we walked into our room, that changed. Right on the Merced River with a nice deck (although it was winter and too cold to enjoy it from the outside, even the inside view was lovely. A great gas-log fireplace and a small but well-equipped efficiency station with sink, 2 burner stove, microwave and refridgerater, as well as plates, cups and utensils. There is a restaurant on the premises, but we only ate there once. The food was good, but a little pricey for our pocketbook. We choose to eat in Yosemite Valley before returning to our room every night. It was a 15 minute ride into the Park and another 15 minutes to Yosemite Lodge, but a beautifully scenic drive. We liked the fact that in the evening we could drive away from the hustle and bustle and traffic of the Yosemite Valley,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights as part of a Fly drive holiday. The hotel was located in an ideal position close to the park, and had all the amenities you could want: pools, restaurants, take-away and shop selling everything including beers, wine and ready meals. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious although a little dated. There were cooking facilities, a sink, fridge and large fire in the room. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and on both days we had breakfast and dinner on the balcony: so peaceful and tranquil. The first day we had pizza (very nice) from the take-away, and the second evening a ready meal from the shop. On the negative side, I found the metal railings around the pool and along the balconies made me feel a bit like I was in prison. Although I appreciate the need for safety, I did think something more aesthetically pleasing could have been used.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
15.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing