We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Yosemite View Lodge in October. The rooms were a little outdated, but overall this place is about location, location, location! It is so close to the entrance of Yosemite. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room. We stayed 2 nights and both mornings we ate at the breakfast buffet at the Lodge - they have a lot of choices of food on the buffet. We also had pizza one night - which was pretty good. The prices in the Lodge's store were reasonable. We bought water there before going into Yosemite Park - it was more in the park. We liked the patio in the back of our ground floor room that overlooked the Merced River. We did see a bear - We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    1,228
    1,027
    424
    220
See reviews for
1,199
1,461
69
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location as close to the entrance for Yosemite National Park and easy to locate on the main highway. Warm and informative welcome with lots of facilities on site. Parking outside our 2nd floor room overlooking the Merced River. Room was bit shabby and dated but it had a hob, microwave, fridge and coffee making facilities. If you are here on a hiking and outdoor pursuits agenda I would imagine this would be ideal - there is an on-site laundry as well. Dene was an entertaining host in the well-stocked bar - they have visitors from all over the globe, so every liquor was there! We had a pizza on our second night which was very good. The hotel shop is really bizarre and stocked with "Twin Peaks" products - and some scary dolls........evidence of raccoons raiding the outside bins - we only saw fatty footprints which was a shame. First and foremost this is a great location for the Yosemite - a lot closer than Mariposa.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are great as they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Calif.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for our first trip to Yosemite! We don,t spend a lot of time in our room. While the check in staff could be a little more professional, we found our room to be clean and comfortable. My wife and I only had one dinner at the on site restraunt which was very good, everything else was on the run or inside the park. I would recommend the rooms closest to the river, it,s very relaxing with it out your bacony!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodzyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in Oct. great base for the park and Mariposa Grove. First impressions ....not too sure ..but after looking around it was better than I expected. Good points , great location with mountains all around , river running to one side good for spotting wildlife ( even saw a bear , made my day). Rooms nice size and comfortable . Food and drink very reasonable in shop ( paid 4 times the amount for a beer in Salsalito , San Fran ). Only used the Pizza place ( best value , pizza plus all you can eat at the salad bar) . Staff friendly. Pool and jacuzzi ideal ( helps to cool you down ). Cannot really think of any bad points.
Oh and by the way you may find it easier to catch the bus to take you into the park and back again , gives you a break from all the driving. All in all enjoyed our stay and thoroughly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Yosemite View Lodge is a bit dated and at first look isnt too great, but the location does make up for that. Its very close to the entrance to the National Park. The room we had - ground floor, had a very large patio backing onto the river, the room was large with kitchenette area and very large bath with showers either end. Oooh and a rather noisy jacuzzi.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with river view were probably the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. Good location just outside the park to the west - to us, this was the best location without actually staying inside the park. It didn't take long at all to get to the valley floor.

The hotel is pretty big with lots of different buildings. I forget the name of our building but we were in a riverview king on the top floor. Very large with a kitchenette, fireplace and the largest jetted tub I have ever seen! (Our tub did work vs all the other reviews saying theirs didn't....). The room was clean enough and kitchen had everything you need to prepare basic meals. The balcony was large and sitting out there listening to the river was awesome. (Beware the racoons that seemed to be everywhere, including the roof and balconies).

We ate at the pizza parlor both nights and either sat outside to eat or brought it back to the room. It was EXCELLENT! Lots of toppings and very yummy! The pizza place also had a nice selection of beer by the pitcher.

Both the restaurant and the hotel were expensive by comparison, but understandable given the proximity to a national park. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. Had a room overlooking the river, beautiful out the back, they all had a porch or balcony with chairs. The room had a has fireplace which was a great touch on the chilly October nights we were there. The room was big, but the decor was tired. Could use some updating. I didnt' sleep well on their beds. Visited the restaurant. The staff there was super nice. But the food was just ok. I ordered the pesto pasta. Do not order this dish. I can purchase better pesto out of a jar. For something that is so easy to make, not good. The pasta was also over cooked. My husband ordered the Dijon Chicken and loved it. The next night we ordered a steak and the fish and chips. Much better than the first night. Breakfast was good. Nothing special but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,478 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,956 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Location: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing