We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,413)
Filter reviews
4,413 results
Traveler rating
655
1,567
1,324
565
302
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
1,567
1,324
565
302
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view park entrance merced river pizza parlor small kitchenette spa bath double shower closest hotel stove top convenience store indoor pool gas fireplace view room mini kitchen kitchen area minute drive general store
Filter
Updating list...
2,299 - 2,304 of 4,413 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three or four times now and feel compelled to write a review. While the location is great, the service and attitude is consistently poor. The room prices are quite high, and to not have recycling removed from the previous person is inexcusable, or to check in late and have no towels and no way to get them. If you want a great location this place is fine, but honestly the service is so subpar I won't stay there again, especially for the money they charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uhanska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location, location – this is what you pay a premium price for (c. 2 miles from Park entrance, it is ideally located) – motel style layout, rooms are adequate and have bathroom with spa-bath and shower at each end) but are dated and a little ‘tired’ – it really does need some money spending on it. On site shop (we found it no more expensive than the one down the road) useful for provisions – rooms have fridge and microwave and some basic cutlery/crockery. No room safe but some safe deposit boxes at reception. Restaurant and pizza parlour on site are OK but are too small to cater for the number of visitors when the motel is busy, hence mixed reviews are understandable. Our best outcome was to get a pizza on a take away basis (it was excellent) and eat on the balcony, accompanied by a little chilled wine/beer!

Mariposa (c. 30 miles west on H140) worth a visit for restaurants if you don’t mind an hour long drive.

Room Tip: River view rooms worth a small premium - allow you to eat on the balcony with a pleasant view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

on arriving after a long drive was barely spoke too, very rude staff, the accommodation was unclean, food on floor from previous people and after killing flies in the bathroom with the flannel they remained there the whole stay, we tried to stay in the park to avoid going back.

Room Tip: there is not a good tip to give other than to try and stay in the park
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of an organised tour and thought the location was great. We had a ground floor room with patio overlooking the river. The food in the restaurant was just about OK for breakfast but the evening food was poor. The service was quite good but queues for the bar were long on occasion. I would suggest self catering as a good alternative but buy your supplies elsewhere as the hotel shop is very expenisive. The YART bus runs into the park and takes about 30 minutes.

The baths are hard to climb into and outof and being as we were encouraged to save water we used the shower option.

I notice someone else has commented on the pool/hot tubs being dirty but we did not find any evidence of this having used both during our stay in fact they were very good.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2012 as part of a road trip. This is the closest to Yosemite that you can stay without actually staying in the park itself, with the park entrance only a couple of miles up the road. I am suprised at some of the other reviews because our experience was quite different. We received a warm welcome and were given information and tips about the park as well as the Lodge. We were in the newest block and our room was large, clean and comfortable and had a kitchenette and jacuzzi bath. We also had a lovely view over the river and it is worth asking for a river view room. The main restaurant was good and every main included the soup and salad bar. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold food for a very reasonable price.Service at both was very good and if you sit outside you get entertained by the racoons whilst you're eating. There is also a pizza restaurant which seemed popular, a small bar and 4 swimming pools. The main building also had a shop selling a strange and eclectic range of products and groceries. Nearest petrol station is 5 minutes drive away. In summary I'd say this is not somewhere you would spend a fortnights holiday but as a place to stay after being in the park all day it's ideal.

Room Tip: Request a river view room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Actuallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews