We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,353)
Filter reviews
4,353 results
Traveler rating
649
1,546
1,303
559
296
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
1,546
1,303
559
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewpark entrancemerced riverpizza parlorsmall kitchenettespa bathdouble showerclosest hotelstove topconvenience storeindoor poolgas fireplaceview roommini kitchenkitchen areaminute drivegeneral store
Filter
Updating list...
2,262 - 2,267 of 4,353 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

As others have noted it is a great location, the facilities are decent but dated. If you are not picky it will do. Best to go there with the mindset of somewhere clean to sleep, eat and relax...draft beer choices limited but not all domestics either. I believe all the rooms have the same bathroom...a huge old style Jacuzzi tub by the time it fills with water you maybe asleep and there are 2 shower heads? One you have to lean over the ledge to get upper body and head wet. Oh if needed be sure to ask about handicap accessibility because these tubs are HIGH, not easily straddled if lower body weakness. Breakfast buffet was okay. Restaurant was SLOW to seat and serve and I can't remember what I ate....was not bad or I would have remembered. Bed was comfy but rustic. Best part of room was balcony and outdoor seating. Bottom floors have larger sitting areas with table and chairs, but high jail cell like fencing. Small creek flowing and bubbling outside area. Rustic and quaint.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire if you need handicap bathing facilities.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishinflwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Lodge is located about a half hour drive from the valley. The room was clean, but there were small holes in the sheets and an ancient carpet in the room. There was a nice patio with two chairs overlooking the mountain. You cannot connect to the Internet without paying a fee, but it's only accessible in the lobby. But in Yosemite, you are rarely in the room, and it was clean enough for us. The restaurants/bar do not open until 5:00. It is a plain, basic motel with a small general store. I would stay here again if I had the view of the river.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I think others have said it well already: the location is perfect, the rooms more than adequate but dated and tired-looking, the restaurant, bar and pizzeria good (significantly not operated by the Lodge company) but the service poor. We've moved on to Death Valley, another place that has a monopoly, but what a difference. All the reception staff we dealt with at Yosemite View Lodge were unwelcoming, unfriendly and seemingly disinterested. There is no excuse for that: it's bad management and at $220 a night that's not good enough. It all smacks of an ownership which thinks, "We've got it made. People don't have much of a choice so we'll just rake it in." We couldn't find a hot-tub that worked (probably a good thing because, had they been bubbling, we wouldn't have seen the muck at the bottom of each, as was the case with the pools). When we drew it to the attention of the desk staff they "made a note". Not good enough. I'm sorry, but you don't just pay for the location, you pay for what is advertised and they didn't deliver. I'm not sure just now how the Furnace Creek Ranch Resort compares for price but they certainly need the management from here at Yosemite.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KeithWW419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in Yosemite View for 3 nights in September, as part of a trip to the US. We chose a river view room. Our opinion of the place is definitely mixed.

On the plus side, the location is really good for Yosemite Valley. It’s a 20-30 minute drive to the village, and the journey is a real pleasure, through some great scenery. Also, the hotel room was a good size, and provided the basics we needed – a clean (and comfortable) bed, a clean bathroom, a hot shower, fresh towels when we needed them, and a coffee maker.

However, that was about all the hotel provided. Although the room furnishings looked to have been good quality when they were put in, they were definitely showing their age now, looking tired and worn. I also have to admit to a pang of nostalgia on seeing my room contained the first CRT (non-flat screen) TV that I have seen in years.

Also, although the bed and bathroom were kept clean, that was about the limit of it. Our room sported a fine collection of cobwebs on the light and in the alcoves, and the balcony (bare concrete, with an iron railing) had a large number of bird droppings around it, as did the communal stairs to the room from the parking lot. What’s more, the room carpet was filthy. As a test, my wife cleaned a pair of white soled shoes, and then wore them *inside* the room for an evening. By bedtime, the soles were black.

The restaurant was nothing thrilling either. The staff were genuinely friendly and welcoming, but the food was pretty uninspired and rather tasteless – although, to be fair, the portions were reasonable and it seemed to be well enough cooked. There is a pizza option as well, but since I didn’t fancy eating off paper plates, and drinking out of plastic cups, in a ‘Lodge’, we gave it a wide berth.

Add that to a souvenir shop which sold, together with some rather nice items, some of the worst pieces of tack which we saw on our trip, and you get the overall picture. To add insult to injury, this was one of the few places where we were expected to pay for Wi Fi – and it was only available in the lobby area. We wanted to use Skype to call someone, but gave up since privacy was basically impossible.

It looked as if the place is doing just enough to keep the tourists (and the money) flowing. We didn’t see much (if any) evidence of recent investment. Despite that, and the obvious failings which we saw, we would consider the place if we went back again – preferably with some carpet cleaner in our suitcase. It is definitely well located for exploring Yosemite’s most popular area, and it does provide the basics we wanted.

However, that’s all it provides. It is, frankly, a rather unappealing and unwelcoming place, but if you treat it as simply a base for exploring Yosemite, rather than a place to enjoy in its own right, then you should be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for six nights during the week of Sept. 24th, 2012. We were in the Dogwood building directly across from the lobby and found it to be clean but plain as many have said. Ours was a first floor river view room with a small patio (fenced to keep out the bears at night) overlooking the Merced river which made it ideal for a cup of coffee and a light breakfast in the mornings. One night we had a reasonably good pizza from the restaurant at the hotel along with a bottle of wine while listening to the river and watching the trout swim among the rocks.
The bed linens were in good shape and not all worn out as some have indicated. The beds were firm but comfortable ... flat pillows though.
Towels in the bath were changed daily and although a little rough and scratchy they were in like new condition.
The room had a small kitchen area with microwave, toaster, coffee maker, small refrig. and a 2 burner stove. The coffee. in convenient filter packs. was kept stocked up for us every day and we found that everything worked well.
The staff at the front desk was impersonal to say the least.... no time wasted in making people feel welcome and appreciated for their business. At least they were efficient at getting us checked in quickly after a long day of travel.
The biggest pluses of this hotel are the view of the river and the proximity to the park. It is a very short drive to the Arch Rock entrance to the park and then another 15 minutes to the visitor parking area in the valley along a beautiful scenic road with plenty of places to pull off to enjoy the scenery. The park itself is absolutuely breathtaking and a must see. At every turn there is a view better than the last. By all means make the trip to Glacier Point !
This hotel probably gets a slightly undeserved bad rap .... keep your expectations in check and you shouldn't be disappointed. Yes, it is expensive for what it is but as they say location is everything. I rated this porperty as "average" but with a splendid view. How about Average Plus?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Trvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews