We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aji is a refreshing experience”

Aji Japanese Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aji is a refreshing experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Aji Japanese bistro is a fresh approach to Japanese food/sushi. The owner cares about your experience there. The food is incredible, the menu ranges from pork street tacos to sashimi. The ambiance is an urban vibe with homemade touches. The bar serves up house infused cocktails that are unbelievable. Aji faces the lake in the El Dorado Hills town center, with a beautiful patio. Worth a trip, great experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rotzpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We're done.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Four of us went to celebrate a birthday. Had a great time at the bar but it all fell apart once we were seated. We were sitting there for 10 minutes before anyone even came over to the table and that's only because we stopped them to say we hadn't been waited on yet. Only 2 of us had drinks. The service after we told the waiter of our wait did not get better. We chose to come to this restaurant because of the service reviews!
The food was just ok. Nix on the fish tacos. Definitely didn't make a dent in the service. the gin and tonic we ordered was made as gin and ginger instead. Gak!
The birthday that we'd told the reservationist about when we called was left unnoticed. Our waiter said, 'oh, they just ask that. We don't DO anything about it'.
We saw the owner as we were leaving. He pretty much brushed us off....promising that it would be better next time. Well, no next time for this foursome!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mypuppyscruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Japanese and good sushi”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had lunch as a party of four at Aji. Service was good, most food was excellent, especially the sushi. I had the fish tacos which were a rather bland mis-mash of flavors. Would not recommend it. Based on the food everyone else had, we will try it again.

I am giving them the benefit of the doubt..they are almost very good. They have potential.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aji Japanese Bistro”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

sushi rolls were awesome! However, I can only rate 4 stars until I go back and try other items.

Don't confuse this place to 33rd st bistro, which is across the street & has gone down hill

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2sam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved our meal!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We dined at Aji recently on a Friday evening after hearing rave reviews from friends. We were not disappointed. All of our dishes were fresh, flavorful and original, from the sashimi to the seared albacore with garlic aioli to the kabuki buns with pork belly and a spicy slaw, and the delicious sea bass dinner that we shared. We liked the variety of small plates and salads and the fact that we could enjoy one dish at a time before moving on to the next without feeling rushed. A shout out to our server, Mason, who provided great service and suggestions from the menu.

We will definitely be back and are pleased to have a restaurant that offers this quality of food, service and ambiance near our home. Although there were only two in our party for dinner we think this is the kind of place that you could enjoy as a large group to order a variety of different plates to share. The wine list has a good variety of wines and a selection of wines by the glass. I was pleased that when my dining partner and I started with a glass of wine from the "by the glass" menu that our server actually brought the bottles to our table so you can see what you're actually getting, as opposed to so many places that pour your wine at bar and bring it out in the glass. Nice stemware, too.

We walked in early on a Friday evening (5:15 pm) and were seated immediately, but the place was packed by the time we finished our meal over two hours later so reservations are probably advisable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Japanese Bistro also viewed

El Dorado Hills, CA
 
El Dorado Hills, CA
 

Been to Aji Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing